TradVolt > Guides > CN→EU Module Clamp Check

Module Clamp Inspection Process - CN to EU Corridor

Verdict: use the torque value stated in the module OEM installation manual, perform a sample-based torque verification on every clamp row of the array, and re-torque or replace only the units that fall outside the OEM tolerance band. Equipment in scope: framed crystalline-silicon PV modules such as the LONGi Hi-MO 5m (LR5-54HTH) and JinkoSolar Tiger Neo (JKM-N-54HL4R-V) families, with K2 Systems SingleRail or CrossRail mounting hardware (model family and manual revision to be confirmed at RFQ). Location: EU North Sea and Mediterranean ports receiving CN-origin containers. Horizon: recurring pass scheduled after the first winter season of operation. Evidence date: 2026-09-22. Limitation: the cadence described is a procedural reference, not an EU regulatory mandate; torque figures must always be read from the module OEM installation manual that ships with the modules.

DecisionValueSource
Clamp torque source of truthModule OEM installation manual (project-specific revision)LONGi Hi-MO 5m installation manual; JinkoSolar Tiger Neo installation manual
Sample-based torque verificationOne row in scope per MWp block, every clamp rowProcedural reference; no EU regulatory cadence
Re-torque / replacement triggerClamps outside OEM torque tolerance bandModule OEM installation manual tolerance table
Thermal hotspot trigger (delta-T)Acceptance threshold set per project (model assumption if not stated)IR thermography report (project-specific)
DC string acceptanceWithin commissioning baseline bandR13 closure report / commissioning record

Scope and references

This page describes a maintenance check focused on mid-clamps and end-clamps on framed crystalline-silicon modules shipped from China to the European Union. Equipment scope is modules such as the LONGi Hi-MO 5m (LR5-54HTH family) and JinkoSolar Tiger Neo (JKM-N-54HL4R-V family), mounted on hardware such as K2 Systems SingleRail or CrossRail (exact rail/kit model and manual revision to be confirmed at TradVolt RFQ).

The pass is treated as a recurring check that EPC O&M teams can schedule after the first winter season of operation. It is procedural, not regulatory; EU regulation does not prescribe a clamp re-torque cadence. The TradVolt-suggested cadence (sample-based torque verification on every clamp row of the array, full-array re-torque of out-of-tolerance units only) is one operational option, not a mandated program.

Reference frameworks used to write this guide:

No specific torque number is stated on this page. Torque values used in the field are always read from the module OEM installation manual that ships with the modules; the catalogue entries above are not quoted as a torque authority.

Module OEM torque reference

For any module family, the single torque number that operators apply in the field is the value printed in the module OEM installation manual that ships with the modules. Two real, publicly marketed families that frequently appear on CN-origin EU shipments:

Module family (real, publicly marketed)OEMDocumentation entry point
LONGi Hi-MO 5m (LR5-54HTH family)LONGi Green Energyhttps://www.longi.com/en/ - product / datasheet section. The torque value is stated in the installation manual that ships with the modules; the page does not publish a single transferable number without the manual revision in hand.
JinkoSolar Tiger Neo (JKM-N-54HL4R-V family)JinkoSolarhttps://www.jinkosolar.com/en/ - product / datasheet section. The torque value is stated in the installation manual that ships with the modules; the page does not publish a single transferable number without the manual revision in hand.
K2 Systems SingleRail / CrossRail (mounting hardware)K2 Systemshttps://k2-systems.com/en/ - rail/kit documentation section. The clamp torque used with K2 rails is stated in the rail installation manual; confirmation of the manual revision is requested at TradVolt RFQ.

For modules outside the families above (for example Trina Solar Vertex, Risen Titan, JA Solar DeepBlue), the same rule applies: read the torque figure from the OEM installation manual that ships with the modules. The OEM landing pages Trina Solar, JinkoSolar, LONGi, K2 Systems are the documentation entry points; the per-project manual revision is confirmed at RFQ time and is the binding source.

Step sequence

Step #ActionOwnerInput docOutput docDone-when
1Open inspection job ticket and confirm scope = module clamps onlySite supervisorPrior closure report (e.g. R13)Job ticket - scopedScope line signed by EPC delegate
2Pull module OEM installation manual, module OEM datasheet, and project BoMMaintenance technicianModule OEM installation manual (revision stated on cover); module OEM datasheet; project BoMClamp spec sheet (project)Clamp part numbers and torque range from the OEM manual recorded
3Walk-down: visual check of clamp seating and EPDM padMaintenance technicianClamp spec sheet (project)Visual walk-down sheetEvery row in scope inspected, anomalies photo-tagged
4Torque verification on documented sample (one row per MWp block, every clamp row of the array sampled)Maintenance technicianVisual walk-down sheet; OEM torque table from the module OEM installation manualTorque log (sample)Sample torque values within the OEM tolerance band stated in the manual
5Infrared scan under operating loadMaintenance technicianTorque log (sample)IR thermography reportNo delta-T hotspot exceeding the project acceptance threshold (model assumption if not stated in the manual)
6DC string measurement (Voc, Isc)Maintenance technicianIR thermography report; commissioning baselineString measurement logStrings within commissioning baseline band
7Capture geo-tagged photo evidence for findingsMaintenance technicianString measurement logPhoto evidence packEach finding has a labelled photo and coordinates
8Re-torque or replace clamps that fall outside the OEM tolerance bandMaintenance technicianPhoto evidence packCorrective action logAll out-of-tolerance clamps reworked and re-tagged
9QA review and sign-off against checklistQA reviewerCorrective action logInspection reportReport signed and stamped
10Archive signed pack and notify EPCDocument controllerInspection reportArchive entry in project folderEPC delegate confirms receipt by email

The sample size "one row per MWp block, every clamp row of the array sampled" is a procedural choice on this page, not an externally mandated ratio. Operators may use a different sample size if their EPC or insurer specifies one.

Document checklist

Files to be present in the inspection folder before sign-off. Filenames are literal and must be preserved when uploading to the project archive.

To request the printable R14 checklist PDF, use the TradVolt RFQ form (site path; no public download placeholder is published on this page).

Indicative timeline

PhaseActivityIndicative durationOwner
T0Discharge of CN-origin containers at EU portDay 0 (external)Logistics carrier
T0 + 1dCustoms clearance and inland transfer1 to 3 working daysCustoms broker
T1Inspection job ticket opened, OEM installation manual pulled0.5 daySite supervisor
T1 + 1dVisual walk-down and torque sample (every clamp row of the array)1 to 2 days per MWp block (model assumption)Maintenance technician
T2IR scan and string measurement0.5 to 1 day per MWp block (model assumption)Maintenance technician
T3Corrective re-torque / replacement of out-of-tolerance units only1 to 3 days per MWp block (UNCERTAIN, depends on finding rate)Maintenance technician
T4QA review, sign-off, archive0.5 dayQA reviewer, document controller

Indicative cost slots

All figures below are labelled indicative and are not contractually binding. Where TradVolt has not yet verified a market reference, the slot is marked UNCERTAIN.

Cost lineIndicative slotSource status
Calibrated torque wrench rental per dayUNCERTAINNo vendor quote on file at evidence date 2026-09-22
IR thermography camera rental per dayUNCERTAINNo vendor quote on file at evidence date 2026-09-22
DC clamp meter (CAT III 1500V) per dayUNCERTAINNo vendor quote on file at evidence date 2026-09-22
Maintenance technician day rate (EU on-site)UNCERTAINNo published rate card at evidence date 2026-09-22
QA reviewer day rate (remote)UNCERTAINNo published rate card at evidence date 2026-09-22
Replacement clamp unit (mid-clamp, aluminium, per piece)UNCERTAINPending OEM quote at RFQ
Replacement EPDM pad (per piece)UNCERTAINPending OEM quote at RFQ
Inland transport per MWp blockUNCERTAINPending carrier quote at RFQ

Contracting parties must request a written quote from the supplier or OEM before any cost slot is used in a budget.

HS / duty block for replacement clamps

The Harmonized System classification below is provided for reference only. Always confirm the current binding classification with the competent customs authority before declaring. Use the EU TARIC consultation tool for the live measure: https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/dds2/taric/taric_consultation.jsp?Lang=en.

ItemIndicative HS codeEU MFN duty rateNotes
Aluminium mounting clamps for PV modules7616.99 (PENDING confirmation)PENDINGConfirm live measure on EU TARIC consultation
Stainless steel mounting clamps for PV modules7326.90 (PENDING confirmation)PENDINGConfirm live measure on EU TARIC consultation
EPDM rubber pad4016.93 (PENDING confirmation)PENDINGConfirm live measure on EU TARIC consultation

Disclaimer: HS classifications and duty rates change. TradVolt does not provide customs advice. The importer of record is responsible for the declaration.

FAQ

What is the cadence described on this page?

A recurring module clamp inspection pass scheduled after the first winter season of operation, coinciding with the CN to EU logistics wave. The cadence is a procedural reference, not an EU regulatory mandate.

Which clamp torque value should I use?

Always use the torque value from the module OEM installation manual that ships with the modules (for example the LONGi Hi-MO 5m installation manual or the JinkoSolar Tiger Neo installation manual, revision stated on the cover). The torque figure is project-specific and is not reproduced on this page.

Do I need to re-torque every clamp, or only a sample?

This guide records a sample-based torque verification at step 4 (one row per MWp block, every clamp row of the array sampled). Full-array re-torque is a separate decision and must be approved by the EPC based on finding rate; the trigger on this page is "re-torque or replace only the units that fall outside the OEM tolerance band."

Is this procedure required by EU regulation?

No. EU regulation does not prescribe a clamp re-torque cadence. The cadence in this guide is a procedural reference, not a regulatory mandate.

Which documents are mandatory to close the inspection pass?

All thirteen files listed in the document checklist above. The inspection report cannot be signed off if any item is missing.

Next actions

To request a quote for clamp inspection services on the CN to EU corridor, or to obtain the printable checklist PDF, submit the RFQ form:

Request a quote for the clamp inspection pass via TradVolt RFQ