Verdict (first 100 words): For a 1 MWh parking-edge battery energy storage system (BESS) in Australia, modelled over a 15-year real horizon at 6.00 % real WACC, the scenario model returns NPV = -483,813.08 AUD, LCOS = 0.2733 AUD/kWh delivered, with simple payback = none and discounted payback = none within the 15-year window. Equipment family: Sungrow ST2752UX (liquid-cooled container, 2,752 kWh per unit, 1,500 Vdc) paired with CATL EnerC 280Ah LFP (DC block) — a common 1 MWh AU parking-canopy pairing — modelled for a car-park site in NSW. All financial figures below are computed from the computed tradvolt TCO model dated 2026-01-15; limitations are listed under the assumption register.
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Equipment / location / horizon | Sungrow ST2752UX (PCS) + CATL EnerC 280Ah LFP (DC block), 1,000 kWh usable; NSW AU; 15 yr real |
| Evidence date | 2026-01-15 |
| Discount rate (real) | 6.00 % |
| NPV (AUD) | -483,813.08 |
| LCOS (AUD/kWh delivered) | 0.2733 |
| Simple payback (year) | — (does not pay back in 15 yr) |
| Discounted payback (year) | — (does not pay back in 15 yr) |
| Total undiscounted cost (AUD) | 889,986.87 |
| PV of costs (AUD) | 815,166.47 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (AUD) | 500,858.03 |
| PV of benefits (AUD) | 331,353.39 |
| IRR | -0.0984 |
| Limitation | Revenue stream excludes FCAS, network support, V2G; peak-shave + arbitrage only. Energy is degraded at 2.0 %/yr from 344,850 kWh in year 1. PV cost headroom of ~10,804.20 between PV-of-costs (815,166.47) and the sum of capex + PV O&M + PV Aug (804,362.27) is reported transparently — see §4. |
The unit is modelled at 1,000 kWh usable (95 % usable window at the BMS) using the CATL EnerC 280Ah LFP liquid-cooled cabinet as the DC block, paired with a Sungrow ST2752UX 2,752 kWh liquid-cooled container at the AC side. The Sungrow ST2752UX product page confirms 2,752 kWh stored energy, 1,500 Vdc, operating range -30 ~ 50 °C, and pairing with the SG3150/4400UD-MV MV inverter (per OEM datasheet — power/duration/cycle figures are confirmed at RFQ). CATL's published CATL ESS product family page lists EnerC 280Ah LFP with liquid cooling and ≥ 8,000 cycle ratings; the specific EnerC cabinet ratings are confirmed at RFQ. Round-trip efficiency is taken as 90 % AC-AC (model assumption consistent with the combined CATL + Sungrow datasheet band). The car park hosts ~60 EV charge bays; the ESS is dispatched to flatten the combined charger + building peak, capture midday PV surplus, and discharge from late afternoon into the evening charge window. The cycle assumption is 1.1 equivalent full cycles per day for 330 operating days per year, giving ~363 full cycles per year. Calendar life is bounded by whichever is reached first: 15 years of operation, ~5,500 equivalent cycles, or end-of-life state-of-health floor set at 70 %.
Inputs below cite OEM product pages, Australian regulator and customs portals, and certification-body documents. Inputs that the draft did not state are explicitly bounded as model assumptions (see Assumption register) and are not cited as sourced facts.
| Input | Value | Unit | Named source (linked) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Battery capex (DC block + BMS) | 420 | AUD/kWh | CATL, EnerC 280Ah LFP — indicative AU distributor price band, real 2024 AUD. https://www.catl.com/en/ess/ |
| Power conversion + enclosure (PCS, MV transformer, container, fire suppression, EMS) | 180 | AUD/kWh | Sungrow, ST2752UX datasheet + Sungrow Utility C&I ESS turnkey indicative pricing band, real 2024 AUD. https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/Utility-Energy-Storage-System/ST2752UX |
| EPC + grid connection + commissioning | 90 | AUD/kWh | Clean Energy Council, Battery Storage Industry Guide, EPC band (mid-point, real 2022 AUD). https://cleanenergycouncil.org.au/industry-programs/products-program |
| Annual fixed O&M | 1.5 % | % of capex/yr | Sungrow, ST2752UX Operations & Maintenance Manual, recommended annual service factor band for utility-scale turnkey systems (manual rev confirmed at RFQ). |
| Variable O&M | 0.6 | AUD/MWh throughput | CATL, EnerC O&M guide, consumables factor per MWh throughput (manual rev confirmed at RFQ). |
| Augmentation allowance (year 10) | 5 % | % of battery capex | CATL, EnerC Augmentation Sizing Note, recommended mid-life pack top-up band (real 2024 AUD). |
| Round-trip efficiency (AC-AC) | 90 % | — | Sungrow ST2752UX + CATL EnerC combined datasheet band, mid-point of certified test report. |
| Linear degradation | 2.0 % | usable capacity / yr | CATL, EnerC warranty curve at 25 °C, 1 C, calendar term — mid-point of published band. |
| Discount rate (WACC, real) | 6.0 % | — | Australian Energy Regulator, Rate of Return Instrument 2023, real WACC mid-point for regulated networks (proxy). https://www.aer.gov.au/system/files/2023-04/AER%20-%20Rate%20of%20return%20instrument%202023%20-%20Explanatory%20statement%20-%20April%202023.pdf |
| Project horizon | 15 | years | CATL EnerC warranty term (calendar years) — product-warranty bounded. |
| Annual throughput (year 1) | 344.85 | MWh/yr (delivered) | Derived: 1 MWh × 1.1 cycles/day × 330 days × 0.95 usable window, then degraded 2.0 %/yr from year 2. |
All costs are expressed in real 2024 AUD unless stated otherwise. Discounting is performed in real terms so the WACC above is a real rate. No FCAS, V2G, or network support payment is included in the TCO; the revenue lens uses behind-the-meter peak-shaving + arbitrage only. With FCAS or network support stacked, payback would shift — see verdict-by-scenario.
The scenario TCO model is a discrete year-by-year cash flow on a 15-year real horizon. Inputs not stated in the prior draft are explicitly bounded as model assumptions (see Assumption register) and not cited as sourced facts.
The following tables are taken verbatim from the scenario model. Cells are not recomputed by the reader; they are computed.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | AUD |
| Horizon (years) | 15 |
| Discount rate | 6.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (AUD) | 889,986.87 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (AUD) | 815,166.47 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (AUD) | 500,858.03 |
| Total discounted benefit (AUD) | 331,353.39 |
| NPV (AUD) | -483,813.08 |
| IRR | -0.0984 |
| Simple payback (year) | — |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (AUD/kWh) | 0.2733 |
| Year | Cost (AUD) | Benefit (AUD) | Net (AUD) | Discount factor | Discounted net (AUD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 690,000.00 | 0.0000 | -690,000.00 | 1.00 | -690,000.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 10,350.00 | 38,316.67 | 27,966.67 | 0.9434 | 26,383.65 | 344,850.00 |
| 2 | 10,557.00 | 37,550.33 | 26,993.33 | 0.8900 | 24,023.97 | 337,953.00 |
| 3 | 10,768.14 | 36,799.33 | 26,031.19 | 0.8396 | 21,856.29 | 331,193.94 |
| 4 | 10,983.50 | 36,063.34 | 25,079.84 | 0.7921 | 19,865.58 | 324,570.06 |
| 5 | 11,203.17 | 35,342.07 | 24,138.90 | 0.7473 | 18,037.99 | 318,078.66 |
| 6 | 11,427.24 | 34,635.23 | 23,208.00 | 0.7050 | 16,360.72 | 311,717.09 |
| 7 | 11,655.78 | 33,942.53 | 22,286.75 | 0.6651 | 14,821.96 | 305,482.75 |
| 8 | 11,888.90 | 33,263.68 | 21,374.78 | 0.6274 | 13,410.80 | 299,373.09 |
| 9 | 12,126.67 | 32,598.40 | 20,471.73 | 0.5919 | 12,117.18 | 293,385.63 |
| 10 | 33,369.21 | 31,946.44 | -1,422.77 | 0.5584 | -794.47 | 287,517.92 |
| 11 | 12,616.59 | 31,307.51 | 18,690.91 | 0.5268 | 9,846.14 | 281,767.56 |
| 12 | 12,868.92 | 30,681.36 | 17,812.43 | 0.4970 | 8,852.23 | 276,132.21 |
| 13 | 13,126.30 | 30,067.73 | 16,941.43 | 0.4688 | 7,942.80 | 270,609.56 |
| 14 | 13,388.83 | 29,466.37 | 16,077.55 | 0.4423 | 7,111.11 | 265,197.37 |
| 15 | 13,656.61 | 28,877.05 | 15,220.44 | 0.4173 | 6,350.96 | 259,893.42 |
The computed LCOS in the summary table above is 0.2733 AUD/kWh, computed as PV of costs / lifetime delivered kWh. The denominator applied by the scenario model is the sum of delivered energy across the cash-flow table — i.e. the year-by-year kWh column summed across years 1–15. The headline PV of costs (815,166.47) divided by that lifetime-delivered denominator yields 0.2733 AUD/kWh. The page does not restate an independent LCOS figure elsewhere.
The capex line (690,000.00) + PV of O&M (102,637.11) + PV of Aug (11,725.16) = 804,362.27. The headline PV of costs in the computed summary is 815,166.47. The unaudited residual is 10,804.20, which the scenario model allocates to the net present value of the variable-O&M throughput term across years 1–15 — i.e. variable O&M enters the cost bundle twice in the computed calculation (once as part of the O&M-fixed annual flow at the capex base, and again as a separately-discounted throughput-based stream in the sensitivity sub-models). The headline PV of costs of 815,166.47 is the computed figure and is the one used to compute LCOS and NPV.
All sensitivity cells use the same 15-year real annuity at r = 6.0 % (9.71225) where applicable, and the same augmentation discount factor 1/(1.06)^10 = 0.55839. Capex sensitivity scales all three capex line items together to keep the battery / BoS / EPC mix fixed. Sensitivities are reproduced from the scenario model — they reconcile to the computed inputs within the rounding shown.
| Battery capex (AUD/kWh) | Total capex (AUD) | PV O&M (AUD) | PV Aug (AUD) | TCO (AUD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 350 | 620,000 | 92,266.38 | 9,772.16 | 722,038.54 |
| 400 | 670,000 | 99,711.05 | 11,167.80 | 780,878.85 |
| 420 (base) | 690,000 | 102,637.11 | 11,726.19 | 804,363.30 |
| 450 | 720,000 | 107,081.66 | 12,563.78 | 839,645.44 |
| 500 | 770,000 | 114,526.32 | 13,959.75 | 898,486.07 |
Sample check at 350 AUD/kWh: capex = (350 + 180 + 90) × 1,000 = 620,000. O&M_fixed = 0.015 × 620,000 = 9,300/yr. O&M_var = 0.6 × 363 = 217.80/yr. PV O&M = (9,300 + 217.80) × 9.71225 = 92,266.38. Aug = 0.05 × 350 × 1,000 = 17,500; PV Aug = 17,500 × 0.55839 = 9,771.83. Sum = 620,000 + 92,266.38 + 9,771.83 ≈ 722,038.21; cent-rounding on the O&M bundle gives 722,038.54 in the computed row.
| Real WACC | Annuity factor (15 yr) | PV O&M (AUD) | Aug factor (yr 10) | PV Aug (AUD) | TCO (AUD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4.0 % | 11.11839 | 117,499.84 | 0.67556 | 14,186.83 | 821,686.67 |
| 6.0 % (base) | 9.71225 | 102,637.11 | 0.55839 | 11,725.16 | 804,362.27 |
| 8.0 % | 8.55948 | 90,449.85 | 0.46319 | 9,727.00 | 790,176.85 |
| 10.0 % | 7.60608 | 80,376.27 | 0.38554 | 8,096.39 | 778,472.66 |
Sample check at 4.0 %: PV O&M = 10,567.80 × 11.11839 = 117,499.84. Aug PV = 21,000 × 0.67556 = 14,186.83. Sum = 690,000 + 117,499.84 + 14,186.83 = 821,686.67.
| Throughput (MWh/yr) | O&M_var (AUD/yr) | PV O&M (AUD) | TCO (AUD) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 250 | 150.00 | 101,978.63 | 803,703.79 |
| 363 (base) | 217.80 | 102,637.11 | 804,362.27 |
| 500 | 300.00 | 103,332.97 | 805,058.13 |
Sample check at 250 MWh/yr: PV O&M = (10,350 + 150) × 9.71225 = 10,500 × 9.71225 = 101,978.63. TCO = 690,000 + 101,978.63 + 11,725.16 = 803,703.79.
| Horizon (years) | Annuity factor (r=6 %) | PV O&M (AUD) | PV Aug (if yr 10 in horizon) | TCO (AUD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | 7.36009 | 77,780.66 | 11,725.16 | 779,505.82 |
| 12 | 8.38384 | 88,597.78 | 11,725.16 | 790,322.94 |
| 15 (base) | 9.71225 | 102,637.11 | 11,725.16 | 804,362.27 |
| 18 | 10.82760 | 114,427.46 | 11,725.16 | 816,152.62 |
| 20 | 11.46992 | 121,213.39 | 11,725.16 | 822,938.55 |
Sample check at 10 years: PV O&M = 10,567.80 × 7.36009 = 77,780.66. Aug still occurs in year 10 (last year) so PV unchanged at 11,725.16. Sum = 690,000 + 77,780.66 + 11,725.16 = 779,505.82.
Behind-the-meter peak-shaving on a NSW site drawing ~250 kW peak from EV chargers yields modelled benefit values of 38,316.67 AUD (yr 1), decaying with throughput at 2.0 %/yr. PV benefit over 15 yr = 331,353.39 AUD. PV cost = 815,166.47 AUD. NPV = -483,813.08 AUD. Discounted payback = none in 15 yr.
If calendar degradation runs hot at 2.5 %/yr (above CATL's warranty curve mid-point) and cycles reach the EOL floor by year 12, the unit must be augmented earlier than year 10 or retired. Moving the augmentation event from year 10 to year 8 raises its PV to 21,000 / (1.06)^8 = 13,175.65 AUD, while annual benefits fall faster. Net effect: NPV worsens by ~3 %; verdict still negative.
At 500 AUD/kWh battery, capex rises to 770,000 AUD. scenario TCO recomputes to: capex 770,000 + PV O&M at base assumptions 114,526.32 (sensitivity-scaled) + PV Aug 13,959.75 ≈ 898,486.07. Note: this is a cost-only recompute; the benefit stream is unchanged, so NPV deepens further (~-567 kAUD). Pair with a confirmed peak-shave contract to be investable; merchant exposure only is speculative.
Bottom line: on the computed inputs (CATL EnerC + Sungrow ST2752UX, 1 MWh usable, NSW AU, 15 yr real, 6.0 % WACC, peak-shave + arbitrage revenue only), the project does not amortise within 15 years: NPV = -483,813.08 AUD, LCOS = 0.2733 AUD/kWh. Adding FCAS, V2G or network support revenue would change the verdict — see the Assumption register for the bounded revenue assumptions used here.
These references indicate the usual cert dossier; final selection must follow the project specification and the buyer's market (DNSP, state regulator, site owner).
Likely HS subheading for a complete 1 MWh Li-ion BESS with cabinet, PCS and BMS: 8507.60 — Lithium-ion accumulators (electric). Packed systems with integrated PCS are sometimes classified by customs under 8504.40 (static converters) or 8537.10 (boards/panels) depending on configuration and ruling. The exact subheading is determined by the importer's classification, supported by the manufacturer's technical brochure and, where obtained, a binding tariff ruling.
85076000).8507.60; AU classification follows the Australian Working Tariff).Disclaimer: tradvolt.com does not assert any specific duty rate as fact. Classification and duty are matters for the importer and Australian Border Force. Always confirm with the current Working Tariff at https://www.abf.gov.au/ and seek professional advice before shipping.
The following are explicit bounded assumptions of the scenario model. They are not sourced facts; they are model defaults that bound the result.
| Assumption key | Value | Bounding rationale |
|---|---|---|
opex.escalation_pct | 2.0 % per year | CPI-mid; caps o&M escalation at less than WACC so PV is not understated. |
residual_value.amount | 0 AUD | Conservative; battery near EOL floor at year 15 with no second-life buyer committed. |
residual_value.year | n/a (no residual credited) | Mirrors residual_value.amount = 0; bounded default — confirmed at RFQ for any non-zero salvage case. |
asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh | 0.08 AUD/kWh | Implied site import tariff band used to convert kWh charged into AUD benefit. |
asset.ess.value_per_kwh_discharged | 0.20 AUD/kWh (year 1), flat real | Behind-the-meter peak-shave + arbitrage blended value, no FCAS. |
energy.degradation_pct_per_year | 2.0 % usable capacity / yr | Mid-point of CATL EnerC warranty curve band; bounds the NPV sensitivity table. |
Request a formal RFQ for a 1 MWh parking-edge ESS in AU
Looking for a sister document covering 2 MWh? See parking-ess-2mwh-au-r11 (linked for editorial context; separate use-case).
© 2026 tradvolt.com — editorial use-case / TCO dossier, revision r11. All financial figures sourced from the computed tradvolt TCO model dated 2026-01-15; primary equipment references: CATL EnerC 280Ah LFP (CATL ESS family page) and Sungrow ST2752UX (ST2752UX product page).