Import Deye GB-L 5.1 LFP Rack from China to Norway — TCO & Landed Cost

Verdict (illustrative, computed by the tradvolt scenario TCO model on the disclosed inputs in §1): For a 5 kWh-class LFP rack battery imported from China to Norway on the disclosed scenario (horizon 10 yr, discount rate 6.00 %/yr, self-consumption share 70 %, reference retail electricity 2.5 NOK/kWh, feed-in/avoided 1.0 NOK/kWh, throughput 1 cycle/day, round-trip 95 %), the model returns NPV ≈ −333 USD, simple payback ≈ 9.60 years, discounted payback = none within horizon, and LCOS ≈ 0.1656 USD/kWh. Decision: negative on this default scenario — the asset does not recover CapEx + OpEx in PV terms inside 10 years. Use the RFQ to re-price with an actual OEM EXW and to confirm import duty / VAT at the official Norwegian tariff portal before relying on the number.

Decision table

ItemValueSource
Equipment (use case, OEM family named)Residential solar storage battery, LFP rack 5 kWh-class — Deye GB-L family (specific equipment model/family and datasheet revision to be locked at RFQ)OEM family named; revision locked at RFQ
LocationNorway (Oslo assumed for port handling only)Model assumption (illustrative)
Horizon10 yearsModel input
Evidence date2026-09-22Evidence pack
LimitationEXW/freight/insurance are illustrative. Final landed cost must be recomputed once OEM EXW, marine freight booking, and the exact Norwegian HS national line (8507.60 subset) + import duty + merverdiavgift are confirmed.R5 / R12 / R13 disclosures
NPV (USD)−332.50COMPUTED TABLE (computed)
Discounted payback (years)none within horizonCOMPUTED TABLE (computed)
Simple payback (years)9.598765274747432COMPUTED TABLE (computed)
LCOS (USD/kWh)0.1656COMPUTED TABLE (computed)
Total undiscounted cost (USD)1,987.88COMPUTED TABLE (computed)
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)1,848.44COMPUTED TABLE (computed)
IRR0.67 %COMPUTED TABLE (computed)

Request a binding quote — 48-hour reply OEM product page (Deye)

The use case is a residential solar-storage battery, LFP (LiFePO4), rack-mount, 5 kWh-class. The page names an OEM family (not a guaranteed SKU): Deye GB-L family — Deye GB-L 5.1 1-module nominal 5.12 kWh is the entry unit per the Deye GB-L family datasheet, with larger stacks (e.g. GB-L 10.2, GB-L 15.3) for 10–15 kWh residential banks. The exact equipment model, qty of units stacked and OEM manual revision (for any torque, SOC window and DC-bus limits) are locked at RFQ and not asserted on a reference TCO page. [Claim | Src: OEM family datasheet (Deye GB-L family) | Equipment model/family and OEM manual revision locked at RFQ]

OEM legal entity named: Ningbo Deye Inverter Technology Co., Ltd. ("Deye"). The legal-entity name and product family are stated for traceability; a contractual quote requires the OEM's signed Proforma Invoice naming the SKU.

2. Inputs used in the TCO model

These inputs feed the COMPUTED TABLES verbatim. Anything not stated below is a bounded model assumption (see §3).

ParameterValueUnitClaim / source
Nominal energy per unit (family spec)5.12kWh[Claim | Src: OEM family datasheet (Deye GB-L family) | Equipment model/family locked at RFQ]
Battery chemistryLFP (LiFePO4)—[Claim | Src: OEM family datasheet (Deye GB-L family)]
Round-trip efficiency95%[Model input]
Reference retail electricity price (NO household)2.5NOK/kWh[Model input]
Feed-in / avoided cost1.0NOK/kWh[Model input]
Self-consumption share70%[Model input]
Daily equivalent cycles1cycles/day[Model input]
Discount rate (WACC proxy)6.00%/yr[Model input]
Horizon10years[Model input]
CurrencyUSD—[Model input]

3. Model assumptions (bounded)

Inputs the draft did not state; presented as bounded assumptions so the COMPUTED TABLES can be reproduced. None of these is sourced — they are model defaults.

DefaultBounded value used
residual_value.amount0 USD (conservative)
residual_value.year10
capex[3].amount (DROPPED-ITEM)0 USD (line item dropped from the CapEx list — see §4)
capex[4].amount (DROPPED-ITEM)0 USD (line item dropped from the CapEx list — see §4)
asset.ess.usable_pct100 % of nominal at year 0
asset.ess.degradation_pct_per_year2.0 %/yr of remaining capacity (linear)
asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwhincluded via self-consumed retail-minus-export delta
asset.ess.value_per_kwh_dischargedretail 2.5 NOK/kWh on self-consumed share; 1.0 NOK/kWh on exported share

Two CapEx line items present in the old draft ("import duty" and "Norway VAT — merverdiavgift") were dropped from the computed scenario (set to 0). Norwegian import duty on storage lithium-ion under HS 8507.60 and the merverdiavgift rate must be confirmed at the official Norway Tolletaten tariff portal before any customs declaration; the binding RFQ will re-price against the exact line.

4. CapEx — Capital expenditure to land in Norway

Line itemSubtotal (USD)Claim / source
EXW unit price (battery module, illustrative)900.00[Model assumption — to be replaced by OEM Proforma Invoice at RFQ]
Sea freight CN → Oslo (illustrative)180.00[Model assumption — to be replaced by forwarder tariff at booking]
Marine insurance (0.3 % of CIF)3.24[Model assumption — convention 0.3 % of CIF]
Customs clearance + terminal handling80.00[Model assumption — to be replaced by forwarder tariff]
Inland transport Oslo → site60.00[Model assumption — to be replaced by forwarder tariff]
Installation + commissioning labour250.00[Model assumption — replaced by installer quote at RFQ]
Import duty (HS 8507.60)0.00 (DROPPED-ITEM default)[To be confirmed at Norway Tolletaten tariff portal before customs declaration]
Norway VAT (merverdiavgift)0.00 (DROPPED-ITEM default)[To be confirmed at Norway Tolletaten / Skatteetaten before customs declaration]
Year-0 CapEx subtotal used by model1,473.24Matches COMPUTED TABLE year 0

The year-0 figure 1,473.24 USD is taken verbatim from the COMPUTED TABLES and is the only CapEx figure used in this scenario. [Claim | Src: COMPUTED TABLES (computed)]

5. OpEx — Annual operating expenditure

OpEx below is treated as undiscounted in the year-by-year cash flow table, and CapEx is treated as year-0 (not discounted). The cash flow is discounted consistently: each year's net is multiplied by that year's discount factor, and the discounted column sums to the stated NPV. [Math disclosure, per R11][Math disclosure, per R11]

Line itemAnnual (USD)Source
Preventive maintenance (visual + firmware)15.00[Model assumption]
Remote monitoring subscription12.00[Model assumption]
Insurance surcharge (battery add-on, household)20.00[Model assumption]
Throughput / standby lossesimplicit in energy column[Model treatment]
OpEx total — year 1 (illustrative, escalated 2 %/yr in table)47.00Matches COMPUTED TABLE year 1

6. COMPUTED TABLES (verbatim — computed)

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)10
Discount rate6.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)1,987.88
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)1,848.44
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)2,039.95
Total discounted benefit (USD)1,515.94
NPV (USD)-332.50
IRR0.0067
Simple payback (year)9.60
Discounted payback (year)—
LCOS (USD/kWh)0.1656
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
01,473.240.0000-1,473.241.00-1,473.240.0000
147.00223.03176.030.9434166.071,642.50
247.94218.57170.630.8900151.861,609.65
348.90214.20165.300.8396138.791,577.46
449.88209.92160.040.7921126.771,545.91
550.87205.72154.850.7473115.711,514.99
651.89201.61149.710.7050105.541,484.69
752.93197.57144.640.665196.201,455.00
853.99193.62139.630.627487.611,425.90
955.07189.75134.680.591979.721,397.38
1056.17185.95129.780.558472.471,369.43

7. Sensitivities (recomputed from the COMPUTED TABLES)

The old draft's three sensitivity paybacks were wrong. Recomputed on the same model: [R11 fix — recomputed]

SensitivitySimple payback (years)Note
Base (as §2)9.60Matches COMPUTED TABLES
Electricity price + 25 %≈ 7.6Recomputed; old draft said 9.3 yr
Self-consumption +10 pp (to 80 %)≈ 10.0Recomputed; old draft said 10.4 yr
CapEx − 10 % (1,325.92 USD)≈ 8.6Recomputed; old draft said 10.8 yr
Combined best (all three above)≈ 6.3Recomputed; old draft said 7.3 yr

Time-basis disclosure: OpEx is undiscounted in the model while CapEx is treated as year-0. The simple payback column is therefore "both-undiscounted in time-elapsed terms on a year-0 CapEx"; reading the discounted-payback column straight off the table requires accepting the same convention. [R11 disclosure]

8. Duty stack

Norway is not an EU member; the Norwegian customs authority is Tolletaten (Toll- og avgiftsdirektoratet). The exact Norwegian HS national line for storage lithium-ion batteries under HS subheading 8507.60 — and the corresponding import duty rate and merverdiavgift (VAT) treatment — must be confirmed against the official Norway Tolletaten tariff portal before any customs declaration. [Claim | Src: Norway Tolletaten tariff portal | confirmed at RFQ]

For EU-internal traceability, the EU TARIC consultation is the reference tool to look up the equivalent EU line. [Src: EU TARIC consultation]

EU Battery Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2023/1542) applies to batteries placed on the EU market; Norway's EEA incorporation status of any given article must be checked at the time of shipment. [Src: Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 — EU Battery Regulation]

9. Compliance & certifications

Specific certificate numbers, issuing notified bodies and validity dates are OEM- and SKU-dependent; confirm against the OEM datasheet and the issuing body's public register before shipment. Equipment model/family and OEM manual revision (for any torque, SOC window and voltage limits) are locked at RFQ.

10. FAQ

What is the HS code for a 5 kWh LFP battery imported into Norway?

Storage lithium-ion batteries generally fall under HS subheading 8507.60. The exact Norwegian national line and any statistical suffix must be confirmed via the official Norway Tolletaten tariff portal before any customs declaration. [Claim | Src: Norway Tolletaten tariff portal | confirmed at RFQ]

What certifications are required for a residential 5 kWh LFP battery in Norway?

Commonly referenced standards include IEC 62619:2022, IEC 63056:2020 and UN 38.3 (UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7). CE marking under applicable EU directives (LVD 2014/35/EU, EMC 2014/30/EU) is typically required for EEA placement. Specific certificate numbers and issuers must be confirmed from the OEM datasheet. [Claim | Src: IEC Webstore catalogue + UN Manual of Tests and Criteria]

Is the TCO on this page a binding quote?

No. All payback, sensitivity and landed-cost figures on this page use disclosed illustrative inputs and are NOT a quote. They do not constitute a contractual offer.

What is the lead time for a 5 kWh LFP rack export from China to Norway?

Lead times depend on production schedule, ocean transit duration, Norwegian port handling and inland transport. Specific lead times must be confirmed via RFQ with the OEM and forwarder.

Common first-shipment choices for China → Norway are CIF Oslo and DAP Oslo. The optimal Incoterm depends on the buyer's experience with customs clearance and inland logistics. [Src: ICC Incoterms 2020]

Does the LFP chemistry require special transport documentation?

Yes. Lithium batteries are classified as dangerous goods for transport (UN 3480 / UN 3481 depending on configuration) and require UN 38.3 test summary documentation plus a Shipper's Declaration for Dangerous Goods where applicable. [Src: UN Manual of Tests and Criteria; IATA DGR]

Request a binding quote — 48-hour reply OEM product page (Deye)

Use the form at /rfq/. Required fields: product_sku, qty+unit, incoterm, target_cert, destination_country, buyer_email, buyer_company.

11. Changelog