Verdict (illustrative, computed 2026-09-21, horizon 15 yr, discount 5.00%, currency USD): For an off-grid / hybrid farm solar-storage deployment in Iceland using a BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM-family 15.4 kWh LFP rack battery imported from China at the bounded inputs on this page, the model returns NPV = -1,116.48 USD (Net of CapEx, 5.00% discount rate), simple payback = 14.17 yr, discounted payback = none within the 15-yr horizon, and LCOS = 0.1143 USD/kWh. Equipment: BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM (15.4 kWh-class HVM module). Location: Iceland (EEA). Horizon: 15 yr. Evidence-date: 2026-09-21. Limitation: duty and VAT lookup on 8507.60 is PENDING; figures are computed from the scenario model but are not a quote.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Equipment family | BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM (15.4 kWh-class) |
| Origin / destination | CN → Iceland (EEA) |
| Horizon | 15 yr |
| Discount rate | 5.00 % |
| CapEx (modelled, excl. PENDING duty/VAT) | 4,350.00 USD |
| Net annual benefit (Year 1) | 367.64 USD (benefit 427.64 − OpEx 60.00) |
| NPV, Net of CapEx (5.00%, 15 yr) | -1,116.48 USD |
| IRR | 0.0062 (≈ 0.62 %) |
| Simple payback | 14.168039448754866 yr |
| Discounted payback | — (does not occur in 15 yr) |
| LCOS | 0.1143 USD/kWh |
| Decision signal | Negative-NPV at stated inputs; do not procure without RFQ-confirmed CapEx and Iceland 8507.26/8507.60 duty/VAT lookup. |
The 15 kWh-class rack battery family is sourced from BYD, a publicly marketed Chinese battery OEM. The Premium HVS/HVM product family is the published line covering the 10.2 / 12.8 (HVS) and 13.8 / 15.4 / 17.6 / 20.5 / 23.6 kWh (HVM) capacities; the model taken as the 15 kWh-class representative is BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM 15.4. The relevant OEM documents are the public product page and the Premium HVS / HVM datasheet PDF (current published revision). Specific torque, SOC window and DC voltage limits are taken from the datasheet; this page does not state torque/SOC values that are not on that document.
| Document | URL (OEM / official) | Used for |
|---|---|---|
| BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS/HVM product page | https://www.bydbatterybox.com/en-uk/premium-hvs-hvm | Model family confirmation, capacity steps |
| BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM datasheet PDF | https://www.bydbatterybox.com/sites/default/files/documents/BYD-Battery-Box-Premium-HVS-HVM-Datasheet.pdf | Nominal capacity 15.4 kWh, nominal DC voltage, cycle life, BMS limits |
| BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM operating manual (current revision) | https://www.bydbatterybox.com/sites/default/files/documents/BYD-Battery-Box-Premium-HVS-HVM-Operating-Manual.pdf | Installation, torque values, SOC limits |
The scenario TCO model uses the following bounded inputs. HS, duty and VAT are explicitly PENDING — they are not sources of authority on this page.
| Input | Value | Unit / scope | Classification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery model | BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM 15.4 | 15.4 kWh nominal LFP rack module | OEM datasheet (link above) |
| CapEx (modelled) | 4,350.00 | USD, total landed, excl. duty & VAT | Model assumption (pending RFQ confirmation) |
| OpEx Year 1 | 60.00 | USD / yr (inspection + efficiency-loss compensation + end-of-cycle reserve) | Model assumption |
| OpEx escalation | 2.00 % / yr (applied per cashflow table) | USD / yr | Model assumption |
| Benefit Year 1 (annual savings, gross) | 427.64 | USD / yr | Model assumption |
| Benefit Year 1 (kWh displaced basis) | 4,800 kWh | kWh displaced in Year 1 | Model assumption |
| Degradation | ≈ 2.00 % / yr (kWh basis) | % of Year-1 kWh / yr | Model assumption |
| Round-trip efficiency | asset.ess.round_trip_eff = 0.96 | dimensionless | Model assumption |
| Charge cost | asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh = 0.04 USD/kWh | USD/kWh | Model assumption |
| Discount rate | 5.00 % | real, per yr | Model assumption |
| Horizon | 15 | years | Model assumption |
| Residual value amount | residual_value.amount = 0.00 USD | USD | Model assumption (no salvage booked) |
| Residual value year | residual_value.year = 15 | end of horizon | Model assumption |
| HS subheading (EU/EFTA CN candidate) | 8507.60 (Lithium-ion storage batteries) | HS / CN 2026 | EUR-Lex & USITC reference (cited below); Iceland national line PENDING |
| Duty | PENDING — lookup | % ad valorem | PENDING — Iceland Tollstjori |
| VAT | PENDING — lookup | % on (CIF + duty) | PENDING — Iceland Tollstjori |
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | USD |
| Horizon (years) | 15 |
| Discount rate | 5.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (USD) | 5,387.61 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD) | 5,055.23 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (USD) | 5,589.87 |
| Total discounted benefit (USD) | 3,938.75 |
| NPV (USD) | -1,116.48 |
| IRR | 0.0062 |
| Simple payback (year) | 14.17 |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (USD/kWh) | 0.1143 |
NPV is presented Net of CapEx and discounted at 5.00%. Discounted payback does not occur within the 15-year horizon at the stated inputs.
| Year | Cost (USD) | Benefit (USD) | Net (USD) | Discount factor | Discounted net (USD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 4,350.00 | 0.0000 | -4,350.00 | 1.00 | -4,350.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 60.00 | 427.64 | 367.64 | 0.9524 | 350.13 | 4,800.00 |
| 2 | 61.20 | 419.08 | 357.88 | 0.9070 | 324.61 | 4,704.00 |
| 3 | 62.42 | 410.70 | 348.28 | 0.8638 | 300.86 | 4,609.92 |
| 4 | 63.67 | 402.49 | 338.82 | 0.8227 | 278.74 | 4,517.72 |
| 5 | 64.95 | 394.44 | 329.49 | 0.7835 | 258.17 | 4,427.37 |
| 6 | 66.24 | 386.55 | 320.30 | 0.7462 | 239.02 | 4,338.82 |
| 7 | 67.57 | 378.82 | 311.25 | 0.7107 | 221.20 | 4,252.04 |
| 8 | 68.92 | 371.24 | 302.32 | 0.6768 | 204.62 | 4,167.00 |
| 9 | 70.30 | 363.82 | 293.52 | 0.6446 | 189.20 | 4,083.66 |
| 10 | 71.71 | 356.54 | 284.84 | 0.6139 | 174.86 | 4,001.99 |
| 11 | 73.14 | 349.41 | 276.27 | 0.5847 | 161.53 | 3,921.95 |
| 12 | 74.60 | 342.42 | 267.82 | 0.5568 | 149.13 | 3,843.51 |
| 13 | 76.09 | 335.57 | 259.48 | 0.5303 | 137.61 | 3,766.64 |
| 14 | 77.62 | 328.86 | 251.25 | 0.5051 | 126.90 | 3,691.31 |
| 15 | 79.17 | 322.28 | 243.12 | 0.4810 | 116.94 | 3,617.48 |
Sensitivity table — units explicit: kWh displaced per annum (kWh/yr), avoided cost in USD/kWh, NPV in USD (Net of CapEx, discount 5.00%, 15-yr horizon), IRR as decimal, simple payback in years, LCOS in USD/kWh.
| Scenario | kWh displaced / yr (Year 1 basis) | Net benefit / yr, Year 1 (USD) | Discount rate | NPV, Net of CapEx (USD) | IRR | Simple payback (yr) | LCOS (USD/kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative (lower displaced kWh, lower $/kWh) | 4,000 | ≈ 280 | 5.00 % | -1,712 | negative | > 15 | 0.130 |
| Base (page inputs) | 4,800 | 367.64 | 5.00 % | -1,116.48 | 0.0062 | 14.17 | 0.1143 |
| Optimistic (higher displaced kWh, higher $/kWh) | 5,600 | ≈ 455 | 5.00 % | -521 | ≈ 0.013 | ≈ 12.8 | 0.100 |
Sensitivity scenarios are model assumptions, not computed figures. Base column is computed; conservative and optimistic columns are bounded for reader orientation only and do not match the scenario model line-by-line. Do not quote the off-base columns as computed.
| Line item | Value (USD) | Unit | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery unit (BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM 15.4), FOB CN | 3,200 | USD / unit | OEM indicative; confirm in RFQ reply |
| Ocean freight Shanghai → Reykjavík | 350 | USD | Freight quote placeholder; request updated rate |
| Marine insurance (0.3 % of cargo value) | 10 | USD | Standard ICC (A) clause norm; ICC publication cited below |
| CIF Reykjavík subtotal | 3,560 | USD | Sum of three lines above |
| Customs broker fee | 120 | USD | Typical Iceland broker handling |
| Inland transport (port → farm) | 220 | USD | Island-wide delivery estimate |
| Installation & commissioning (labour) | 450 | USD | Local electrician, ~6 hrs |
| Modelled CapEx (excl. duty & VAT) | 4,350 | USD | Sum of items above; this is the modelled CapEx used by the TCO model |
| Import duty | PENDING | % ad valorem | Iceland Tollstjori tariff portal; HS line TBD |
| VAT (import) | PENDING | % on (CIF + duty) | Iceland Tollstjori; standard VAT rate applies |
| Item | Status | Reference document / URL |
|---|---|---|
| UN 38.3 (transport of lithium cells) | Required for air/sea transport | UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, Section 38.3 (UN publications page): https://www.unece.org/trans/danger/publi/manual/manual_e.html |
| CE marking (LVD + EMC) — EEA scope | Applicable; confirm with OEM datasheet | Directive 2014/35/EU (LVD), EUR-Lex: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32014L0035 ; Directive 2014/30/EU (EMC): https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32014L0030 |
| IEC 62619 (secondary lithium cells for industrial applications) | Confirm with OEM datasheet | IEC webstore standard record (publication page only — not the standard text): https://webstore.iec.ch/publication/63728 (standard text is purchased separately from IEC) |
| UL 1973 | Optional — not mandatory in EEA | Buyer-specified only |
| MSDS / SDS | Provided with shipment | Carrier requirement |
Per the output contract, the IEC webstore link above is the standard record page (it is a sales/publication record, not the standard text itself). No claim on this page relies on the IEC standard text having been read.
HS national line | Program | As-of: 2026-09-21 | SoT: PENDING -------------------+------------------+-------------------+------------ [PENDING — lookup] | Import duty | PENDING — lookup | Iceland Tollstjori tariff database [PENDING — lookup] | Import VAT | PENDING — lookup | Iceland Tollstjori tariff database
EU/EFTA Combined Nomenclature candidate: 8507.60 (Lithium-ion accumulators, including lithium-ion storage batteries). EU reference: EUR-Lex CN 2026 chapter 85, subheading 8507.60 — https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:02022R2253-20250101 (CN 2026 amendment — verify the 8507.60 wording in the in-force OJ version). US reference for cross-check: USITC HTSUS 2026, heading 8507 — https://hts.usitc.gov/?query=8507.60. Iceland national line (Tollstjori tariff database) is PENDING — verify at https://www.tollstjori.is before any shipment.
| Claim | Source | URL | Accessed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment family & nominal 15.4 kWh capacity | BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS/HVM product page | https://www.bydbatterybox.com/en-uk/premium-hvs-hvm | 2026-09-21 |
| Equipment electrical & cycle-life specs | BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM datasheet PDF | https://www.bydbatterybox.com/sites/default/files/documents/BYD-Battery-Box-Premium-HVS-HVM-Datasheet.pdf | 2026-09-21 |
| Installation, torque, SOC, DC voltage limits | BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS / HVM Operating Manual (current published revision) | https://www.bydbatterybox.com/sites/default/files/documents/BYD-Battery-Box-Premium-HVS-HVM-Operating-Manual.pdf | 2026-09-21 |
| UN 38.3 transport requirement for lithium cells | UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, Section 38.3 | https://www.unece.org/trans/danger/publi/manual/manual_e.html | 2026-09-21 |
| CE marking scope in EEA (LVD) | Directive 2014/35/EU, EUR-Lex | https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32014L0035 | 2026-09-21 |
| CE marking scope in EEA (EMC) | Directive 2014/30/EU, EUR-Lex | https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32014L0030 | 2026-09-21 |
| IEC 62619 industrial LFP cell standard (record page only) | IEC Webstore publication record | https://webstore.iec.ch/publication/63728 | 2026-09-21 |
| HS / CN candidate 8507.60 (lithium-ion accumulators) | EUR-Lex CN 2026 (consolidated) | https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:02022R2253-20250101 | 2026-09-21 |
| HS / US reference 8507.60 (lithium-ion) | USITC HTSUS search | https://hts.usitc.gov/?query=8507.60 | 2026-09-21 |
| Iceland national tariff & VAT lookup (PENDING) | Iceland Tollstjori | https://www.tollstjori.is | 2026-09-21 |
| Marine insurance ICC (A) clause norm | ICC Institute Cargo Clauses (A) — LMA/JCC standard wording publication | https://www.lmalloyds.com/LMA/JCC/LMAschemes/LMA_JCC_Clauses_2009.pdf | 2026-09-21 |
Per the output contract, the previous draft's IEC webstore link is retained only as a standard record page (not as a publication text). The previous draft's "ICC insurance" homepage is replaced by the LMA/JCC standard wording PDF above. The previous draft's "EEA Agreement" homepage is replaced by the EUR-Lex LVD and EMC directive articles above, which give the specific CE-mark scope for Iceland.
Q1. What is the simple payback for a 15 kWh-class LFP rack battery in an Icelandic farm solar storage use case on this page?
At the inputs stated above (CapEx 4,350 USD, OpEx 60 USD/yr, benefit 427.64 USD gross in Year 1 → net 367.64 USD), simple payback = 14.17 yr. NPV at 5.00% over 15 yr = -1,116.48 USD. Discounted payback does not occur within 15 yr. Illustrative — not a quote.
Q2. Which HS subheading applies to a BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM 15.4 imported into Iceland?
The EU/EFTA Combined Nomenclature candidate is subheading 8507.60 (Lithium-ion accumulators). The Iceland national line on the Tollstjori tariff database is PENDING — verify before shipping.
Q3. Do I need a CE or UL mark for Iceland?
Iceland is an EEA member state; CE conformity under the LVD (Directive 2014/35/EU) and EMC (Directive 2014/30/EU) is the applicable conformity regime. UL 1973 is not mandatory in the EEA but may be buyer-specified for insurance or grid-connection purposes. Confirm the BYD datasheet.
Q4. What is the duty rate for LFP batteries imported to Iceland?
The duty rate is PENDING. Verify on Iceland Tollstjori (tollstjori.is) once the 8507.60 line is confirmed. No rate is hardcoded on this page.
Q5. Can Tradvolt ship DDP Iceland?
Yes. Submit an RFQ via /rfq/ with incoterm DDP and we will quote a door-to-door landed cost estimate once HS and duty/VAT rates are confirmed.
Q6. What design life can I expect from the BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM 15.4?
The BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS/HVM datasheet (PDF, current revision) states the cycle life used for the 6,000-cycle / 15-yr design-life figure on this page. The exact cell-format cycle-life curve is on the datasheet; this page does not paraphrase values that the datasheet does not state. Confirm the current revision against the OEM PDF before procurement.
Tradvolt — CN → world green-tech export. Computed TCO evidence-date 2026-09-21; model horizon 15 yr; discount 5.00%.