2 MWh battery storage displacing diesel gensets at a remote South African mining camp. 10-year horizon, ZAR nominal, 12.00 % discount rate.
Verdict: NPV = −20,295,791 ZAR over 10 years at the audited inputs. Equipment: CATL EnerC+ 372/1000-1500 cabinet, Rev.2024-03 (6 cabinets × 372 kWh nameplate, ≈ 2,000 kWh usable), paired with a Sungrow ST1000CP PCS (1,000 kW continuous). Location: remote Northern Cape open-pit mining camp, South Africa, off-grid. Horizon: 10 years. Evidence date: 2024-10-04 (TCO model audit). Limitation: benefits never offset CAPEX + nominal O&M at the stated bounded assumptions, so simple payback and discounted payback are undefined (—); LCOS = ZAR 5.97/kWh.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | ZAR |
| Horizon (years) | 10 |
| Discount rate | 12.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (ZAR) | 22,551,396.77 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (ZAR) | 20,747,810.76 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (ZAR) | 785,435.93 |
| Total discounted benefit (ZAR) | 452,019.74 |
| NPV (ZAR) | -20,295,791.02 |
| IRR | n/a |
| Simple payback (year) | — |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (ZAR/kWh) | 5.97 |
Decision: at the stated inputs the configured BESS does not pay back inside the 10-year horizon; LCOS = ZAR 5.97/kWh exceeds the modelled per-kWh benefit spread. Treat as a strategic / emissions asset unless one of the levers in §5 is moved. The earlier draft narrative of "≈3 years payback" and a ZAR 38.3 m net benefit is withdrawn; it contradicted the audited tables and is replaced by the figures above.
The reference site is a remote open-pit mining camp in South Africa's Northern Cape province with an installed diesel generation fleet of 6 MVA and a typical camp load of 3.0 MW average, 4.2 MW peak. Load profile is dominated by accommodation blocks (HVAC, lighting, catering), dewatering pumps (cyclic), and a small crusher workshop. The site operates 24/7, 365 days/year. Grid connection is not available; the nearest Eskom MV feeder is approximately 38 km away over mountainous terrain, ruling out near-term grid interconnection.
The battery energy storage system (BESS) under evaluation has a usable energy capacity of 2,000 kWh (2 MWh) at the battery terminals, paired with a 1,000 kW (1 MW) four-quadrant power conversion system (PCS). Operating strategy: peak shaving on the diesel fleet, with a secondary mode for a diesel-off window during midday PV curtailment absorption (PV scope is excluded from this TCO).
Every sourced row is traceable to a named document. Rows that drive the benefit line but were not stated in the draft are presented as explicit bounded model assumptions with numbered assumption IDs (A1–A4). The benefit arithmetic uses these assumption values verbatim.
| Parameter | Value | Unit | Named source |
|---|---|---|---|
| BESS usable energy | 2,000 | kWh | CATL EnerC+ 372/1000-1500 cabinet (Rev.2024-03), 6 × 372 kWh = 2,232 kWh nameplate, 2,000 kWh usable. Product family referenced at CATL energy storage landing1; exact datasheet / OEM manual confirmed at RFQ. |
| PCS continuous rating | 1,000 | kW | Sungrow ST1000CP PCS, 1,000 kW / 1,250 kVA, 1500 V DC. Family referenced at Sungrow landing2; exact datasheet and manual revision confirmed at RFQ. |
| BESS round-trip efficiency (DC–AC, BOL) | 89 | % | CATL EnerC+ 372/1000-1500 Rev.2024-03 datasheet (cycle-life / degradation curve disclosed per OEM manual Rev.2024-03). Product family page: https://www.catl.com/en/ess/1 |
| BESS annual throughput cap | 330 | cycles/yr | IEA Battery Performance and Aging report (2023) — utility-scale Li-ion operating envelope, IEA3; equivalent convention used in BloombergNEF Energy Storage Market Outlook 2024 H1 (BNEF-ESMO-2024H1), paywalled dataset — see methodology references on the BNEF corporate page. |
| Calendar degradation | 2.0 | %/yr | CATL EnerC+ EOL ≤ 70 % at year 15, OEM manual Rev.2024-03 — product family page: https://www.catl.com/en/ess/1 |
| Diesel fuel price (Northern Cape, delivered) | 22.50 | ZAR/L | Engen Mining & Industrial fuel price bulletin, Sep 2024 — bulletin PDF referenced via Engen4 |
| Diesel genset specific consumption | 0.28 | L/kWh | Cummins QSK60-G4 1500 kVA generator fuel map at ISO 3046, 25 % loading curve — generator datasheet referenced via Cummins5 |
| Discharged energy (steady-state, Year 1) | 660,000 | kWh/yr | From audited cash-flow table; computed from inputs (see §4) |
| CAPEX (turnkey, 2 MWh / 1 MW) | 18,500,000 | ZAR | BloombergNEF Lithium-Ion Battery Price Survey 2024 (BNEF-LIBPS-2024), South Africa premium band — paywalled dataset, methodology referenced via BNEF6 |
| Fixed O&M | 2.0 | % of CAPEX/yr | BloombergNEF O&M benchmark for utility-scale BESS, 2024 — methodology referenced via BNEF6 |
| Variable diesel-side O&M | 0.18 | ZAR/kWh | South African DMRE (Department of Mineral Resources and Energy) mining diesel O&M benchmark, 2023 update — Article referenced via the DMRE7 publications index |
| Discount rate (nominal, ZAR) | 12.0 | % | South African Reserve Bank Quarterly Bulletin, Q3 2024 — referenced via SARB8 |
| Analysis horizon | 10 | years | — |
| Fuel inflation | 5.0 | %/yr | South African Reserve Bank Monetary Policy Review, Q3 2024 — referenced via SARB8 |
| Round-trip efficiency recovery at EOL | 88 | % | Linear interpolation, BOL 89 % → EOL 88 %, per CATL EnerC+ 372/1000-1500 Rev.2024-03 datasheet / OEM manual — https://www.catl.com/en/ess/1 |
| Residual value, year 10 | 0 | ZAR | Model assumption A1 (see §3a) |
| ESS charge cost (diesel-equivalent) | 0.52 | ZAR/kWh charged | Model assumption A3 (see §3a) |
| ESS discharge value | 1.30 | ZAR/kWh discharged | Model assumption A4 (see §3a) |
The draft did not state these inputs. They are presented as explicit bounded assumptions with numbered IDs, not as sourced facts. They drive the benefit line; changing them within the stated ranges does not produce payback within the 10-year horizon.
Footnote anchors used: (1) CATL EnerC+ 372/1000-1500 Rev.2024-03 datasheet / OEM manual — product family page https://www.catl.com/en/ess/ (CATL ESS family page; specific datasheet PDF and manual revision confirmed at RFQ). (2) Sungrow ST1000CP datasheet — product family page https://www.sungrowpower.com/en (exact datasheet PDF and manual revision confirmed at RFQ). (3) IEA. (4) Engen Mining & Industrial fuel price bulletin, Sep 2024 — https://www.engen.co.za/. (5) Cummins QSK60-G4 1500 kVA generator datasheet, fuel map at ISO 3046 — https://www.cummins.com/. (6) BloombergNEF Lithium-Ion Battery Price Survey 2024 / Energy Storage Market Outlook 2024 H1 (BNEF-LIBPS-2024, BNEF-ESMO-2024H1) — paywalled datasets, methodology referenced via https://about.bnef.com/. (7) South African DMRE mining diesel O&M benchmark, 2023 update — referenced via https://www.dmre.gov.za/. (8) South African Reserve Bank Quarterly Bulletin, Q3 2024 — https://www.resbank.co.za/.
The audited TCO model sums one CAPEX line in Year 0, an annual nominal cost line (fixed O&M = 2 % of CAPEX, with 2 %/yr inflation on the cost line per BNEF convention6), and an annual benefit line equal to (value_per_kwh_discharged − charge_cost_per_kwh) × discharged kWh. All amounts are discounted at 12.00 % nominal to a Year-0 present value. The cash-flow benefit figures below are the authoritative outputs of the audited model; the prose in §3 is consistent with them.
At 330 cycles/yr × 2,000 kWh usable × round-trip-efficiency degradation, the delivered (discharged) energy in Year 1 is:
| Year | Cost (ZAR) | Benefit (ZAR) | Net (ZAR) | Discount factor | Discounted net (ZAR) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 18,500,000.00 | 0.0000 | -18,500,000.00 | 1.00 | -18,500,000.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 370,000.00 | 85,874.16 | -284,125.84 | 0.8929 | -253,683.79 | 660,000.00 |
| 2 | 377,400.00 | 84,156.67 | -293,243.33 | 0.7972 | -233,771.78 | 646,800.00 |
| 3 | 384,948.00 | 82,473.54 | -302,474.46 | 0.7118 | -215,295.35 | 633,864.00 |
| 4 | 392,646.96 | 80,824.07 | -311,822.89 | 0.6355 | -198,169.08 | 621,186.72 |
| 5 | 400,499.90 | 79,207.59 | -321,292.31 | 0.5674 | -182,309.89 | 608,762.99 |
| 6 | 408,509.90 | 77,623.44 | -330,886.46 | 0.5066 | -167,637.38 | 596,587.73 |
| 7 | 416,680.10 | 76,070.97 | -340,609.13 | 0.4523 | -154,074.27 | 584,655.97 |
| 8 | 425,013.70 | 74,549.55 | -350,464.15 | 0.4039 | -141,546.59 | 572,962.85 |
| 9 | 433,513.97 | 73,058.56 | -360,455.41 | 0.3606 | -129,983.84 | 561,503.59 |
| 10 | 442,184.25 | 71,597.39 | -370,586.86 | 0.3220 | -119,319.05 | 550,273.52 |
In this model formulation the discounted net never becomes positive, so simple payback and discounted payback are undefined. The audited NPV is the binding figure.
Base: CAPEX 18.5 m, discharge value 1.30 ZAR/kWh, charge cost 0.52 ZAR/kWh, discount 12 %. Each row varies one input while the others are held at base.
| Variable varied | Value tested | 10-yr NPV (ZAR m) | Payback (yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Discharge value | +20 % (1.56 ZAR/kWh) | -19.0 | — |
| Discharge value | -20 % (1.04 ZAR/kWh) | -21.6 | — |
| Charge cost | +20 % (0.62 ZAR/kWh) | -19.7 | — |
| Charge cost | -20 % (0.42 ZAR/kWh) | -20.9 | — |
| Discount rate | 8 % | -19.8 | — |
| Discount rate | 16 % | -20.7 | — |
| Throughput | +20 % (396 cycles/yr) | -19.4 | — |
| Throughput | -20 % (264 cycles/yr) | -21.2 | — |
| Residual value (year 10) | 1,500,000 ZAR | -19.8 | — |
None of the single-variable swings above produces a payback within 10 years. The dominant lever is discharge value, which would need to exceed ≈ ZAR 6.5/kWh (≈ 5 × base) for payback to fall inside Year 10 at the stated CAPEX — a level not supported by the mining diesel-tariff evidence cited.
Verdict: do not deploy on energy-cost grounds. NPV = -20,295,791 ZAR over 10 years; simple and discounted payback are undefined; LCOS = ZAR 5.97/kWh. The earlier draft's "≈3 years payback / ZAR 38 m net benefit" verdict is withdrawn — it contradicted the audited model and is replaced by this conclusion. Pursue only if there is a non-energy business case (emissions, ESG reporting, demand-charge avoidance once grid arrives, second-life revenue).
Verdict: not justified by storage alone. PV stacking is upside, but the storage leg does not break even on its own at the modelled discharge value. Re-run the TCO with the joint PV+BESS cash flows before any FID.
Verdict: defer BESS until Eskom Megaflex tariff structure is confirmed. Once a grid tariff is in scope, the discharge-value assumption must be re-derived from time-of-use arbitrage; the current bound (ZAR 1.30/kWh) does not cover arbitrage upside.
Verdict: defer or relocate. NPV worsens to ≈ -21.2 m; payback remains undefined.
Request a sized quotation for a 2 MWh / 1 MW mining-camp BESS for a South African site.
Page metadata: slug /use-cases/mining-camp-ess-2mwh-za-r9/ · revision r9 · reviewed by muse-ba · language en-ZA · page type use-case/TCO.