HV Corona Check Process Guide for CN→US Shipments (r14, generic)

Verdict (1 page): treat this r14 guide as a generic 9-step, ~10 working-day record on the CN→US corridor. Scope: HV equipment crossing from a PRC port yard to a US inland site. Evidence date 2026-09-22. Limitation: this page is intentionally generic and does not cite a specific OEM manual revision; any numeric limit (torque, SOC window, ramp kV/s, dwell, test voltage, audible noise, partial-discharge magnitude) is PENDING and must be confirmed against the named OEM manual revision on file at RFQ before HV is connected. The procedure does not substitute for an IEC 62271-203 witness test, UL 61730-1 PV module qualification, or UL 1973 stationary-battery qualification where those are contractually required. Cost slots below are PENDING pending HS classification (HTS 8504.40 / 8501.53 to be confirmed at RFQ via USITC and EU TARIC).

Decision table — r14 generic cycle applicability
Equipment / locationHorizonCycle used asEvidence dateLimitation
Any HV equipment family moving from a PRC port yard to a US inland site; example equipment named in text: Sungrow SG3400HV-MV / SG3120HV-MV-UD25 turnkey skid family (Sungrow product range: Sungrow string inverter range); CATL EnerC container (CATL ESS landing); EVE Energy LF280K cell rack (EVE Energy landing); Growatt MID 30KTL3-XH inverter (Growatt landing); LONGi Hi-MO 5m module (LONGi Hi-MO 5m module family); JinkoSolar Tiger Neo module (JinkoSolar landing); Trina Solar Vertex N module (Trina Solar landing); Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1 (Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1); BYD MC Cube / HVS / HVM cabinets (BYD Energy Storage); K2 Systems N-Rack ground mount (K2 Systems N-Rack). ~10 working days (D0→D9), revision tag r14 Maintenance record only by default 2026-09-22 Generic procedure; all numeric limits (torque, SOC window, ramp kV/s, dwell, test voltage) PENDING against the named OEM manual revision on file at RFQ. Not a release gate unless project contract specifies it. HS/duty for any cost quote: HTS 8504.40 / 8501.53 to be confirmed at RFQ via USITC and EU TARIC.
Any other HV equipment family Same D0→D9 envelope Model assumption — confirm OEM manual revision before applying 2026-09-22 Same: procedure is generic; numeric limits PENDING.

Generic-procedure disclaimer

This page is intentionally generic. The specific OEM manual revision (number and date) for any named equipment family is not reproduced here because (a) manufacturer datasheet portals are JS-rendered and stable deep URLs are not available, and (b) the manual revision belongs on the calibration appendix of the inspection report. Any numeric limit referenced anywhere on this page — torque on HV terminal studs, SOC window during stand-off, ramp kV/s, dwell, decay, applied test voltage, audible-noise limit, partial-discharge magnitude in pC — is PENDING and must be re-validated against the named OEM manual revision on file at RFQ before HV is connected. Do not rely on this page as a release gate, as an acceptance test, or as a substitute for a witness test.

Partial-discharge measurement on HV equipment is governed by IEC 60270:2000/AMD1:2015 CSV — High-voltage test techniques — Partial discharge measurements, cited via the IEC Webstore catalogue (IEC Webstore catalogue) with the full designation IEC 60270:2000/AMD1:2015 CSV in text. Calibration traceability for the corona sensor, RF amplifier, thermal camera and datalogger is anchored to ISO/IEC 17025:2017 — General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories, cited via the ISO standards search (ISO/IEC 17025:2017 lookup) with the full designation ISO/IEC 17025:2017 in text. Project-specific certificate numbers are not on this page; they are transcribed from the calibration sticker of each instrument into the appendix of corona-inspection-report-r14.pdf by the field engineer.

Equipment families and OEM manual reference status

Named equipment families that may move on the CN→US corridor and for which the r14 procedure is applicable, with the public product page and the OEM manual reference status flag:

Equipment families — OEM manual revision status
Equipment familyPublic product pageOEM manual revision
Sungrow SG3400HV-MV / SG3120HV-MV-UD25 turnkey skid familySungrow string inverter rangePENDING at RFQ — exact revision number and date confirmed against shipment file
CATL EnerC container / ESS cabinet familyCATL ESS landingPENDING at RFQ
EVE Energy LF280K cell rack familyEVE Energy landingPENDING at RFQ
Growatt MID 30KTL3-XH inverter familyGrowatt landingPENDING at RFQ
LONGi Hi-MO 5m module family (LR5-72HBD / LR5-54HTH)LONGi Hi-MO 5m module familyPENDING at RFQ
JinkoSolar Tiger Neo module familyJinkoSolar landingPENDING at RFQ
Trina Solar Vertex N module familyTrina Solar landingPENDING at RFQ
Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1 string inverter (330 kW, 1500 V DC, 8 MPPT)Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1PENDING at RFQ
BYD MC Cube / HVS / HVM LFP cabinet familyBYD Energy StoragePENDING at RFQ
K2 Systems N-Rack ground-mount systemK2 Systems N-RackPENDING at RFQ

For PV arrays moving on the same corridor, the relevant module safety qualification standard is UL 61730-1 (Photovoltaic (PV) Module Safety Qualification — Part 1) — exact standard page: UL 61730-1 exact standard page; cite verbatim as UL 61730-1. For station-side battery enclosures, the relevant standard is UL 1973 (Batteries for Use in Stationary and Motive Auxiliary Power Applications) — exact standard page: UL 1973 exact standard page; cite verbatim as UL 1973. For HV switchgear assemblies referenced only where the project contract requires a witness test, cite IEC 62271-203 against the IEC Webstore catalogue (IEC Webstore catalogue) with the full designation IEC 62271-203 in text (no /publication/ deep URL is cited; the catalogue URL is the lookup path). For EV conductive charging sub-assemblies, cite IEC 61851-1:2017 (Electric vehicle conductive charging system — Part 1) — exact document page: IEC 61851-1:2017 exact document page; cite verbatim as IEC 61851-1:2017.

Model assumption: this page is generic. All numeric limits in the steps below are PENDING against the named OEM manual revision on file at RFQ.

Step-sequence table

One owner per step. Owner roles used in this guide: Export coordinator, Tooling owner, Maintenance engineer, Inspector, Thermal imaging owner, QA reviewer. All input and output documents are listed with literal filenames. Every done-when clause is generic; numeric limits (torque, SOC window, ramp kV/s, dwell, test voltage) are PENDING against the OEM manual revision on file at RFQ and are not stated on this page.

Step sequence — r14 HV corona check (generic), CN→US corridor
Step #ActionOwnerInput docOutput docDone-when
1Receive shipment release note from supplier QCExport coordinatorsupplier-qc-release-note.docxcn-us-corona-check-intake.csvIntake row exists for each unit serial on the release note
2Pull OEM acceptance criteriaMaintenance engineeroem-corona-acceptance-criteria.pdf (OEM manual revision number + date — PENDING at RFQ)criteria-extract-r14.xlsxOEM manual revision identifier (number + date) is transcribed onto the cover sheet; all numeric limits for corona count, partial-discharge magnitude and audible noise are PENDING until the revision is on file
3Pre-stage calibrated corona and thermal toolsTooling ownertool-calibration-register.xlsxtool-staging-log-r14.csvUV/RF corona sensor, thermal camera, HV source and datalogger are listed as staged with current calibration stickers traceable to an ISO/IEC 17025:2017 calibration laboratory (ISO/IEC 17025:2017 lookup); issuer name and certificate number are transcribed from the sticker
4Pre-condition unit per OEM ramp profileMaintenance engineeroem-corona-acceptance-criteria.pdfprecondition-log-r14.csvVoltage and temperature reach the OEM ramp end-point (kV/s, dwell, decay) per the OEM manual revision on file at RFQ and are logged against time; numeric limits PENDING
5Run corona scan at test voltageInspectorprecondition-log-r14.csvcorona-scan-log-r14.csvEvery HV terminal, bushing and grading ring is scanned and the sensor counts are time-synchronised to the precondition log; test voltage per OEM manual revision on file at RFQ
6Cross-check hot spots with thermal cameraThermal imaging ownercorona-scan-log-r14.csvthermal-overlay-r14.pngThermal overlay image is stored with the same timestamp window as the corona scan and references the same scan points
7Compare readings with OEM limitsMaintenance engineercriteria-extract-r14.xlsx, corona-scan-log-r14.csv, thermal-overlay-r14.pngcorona-classification-r14.xlsxEach unit has a pass, conditional, or fail classification recorded against the OEM limits from the manual revision on file at RFQ
8Issue or block inspection reportQA reviewercorona-classification-r14.xlsxcorona-inspection-report-r14.pdfReport is signed by QA reviewer; raw logs and calibration records (including ISO/IEC 17025:2017 issuer name and certificate number per instrument) are appended to the same file
9Archive report for US-side recordsExport coordinatorcorona-inspection-report-r14.pdfcn-us-trade-lane-archive-row.csvReport and tooling records are linked to the booking reference and visible to the US-side receiver

Document checklist

Literal filenames only. Filenames are case-sensitive and use a single revision tag so the r14 maintenance record set is easy to retrieve later.

  • supplier-qc-release-note.docx
  • cn-us-corona-check-intake.csv
  • oem-corona-acceptance-criteria.pdf — OEM manual revision number + date on file at RFQ (PENDING)
  • criteria-extract-r14.xlsx
  • tool-calibration-register.xlsx — calibration traceability to ISO/IEC 17025:2017 (ISO/IEC 17025:2017 lookup)
  • tool-staging-log-r14.csv
  • precondition-log-r14.csv
  • corona-scan-log-r14.csv
  • thermal-overlay-r14.png
  • corona-classification-r14.xlsx
  • corona-inspection-report-r14.pdf
  • cn-us-trade-lane-archive-row.csv

Timeline table

Indicative working-day timeline for one r14 cycle on the CN→US corridor, starting from receipt of the supplier QC release note and ending when the inspection report is filed against the US-side booking reference. Total envelope is ~10 working days (D0→D9). The envelope is generic; the working-day count must be re-validated against the OEM manual revision for the actual equipment family before scheduling.

Working-day timeline for the r14 HV corona check (generic)
DayActivityOwners involvedDocument produced
D0Receive supplier QC release noteExport coordinatorsupplier-qc-release-note.docx
D1Intake rows, OEM criteria extract (manual revision on file at RFQ)Export coordinator, Maintenance engineercn-us-corona-check-intake.csv, criteria-extract-r14.xlsx
D2Tool staging and calibration checkTooling ownertool-staging-log-r14.csv
D3 to D6Pre-conditioning, corona scan, thermal overlayMaintenance engineer, Inspector, Thermal imaging ownerprecondition-log-r14.csv, corona-scan-log-r14.csv, thermal-overlay-r14.png
D7Classification against OEM limitsMaintenance engineercorona-classification-r14.xlsx
D8Issue or block inspection reportQA reviewercorona-inspection-report-r14.pdf
D9Archive report against the US-side booking referenceExport coordinatorcn-us-trade-lane-archive-row.csv

Indicative cost slots (PENDING)

All cost slots below are PENDING pending HS classification and duty lookup. The TradVolt cost model is intentionally silent on a hard unit price until HS/duty is confirmed. HS/duty for a portable corona check service and for any associated HV test equipment falls under HTS 8504.40 (static converters) and HTS 8501.53 (AC motors, multi-phase, output > 75 kW) as candidate classes — to be confirmed at RFQ via the USITC Harmonized Tariff Schedule search (USITC HTS search) and the EU TARIC consultation (EU TARIC consultation). UK Global Tariff lookup: UK Global Tariff. WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition: WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition. No HS code or duty rate is published on this page.

Indicative cost slots for the r14 HV corona check (PENDING)
Cost slotDescriptionPricing basisStatus
Slot ATool staging and calibration day-rateIndicative per-day ratePENDING — depends on whose tooling is used and on ISO/IEC 17025:2017 traceability scope (ISO/IEC 17025:2017 lookup); HS/duty to be confirmed at RFQ
Slot BCorona scan and thermal overlay per unitIndicative per-unit ratePENDING — depends on unit size, test voltage per OEM manual revision on file at RFQ, and on IEC 60270:2000/AMD1:2015 CSV measurement conventions (IEC Webstore catalogue); HS/duty to be confirmed at RFQ
Slot CQA review and report issuanceIndicative per-lot ratePENDING — depends on report format and language
Slot DRe-work handling if a unit is blockedIndicative per-unit re-work envelopePENDING — triggered only on fail classification

Downloadable PDF checklist

The single-page checklist below mirrors the document list above so a field engineer can walk the r14 cycle without re-reading this guide. The PDF is generated from the same filename list as the on-page checklist, so a reviewer can diff the two. The download path is the RFQ site path because TradVolt does not maintain a /downloads/ site path.

Request PDF checklist via RFQ

Triggers a guide_pdf_download dataLayer event. Resolves to /rfq/ site path.

Request a quote

If your team needs to plan the r14 cycle for a specific CN→US shipment, the TradVolt trade-lane desk will collect the booking reference, the unit serial list and the OEM criteria (with manual revision identifier), and return a named quote for the slots above.

Request RFQ for HV corona check r14

FAQ

What is r14 in this guide?

r14 is the revision tag used by TradVolt for the fourteenth maintenance cycle of the CN→US HV corona check process. It controls the revision tag in the filenames and the working-day timeline.

Is the corona check a release gate for the US-side buyer?

It can be, but only if the buyer has agreed in the project contract to use a portable corona check rather than a full witness test. Where witness testing is contractually required (for example against IEC 62271-203 for HV switchgear assemblies, or UL 61730-1 for PV module safety qualification: UL 61730-1 exact standard page), the corona check is documented as a maintenance record only and the release gate remains the witness test.

Can the r14 cycle be run at the port of departure instead of at the OEM plant?

Yes, provided the tooling owner can stage the calibrated HV source and corona sensor at the port yard and the OEM ramp profile for the actual equipment family (with the manual revision identifier on file at RFQ) is still applicable. The document filenames stay the same; only the location of the precondition-log-r14.csv and the corona-scan-log-r14.csv changes.

Who signs the corona inspection report?

The QA reviewer signs the corona-inspection-report-r14.pdf. The maintenance engineer signs the classification sheet that the QA reviewer relies on, and the tooling owner signs the calibration appendix, which must include the ISO/IEC 17025:2017 calibration laboratory issuer name and certificate number for each instrument (ISO/IEC 17025:2017 lookup).

What happens if a unit is classified as conditional?

The QA reviewer can still issue the report, but the classification sheet records the specific OEM limit that was exceeded and the re-test interval. The export coordinator then attaches the report to the booking file so the US-side receiver sees the conditional status before unloading. Partial-discharge magnitude is interpreted against IEC 60270:2000/AMD1:2015 CSV (IEC Webstore catalogue) for the purpose of the re-test interval.

Where do I find the exact OEM manual revision for my shipment?

The manual revision identifier (number + date) is project-specific and is not on this page. It is supplied against the booking file via the RFQ path (TradVolt RFQ) and transcribed onto the cover sheet of oem-corona-acceptance-criteria.pdf. This page does not state a specific manual revision; do not rely on any numeric limit on this page.

Claim — source — file/section

Claim-row footer for the factual sentences in this guide
ClaimSourceFile / section
Partial-discharge measurement on HV equipment during a maintenance check is governed by IEC 60270:2000/AMD1:2015 CSV.IEC Webstore catalogue (IEC Webstore catalogue) — full designation IEC 60270:2000/AMD1:2015 CSV in text.Generic-procedure disclaimer section.
Calibration records must accompany portable corona and thermal measurement.ISO/IEC 17025:2017 lookup (ISO/IEC 17025:2017 lookup) — full designation ISO/IEC 17025:2017 in text.tool-calibration-register.xlsx — Step 3.
PV module safety qualification for any PV array on the corridor is referenced against UL 61730-1.UL 61730-1 exact standard page (UL 61730-1 exact standard page).FAQ — release-gate answer.
Station-side battery enclosure safety qualification is referenced against UL 1973.UL 1973 exact standard page (UL 1973 exact standard page).Equipment families section.
EV conductive charging system reference exists where a turnkey skid includes an EV dispenser sub-assembly.IEC 61851-1:2017 exact document page (IEC 61851-1:2017 exact document page).Equipment families section.
HV switchgear assemblies on the corridor are referenced against IEC 62271-203 for any witness test that supersedes the r14 maintenance record.IEC Webstore catalogue (IEC Webstore catalogue) — full designation IEC 62271-203 in text.FAQ — release-gate answer.
Named equipment families that may move on the corridor and their public product pages.Sungrow (Sungrow string inverter range); CATL (CATL ESS landing); EVE Energy (EVE Energy landing); Growatt (Growatt landing); LONGi (LONGi Hi-MO 5m module family); JinkoSolar (JinkoSolar landing); Trina Solar (Trina Solar landing); Huawei (Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1); BYD (BYD Energy Storage); K2 Systems (K2 Systems N-Rack).Equipment families section.
HS/duty lookup paths for any cost quote.USITC HTS search (USITC HTS search); EU TARIC consultation (EU TARIC consultation); UK Global Tariff (UK Global Tariff); WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition (WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition). Candidate classes: HTS 8504.40 (static converters) and HTS 8501.53 (AC motors, multi-phase, output > 75 kW) — to be confirmed at RFQ.Indicative cost slots section.
The r14 working-day timeline is D0→D9, generic across equipment families.Step sequence table and Timeline table of this guide; OEM manual revision caveat applies.Timeline section.
The PDF download fires a guide_pdf_download dataLayer event and resolves to the RFQ site path because TradVolt does not maintain a /downloads/ path.TradVolt RFQ (TradVolt RFQ).Downloadable PDF checklist section.
Where the shipment carries lithium cells, the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria governs the UN 38.3 test provisions.UN Manual of Tests and Criteria (UN Manual of Tests and Criteria) — full designation ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 in text; IATA DGR (IATA DGR).FAQ — conditional classification answer.
The CN→US corridor uses Incoterms 2020 rules where a named Incoterm is written into the booking file.ICC Incoterms 2020 (ICC Incoterms 2020).Timeline section.
ISPM 15 wood-packaging compliance is referenced for any crating on the corridor.IPPC ISPM standards list (IPPC ISPM standards list).Timeline section.