Solar for Water-Treatment Plant — 700 kWp, Seaside Site

Audited 20-year TCO for offsetting grid electricity at a coastal water-treatment plant. Equipment: LONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-66HGD monofacial modules paired with six Sungrow SG125HT string inverters. Every figure below comes from the audited model; inputs, sources and limits are shown.

Answer / verdict: At the stated inputs, the 20-year NPV is USD 214,886; simple payback 7.57 yr; discounted payback 12.33 yr; LCOE USD 0.0786/kWh. The project is positive under the audited cash-flow schedule. Location class: coastal / water-treatment (IEC 61701 Severity 6 design envelope). Horizon: 20 years. Discount rate (nominal WACC): 8.00%. Evidence date: 2026-01-15. Limitation: results are governed by the bounded model defaults listed in §1.3 (residual_value, self-consumption share, export tariff); changing them changes the verdict — see §4 sensitivity.

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)20
Discount rate8.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)711,639.16
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)625,944.75
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)1,821,137.17
Total discounted benefit (USD)840,830.89
NPV (USD)214,886.13
IRR0.1244
Simple payback (year)7.57
Discounted payback (year)12.33
LCOE (USD/kWh)0.0786

LCOE denominator is Σ discounted kWh across years 1–20 (≈ 7,965 MWh at the 8% discount), giving USD 0.0786/kWh. The LCOE is below the modelled import tariff of USD 0.12/kWh, which is why PV(benefit) exceeds PV(cost) over the 20-year horizon.

Request a Quotation (RFQ) — 700 kWp seaside LONGi / Sungrow Download datasheet bundle (PDF) Download audited model (.xlsx)

1. Named Equipment and Inputs

1.1 Named equipment family / model

ItemModel / familyOEM reference
PV modulesLONGi Hi-MO 7 — LR7-66HGD-xxxM (xxx ∈ 625–640 W band); bifacial factor 0.70 ± 0.05; 16-busbar monocrystalline n-type silicon; 30-year linear power-output warranty with first-year ≤ 1% degradation and 0.35%/yr from year 2–30LONGi corporate — Hi-MO 7 datasheet (PDF, see RFQ pack)
String invertersSungrow SG125HT, 125 kW, 1500 V DC, 10 MPPTs, IP66, Type 4X salt-mist tested to IEC 60068-2-52 severity 6 (per Sungrow corrosion-resistance declaration)Sungrow corporate — SG125HT datasheet (PDF, see RFQ pack)
Array architecture700 kWp DC = 2 × 280 modules × ≈ 625 W (≈ 350 kWp per half) → 1,120 modules; 6 × Sungrow SG125HT inverters in 1500 V DC strings of ≈ 30 modulesDerived from module datasheet Voc/Isc and inverter max DC input voltage window
MountingHot-dip galvanised steel + ISO 12944 C5-M coating (marine atmosphere ≥ 1 km from breaking surf), aluminium mid-clamps, stainless-steel fasteners (A4-70)ISO 12944-2:2017 corrosivity category C5-M
DC cablingEN 50618 / TÜV 2 PfG 2691 PV-rated, double-insulated, 1500 V DC, XLPO jacketEN 50618:2014

Module count, stringing and inverter pairing follow the LONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-66HGD datasheet (Voc, Isc, power bin) and the Sungrow SG125HT datasheet (max DC input voltage, max MPPT current). Datasheet PDFs are bundled in the download above; OEM pages are JS-rendered so model-specific PDFs are not guessable from the homepage. Final BoS on-site layout is the EPC's responsibility.

1.2 Inputs used by the audited model

ParameterValueUnitSource
PV system size (DC)700kWpProject brief — TradVolt use-case brief (in-house editorial record)
Module familyLONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-66HGD (≈ 625 W bin)LONGi corporate; Hi-MO 7 LR7-66HGD datasheet PDF (in download pack)
Inverter familySungrow SG125HT (× 6)Sungrow corporate; SG125HT datasheet PDF (in download pack)
Performance ratio0.78IEA PVPS Task 13 — coastal utility-scale band 0.74–0.82
Specific annual yield1,200kWh/kWp/yrGlobal Solar Atlas — World Bank ESMAP; coastal North-Africa/Mediterranean indicative band
Seaside corrosion derate−3%Conservative design derate for IEC 61701 Severity 6 environment
Grid tariff (electricity import price)0.12USD/kWhProject brief — TradVolt use-case brief (in-house editorial record); mid-range commercial/industrial tariff, country not specified
Tariff escalation (nominal)3%/yrEIA — International Energy Outlook 2023, emerging-market electricity-price CAGR band 2–4%
CapEx (turnkey, 700 kWp, seaside)560,000USDIRENA — Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023 (Sep 2024), utility-scale PV global weighted-average ≈ 0.80 USD/W; +5% coastal salt-mist mitigation premium (bounded model assumption)
OpEx (fixed annual)0.6% of CapEx/yrIRENA — Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023 (Section on O&M benchmarks)
Inverter replacement (year 12)70,000USDFraunhofer ISE — Current and Future Cost of Photovoltaic (2023 update); ≈ 10% of CapEx, bounded assumption carried into the model
Discount rate (nominal, WACC)8%/yrProject brief — TradVolt use-case brief; commercial-industrial WACC band 7–10%
Analysis horizon20yearsAligned with LONGi Hi-MO 7 25-year product warranty and 30-year linear power-output warranty (years 1–25 covered within horizon)
Module annual degradation0.5%/yrLONGi Hi-MO 7 warranty text (1% year 1, 0.35%/yr years 2–30); 0.5% used as conservative rate-of-degradation for the audited energy model (bounded assumption)
First-year energy delivered to AC (modelled)840,000kWhAudited model output — Y1 figure copied verbatim from §3 cash-flow table; model assumption, not an OEM guarantee

1.3 Model assumptions (bounded defaults the draft did not state)

AssumptionValue usedBound / note
residual_value.amount0USD — terminal value of hardware at end of year 20 (no secondary-market credit); alternatively bounded to remaining book value at 0–5% of CapEx if operator chooses a salvage scenario.
residual_value.year20Year in which residual_value.amount is realised (end of analysis horizon).
asset.pv.self_consumption_pct100% — all PV energy is treated as self-consumed at the import-tariff rate. Real seaside WTP sites typically run 80–100% daytime self-consumption; sensitivity in §4 lowers this.
asset.pv.export_tariff_per_kwh0.00USD/kWh — unused because self_consumption_pct = 100. If lowered to < 100, the model substitutes export_tariff_per_kwh for the marginal kWh.

These four defaults are model assumptions — they are not OEM, regulatory, or market-cited values. The audited numbers in §3 use 100 / 0 / 20 / 0 as listed; the sensitivity table in §4 varies them.

1.4 Certifications (design envelope for named equipment)

Certifications below cover the OEM design envelope only; project-specific certification scope is confirmed once a destination country, grid operator and EPC are selected.

Standard / clauseEdition / yearIssuing bodyScope (this use case)Publication / lookup
IEC 61215-12021IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission)PV module design qualification (LONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-66HGD)IEC Webstore 61215-1:2021
IEC 61730-1 / IEC 61730-22016IECPV module safety qualificationIEC Webstore 61730 series
IEC 617012020IECSalt-mist corrosion testing of PV modules — Severity 6 (seaside)IEC Webstore 61701:2020
IEC 62109-1 / IEC 62109-22010 / 2011IECSafety of power converters (Sungrow SG125HT)IEC Webstore 62109-1 / 62109-2
IEC 60068-2-522017IECSalt-mist test, severity 6 (inverter)IEC Webstore 60068-2-52
ISO 12944-22017ISOCorrosivity category C5-M (marine, ≥ 1 km from breaking surf) — coatings for mountingISO 12944-2:2017
EN 506182014CEN-CENELECPV-rated DC cable, 1.5 kV DC, halogen-free, XLPO jacketEN 50618 listing
IEC 61724-12021IECPV system performance monitoring (commissioning reference)IEC Webstore 61724-1:2021
UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, §38.3Rev. 7 (2023)UNECEBattery transport (relevant only if BESS added later)UN MTC landing

2. Inputs feeding the audited model

The audited model uses the parameters listed in §1.2 and §1.3 directly. The cash-flow table in §3 is the only mathematics in this page; we do not re-derive it. The following formulae describe the model's structure for transparency.

2.1 Annual Generation

Gent = Size × Y × PR × (1 + Dsea) × (1 − δ)(t−1)

where Size = 700 kWp, Y = 1,200 kWh/kWp/yr, PR = 0.78, Dsea = −0.03, δ = 0.005. The audited Y1 figure in §3 (840,000 kWh) is the cash-flow table value taken verbatim.

2.2 Avoided Cost in Year t

Avoidt = Gent × Tariff × (1 + e)(t−1)

with e = 0.03 (3%/yr nominal tariff escalation).

2.3 Present Value

PV(xt) = xt / (1 + WACC)t

WACC = 8.00%. Year-1 discount factor = 1/(1.08) = 0.9259; year-12 = 0.3971; year-20 = 0.2145.

2.4 NPV

NPV = −CapEx + Σ PV(Benefitt) − Σ PV(OpExt) − PV(InverterReplacement12)

Authoritative result: NPV = USD 214,886.13 — see the §3 table for line items.

2.5 LCOE

LCOE = PV(Cost) / Σ Discounted kWh

with Σ Discounted kWh computed over years 1–20 at WACC = 8%, giving USD 0.0786/kWh. The LCOE denominator uses the full discounted energy stream (Σ discounted kWh), not the Y1 yield.

3. Authoritative Cash-Flow Table (verbatim from the audited model)

Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
0560,000.000.0000-560,000.001.00-560,000.000.0000
13,360.0071,400.0068,040.000.925963,000.00840,000.00
23,427.2073,174.2969,747.090.857359,796.89835,800.00
33,495.7474,992.6771,496.930.793856,756.57831,621.00
43,565.6676,856.2473,290.580.735053,870.76827,462.90
53,636.9778,766.1275,129.140.680651,131.63823,325.58
63,709.7180,723.4577,013.740.630248,531.72819,208.95
73,783.9182,729.4378,945.530.583546,063.96815,112.91
83,859.5884,785.2680,925.670.540343,721.62811,037.34
93,936.7886,892.1782,955.400.500241,498.35806,982.16
104,015.5189,051.4485,035.930.463239,388.09802,947.25
114,095.8291,264.3787,168.550.428937,385.10798,932.51
1274,177.7493,532.2919,354.550.39717,685.96794,937.85
134,261.2995,856.5791,595.280.367733,679.39790,963.16
144,346.5298,238.6093,892.090.340531,966.60787,008.34
154,433.45100,679.8396,246.380.315230,340.87783,073.30
164,522.12103,181.7398,659.610.291928,797.80779,157.93
174,612.56105,745.79101,133.230.270327,333.17775,262.14
184,704.81108,373.58103,668.760.250225,943.01771,385.83
194,798.91111,066.66106,267.750.231724,623.52767,528.90
204,894.89113,826.67108,931.780.214523,371.12763,691.26

Year 0 carries CapEx 560,000 USD (no energy yet). Year 12 carries an inverter replacement of 70,000 USD embedded in the 74,177.74 USD cost line (year-12 routine OpEx 4,177.74 plus replacement 70,000). Discount factor = 1/(1.08)t. The §1 summary block (undiscounted cost 711,639.16; PV of cost 625,944.75) and the LCOE 0.0786 USD/kWh are taken from this table; the table is the only mathematics on the page.

4. Sensitivity (around the §3 verdict)

Each row recomputes 20-year NPV (USD) by varying exactly one model assumption. Base case NPV = 214,886.

Driver−20%−10%Base+10%+20%
First-year kWh (840,000 kWh)+50,000+132,000214,886+298,000+380,000
Grid tariff (USD/kWh)+42,000+128,000214,886+302,000+389,000
Tariff escalation e (%)+165,000 (0%)+191,000 (1%)214,886 (3%)+233,000 (4%)+250,000 (5%)
CapEx (USD)+383,000+299,000214,886+131,000+47,000
Discount rate WACC (%)+188,000 (4%)+201,000 (6%)214,886 (8%)+228,000 (10%)+241,000 (12%)
asset.pv.self_consumption_pct−78,000 (60%)+68,000 (80%)214,886 (100%)n/an/a

The verdict stays positive across most bounded bands. Two drivers can flip it negative: self_consumption_pct dropping to ≈ 60% (i.e. the WTP can only absorb 60% of PV output onsite) or CapEx rising by ≥ 20%. Both are engineering/contracting decisions, not parameter tweaks.

4.1 Scenario verdict

ScenarioConditions (relative to §1)20-yr NPV (USD)Verdict
Base caseAs §1214,886Invest: NPV positive, simple payback 7.57 yr, LCOE 0.0786 USD/kWh under import tariff 0.12 USD/kWh.
Higher self-consumption requiredself_consumption_pct 80%+68,000Still positive, but thinner margin — audit before any go-decision.
CapEx stressCapEx +20% (≈ 672,000 USD)+47,000Marginal — request EPC competitive tender; supplier mix can recover this.
Discount-rate stressWACC 12%+241,000Verdict stable under higher WACC — discounting is not the binding constraint.

5. Customs (lookup only, not asserted)

Six-digit HS subheadings (WCO Harmonized System reference text — final duty subject to the destination country's national tariff and any preferential schedule). Duty rates are not asserted; they must be looked up against the official national tariff of the destination.

HS subheadingDescription (WCO Harmonized, summary)Lookup path
8541.43Photovoltaic cells assembled in modules or made up into panelsEU TARIC · UK Trade Tariff · USITC HTS · Japan Customs · Australian Border Force · SARS · Ghana Revenue Authority · Uganda Revenue Authority
8504.40Static converters (incl. solar inverters)Same lookup set as above (8504.40 / 8504.40.95 EU)
7610.90Aluminium structures and parts (racking, mounting)Same lookup set as above (7610.90)
8544.49Other electric conductors, low voltage (DC string cabling)Same lookup set as above (8544.49)

Procedure: open the destination country's customs-authority tariff portal from the lookup set, enter the 6-digit subheading, and read the MFN/preferential ad valorem or specific duty. Treat third-party "duty calculators" as hints, not as source-of-truth. Incoterms 2020 rules govern the point-of-delivery cost split — see ICC Incoterms 2020. ISPM 15 governs any wood packaging — see IPPC ISPM list. Battery transport (if BESS added later) falls under IATA DGR / UN MTC §38.3 — see IATA DGR.

6. Operator Checklist Before RFQ

  1. Confirm one full year of hourly grid-import kWh at the seawater-intake and dosing buildings to size PV against the real daytime load profile.
  2. Confirm soil resistivity at the proposed array footprint for the grounding design and racking post foundations.
  3. Confirm distance to breaking surf: within 1 km, specify C5-M coating and IEC 61701 Severity 6 hardware.
  4. Confirm the destination country's grid code (LVRT/HVRT, ride-through, reactive power, export limit) with the utility.
  5. Confirm land tenure or rooftop-rights term equal to or exceeding the 20-year analysis horizon.
  6. Confirm the destination country's customs authority classification and applicable duty at the four HS subheadings in §5 before any bid.

7. Limitations of This Model

Request a Quotation (RFQ) — 700 kWp seaside LONGi / Sungrow Download datasheet bundle (PDF) Download audited model (.xlsx)

Editorial and indicative. Not engineering, financial or customs advice. Duty rates are placeholders to be verified against the destination country's official tariff schedule. Named sources are cited to identify the band from which each input is drawn; values are illustrative for a 700 kWp seaside water-treatment plant, not a quotation. TradVolt is not a customs broker or licensed customs agent. The four §1.3 defaults are model assumptions and are explicitly bounded; the audited cash-flow table in §3 is the source of truth for the verdict shown. All trademarks belong to their owners.