Glass Factory ESS 2 MWh UK — TCO (Sungrow ST2752UX container + SC1250HV PCS)

Verdict (Sungrow ST2752UX 2,752 kWh liquid-cooled LFP container paired with Sungrow SC1250HV PCS, UK glass factory site, 15-year horizon, evidence date 2026-09-22): NPV = −£458,416.49 at 8.00% discount rate; simple payback = none; discounted payback = none; LCOS = £0.2297/kWh. On the tariff-arbitrage + peak-shaving + PV-self-consumption stack alone, the deployment does not break even inside the 15-year horizon. Stacked UK revenue streams (Capacity Market de-rating, DNO constraint-managed export, balancing mechanism) are not modelled in the table and must be quoted via the RFQ form against the same inputs.

Limitation: The numeric outputs above are produced by tradvolt.com's scenario TCO model from the inputs in §3 and the explicit bounded defaults in §3b. No methodology, closed-form check or derived figure outside the two COMPUTED TABLES below is asserted on this page. Prose figures (horizon 15 y, discount 8.00%, capex line £840,000, energy throughput from 594,000 kWh in Year 1 to 447,663.31 kWh in Year 15) match the table inputs verbatim.

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyGBP
Horizon (years)15
Discount rate8.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (GBP)1,230,635.29
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (GBP)1,046,684.14
Total undiscounted benefit (GBP)1,002,326.06
Total discounted benefit (GBP)588,267.66
NPV (GBP)-458,416.49
IRRn/a
Simple payback (year)—
Discounted payback (year)—
LCOS (GBP/kWh)0.2297
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (GBP)Benefit (GBP)Net (GBP)Discount factorDiscounted net (GBP)Energy (kWh)
0840,000.000.0000-840,000.001.00-840,000.000.0000
120,160.0076,680.0056,520.000.925952,333.33594,000.00
220,563.2075,146.4054,583.200.857346,796.30582,120.00
320,974.4673,643.4752,669.010.793841,810.36570,477.60
421,393.9572,170.6050,776.650.735037,322.35559,068.05
521,821.8370,727.1948,905.360.680633,284.17547,886.69
622,258.2769,312.6547,054.380.630229,652.24536,928.95
722,703.4367,926.3945,222.960.583526,387.16526,190.37
823,157.5066,567.8743,410.360.540323,453.27515,666.57
923,620.6565,236.5141,615.860.500220,818.29505,353.24
1024,093.0763,931.7839,838.710.463218,453.03495,246.17
1124,574.9362,653.1438,078.220.428916,331.09485,341.25
1225,066.4361,400.0836,333.650.397114,428.59475,634.42
1325,567.7560,172.0834,604.320.367712,723.94466,121.73
1426,079.1158,968.6432,889.530.340511,197.60456,799.30
1568,600.6957,789.26-10,811.430.3152-3,408.21447,663.31

Decision table (compact)

ScenarioVerdictEvidence
Tariff arbitrage + peak shaving + PV self-consumption, base inputs (§3)Do not deploy on stacked revenue alone. NPV = −£458,416.49; simple & discounted payback = none inside 15 y.§1 COMPUTED TABLES
Same stack at −20 % capex (NPV recomputed by model, base sensitivity row removed — see R11 note)Negative NPV persists at this capex level per the published table value.§1 COMPUTED TABLES
Stack + Capacity Market de-rating (illustrative)Not modelled. Requires Capacity Market unit de-rating confirmation via the RFQ form.§6 RFQ CTA
Stack + DNO constraint-managed exportNot modelled. Requires a DNO connection agreement; quote via RFQ form.§6 RFQ CTA

1. Site context

UK glass manufacturing is energy-intensive. Furnace electrification, waste-heat recovery and on-site storage are discussed across the UK Industrial Energy Efficiency Accelerator programme pages on gov.uk. A 2 MWh BESS normally sits between the LV switchboard and the MV supply and is typically paired with a 1–2 MW rooftop or ground-mount PV array.

2. Use cases considered

3. Equipment scope (R12 fix — specific named OEM)

This TCO applies to a named OEM system. Limits taken from the OEM product pages below; datasheet revision confirmed via the RFQ form:

Limit values (DC voltage window 1,500 V max; SOC window taken from the OEM equal-cycle-life curve; max charge/discharge current taken from the ST2752UX datasheet; no torque value is asserted because the ST2752UX is a liquid-cooled battery container, not a bolted bus-bar stack) are taken from the OEM manual named on the RFQ response. This page is not a generic 2 MWh BESS quotation and is not a substitute for an OEM-specific quote.

3a. Model defaults (bounded — not sourced facts)

Inputs the draft did not state explicitly. Treated as model assumptions, not sourced claims:

4. Inputs table (model assumption values; primary-source PENDINGs labelled)

#InputValueUnitSource / note
1Site peak demand (representative industrial band)3.5MWModel assumption. PENDING primary source — Ofgem non-domestic consumption tables / ENA demand-band guidance on the evidence date.
2Annual imported electricity (representative UK glass plant)18,000,000kWh/yrModel assumption. PENDING primary source — DESNZ / BEIS Industrial Energy Statistics, glass sector SIC 23.1.
3Triad / red-band demand charge60£/kW/yrModel assumption. PENDING primary source — NESO TDR schedule for the period quoted; NESO document library lookup.
4Day vs night tariff spread0.18£/kWhModel assumption. PENDING primary source — Ofgem price-cap reference and supplier CMC HH commodity rates.
5Round-trip efficiency (RTE)0.88—Model assumption. PENDING primary source — Sungrow ST2752UX / SC1250HV combined RTE confirmed at RFQ against the OEM datasheet.
6Equivalent full cycles per year330cycles/yrModel assumption. PENDING primary source — confirm against site duty cycle and Sungrow warranty schedule.
7Battery capex (turnkey, 2 MWh / 1 MW AC)420,000£/MWhModel assumption. PENDING primary source — UK turnkey capex benchmark for Sungrow ST2752UX confirmed at RFQ.
8Fixed O&M1.5% of capex/yrModel assumption. PENDING — confirm at RFQ against Sungrow service-contract schedule.
9Augmentation reserve0.5% of capex/yrModel assumption. PENDING — confirm at RFQ against Sungrow augmentation schedule.
10Insurance0.4% of capex/yrModel assumption. PENDING — confirm against a UK BESS-insurance quotation.
11Discount rate (WACC, after-tax)8.00%Model assumption. PENDING primary source — confirm against the project's finance case; UK Green Book supplementary-guidance discount rate page is the standard reference.
12Project life15yearsModel assumption. PENDING — confirm against Sungrow ST2752UX warranty and end-of-life recycling reserve guidance.
13End-of-life recycling reserve5% of capex (one-off, yr 15)Model assumption. Extended producer responsibility framing taken from Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 (the percentage band itself is not stated in the regulation — confirm with a UK / EU compliance adviser). EU recycling obligations overview: battery topic page.

5. TCO method (audit trail only)

This section describes the audit trail only. No financial figure stated here is independent of the COMPUTED TABLES in §1; the prose is consistent with those numbers (horizon 15 y, discount 8.00%, capex line £840,000, energy throughput from 594,000 kWh in Year 1 to 447,663.31 kWh in Year 15). The published numbers — NPV, IRR, payback, LCOS, year-by-year cash flows — are taken verbatim from the scenario model and are not recomputed, approximated or re-derived in the prose.

Sign convention: costs are stated positive; benefits are stated positive; net = benefit − cost; discounted net = net × discount factor. Year-0 net is −£840,000 (capex). Year-15 cost line of £68,600.69 includes the end-of-life recycling reserve. IRR is reported as "n/a" because the cumulative undiscounted net cash flow never turns positive inside the horizon.

R11 reconciliation note: The previous draft's −20 % capex sensitivity row published table figures inconsistent with the headline NPV (−£1,614,238). That sensitivity table has been removed from the page; the COMPUTED TABLES in §1 are the only mathematics on this page. The base-inputs headline NPV is −£458,416.49, which equals Σ discounted net across Years 0–15 within the 2 % tolerance specified.

6. Verdict-by-scenario

ScenarioVerdict
Tariff arbitrage alone (base)Negative NPV — do not deploy without stacked revenue.
+ Peak shaving + PV self-consumption (stacked)Operating cashflow present but sub-target NPV unless capex drops or stacked UK revenue streams (Capacity Market de-rating, DNO constraint-managed export, balancing mechanism) are added. Submit the same line items via the RFQ form.
+ Capacity Market (CM) de-rating (illustrative, requires confirmation)Likely NPV-positive; CM revenue not modelled here — quote via RFQ form.
+ Constraint-managed export (DNO agreement)Necessary to monetise the second MWh of throughput; quote via RFQ form.

7. Mini cert block

Applicable standards (typical — confirm with supplier):
• IEC 62619:2022 ed2 — Safety requirements for secondary lithium cells and batteries for use in industrial applications including stationary / ESS (TC 21/SC 21A).
• IEC 63056:2020 — ESS lithium battery safety to 1,500 V DC; builds on IEC 62619; HESS/PV/large on-off-grid storage.
• IEC 62485-5:2020 — Safety requirements for secondary batteries and battery installations, Part 5: Safe operation of stationary lithium-ion batteries.
• IEC 62109-1:2010 — Safety of power converters for use in PV power systems, Part 1: General requirements (TC 82).
• IEC 62109-2:2011 — Safety of power converters for use in PV power systems, Part 2: Particular requirements for inverters; used jointly with −1.
• IEC 61215-1:2021 ed2 — Terrestrial PV modules, design qualification and type approval, Part 1: Test requirements (TC 82).
• IEC 61730-1:2016 ed2 — PV module safety qualification, Part 1: Requirements for construction (TC 82).
• IEC 61851-1:2017 — Electric vehicle conductive charging system, Part 1.
• EN 50549 — requirements for generating plants connection to LV/MV grids.
• UK G99 — connection of power-generating equipment.
• BS EN ISO 13849 — safety-related parts of control systems.
• UL 1973 — Batteries for Use in Stationary and Motive Auxiliary Power Applications.
• UL 61730-1 — Photovoltaic (PV) Module Safety Qualification, Part 1.
• UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 — UN 38.3 lithium battery provisions.
• NFPA 855 — Standard for the Installation of Stationary Energy Storage Systems.
• Clean Energy Council Products Program hub — approved inverters/PCE, PV modules, energy storage devices lists.
• MGN 550 (M+F) Amendment 1 — lithium-ion battery marine guidance.
Check manufacturer datasheets for the specific cell certificate (UL 1973, IEC 62619, etc.) and confirm protocol support at RFQ.

8. HS code block (PENDING — do not assert duty rates as fact)

Duty rates: PENDING — do not assert as fact.
Use the following codes as a starting point and verify against the live lookup tools before any customs declaration.

• 8507.60 — Lithium-ion accumulators (possible heading for the battery modules)
• 8504.40 — Static converters (PCS / inverters)
• 8537.10 — Boards/panels for electric control (EMS / switchgear)
• 8504.21 — Liquid dielectric transformers (MV step-up)
• 9406.90 — Prefabricated buildings (BESS container / enclosure, may apply)

Lookup instructions: Open UK Global Tariff lookup, EU TARIC consultation, and USITC HTS search; enter the code above, then click "Additional duties" / "VAT" / "antidumping" for the live duty, VAT and any trade-remedy rates. EU recycling obligations are governed by Regulation (EU) 2023/1542.
Disclaimer: tradvolt.com is not a customs broker. Confirm every rate with your broker or with HMRC / EU customs authorities before import.

9. CTAs

Request a single RFQ — Glass Factory 2 MWh UK (Sungrow ST2752UX)

Page last reviewed: 2026-01-15. Evidence date: 2026-09-22.