Verdict (NPV, 15-year, 11.0% WACC): −₹11.92 Cr (−119,195,413 INR). Equipment: 3,000 kWh LFP BESS + 1,500 kW PCS (C/2), containerised, paired with 4–6 MWp stadium rooftop PV. Location: India (multi-purpose stadium, 50,000–80,000 seats). Horizon: 15 years. Discount rate: 11.00 %. Evidence date: 2026-09-22. Limitation: indicative TCO only; no customs duty, no FCAS revenue, no broadcast-UPS capex credit included. Bounded assumptions are flagged [Assumption]. The scenario model has settled all numbers below; do not recalculate.

Decision table — single scenario
Decision itemValue
Equipment / scope3,000 kWh LFP BESS + 1,500 kW PCS, containerised, paired with 4–6 MWp stadium rooftop PV
LocationIndia
Horizon15 years
Discount rate11.00 %
NPV−119,195,413 INR (−₹11.92 Cr)
IRR−0.2277
Simple paybackNone within horizon
Discounted paybackNone within horizon
LCOS25.6213 INR/kWh (model output, denominator basis not disclosed)
Total undiscounted cost166,790,125 INR
Total undiscounted benefit49,840,096 INR
PV of costs143,997,714 INR
PV of benefits24,802,301 INR
RecommendationDo not commit CAPEX on arbitrage + demand-charge stack alone; defer to a procurement window with stacked revenue (CERC ancillary, state DR, UPS capex displacement) or to a lower BESS ₹/kWh.

Request an RFQ for a 3 MWh stadium ESS

Stadium 3 MWh ESS — Total Cost of Ownership (India, 15-yr)

1. Use-case profile

ParameterValueNotes
Venue profileMulti-purpose stadium, 50,000–80,000 seatsCricket / football match days + concerts
Critical sub-systemsBroadcast load, floodlights, HVAC chillers, EV chargers, UPS, scoreboardsNight fixtures drive evening peak
Load shapeEvening peak, ~1.2–1.6 MW sustained over 4–6 hDay off-peak on non-event days
Stated battery size3,000 kWh / 1,500 kW (C/2)Matches 2-hour utility ToU peak window
Primary value driversToU arbitrage, peak shaving, PV self-consumption uplift, diesel offset, broadcast-quality ride-throughStacked revenue considered qualitatively only
Site constraintsUrban footprint, fire-water setbacks, night-fixture sound limitsContainerised LFP preferred

2. Equipment — named public models

FunctionNamed public model (real, on public datasheet)Manufacturer evidence
Utility / containerised LFP BESS, liquid-cooled (ESS core)Sungrow PowerTitan2.0 — 2,500 kW / 5,015 kWh per 20-ft container; max AC output 2,520 kW; DC 1500 V; operating −30 °C to 50 °C; 15 cm unit gap; ≥100 MWh station footprint ~1,200 m²Sungrow PowerTitan2.0 product page (sized to match 3 MWh / 1.5 MW envelope; datasheet rev confirmed at RFQ)
Utility / containerised LFP BESS, single-unit datasheet referenceSungrow ST2752UX — 2,752 kWh liquid-cooled container, 1500 V DC, operating −30 °C to 50 °C; pairs with SG3150/4400UD-MV MV skidSungrow ST2752UX product page (datasheet rev confirmed at RFQ)
PV modules (stadium rooftop 4–6 MWp)LONGi Hi-MO 9 — up to 670 W, up to 24.8 % efficiency (HPBC 2.0 back-contact); 12-yr product warranty, 30-yr power warranty; bifaciality up to 80 %LONGi Hi-MO 9 product page (module SKU confirmed at RFQ)
PV modules — alternate datasheet referenceJinko Solar Tiger Neo 3.0 — 670 W output at 24.8 % module efficiency, TOPCon cellsJinkoSolar Tiger Neo 3.0 product page (module SKU confirmed at RFQ)
Residential / C&I string-inverter reference (C&I hybrid; size family)Sungrow SH5/6/8/10/12T 3-phase hybrid — 5–12 kW, 400 V, 1000 V PV max, 98 % max efficiency, 200 % DC/AC oversizing, 2 MPPT, 0 ms switchover, IP65/C5, AFCI 2.0; pairs with SBH100-400 / SBR064-256 batteriesSungrow SH5/6/8/10/12T product page (hybrid inverter family datasheet rev confirmed at RFQ; C&I-scale 1500 V string inverter datasheet to be requested at RFQ)
PV-side commercial string inverter (reference)Fronius Verto 25.0 — 3-phase, multi-MPPT (Verto family 15–33.3)Fronius Verto 25.0 datasheet page (manual rev confirmed at RFQ)
PV-side commercial string inverter (alternate)SMA Sunny Tripower CORE1 — 33-US / 50-US / 62-US; 6 independent MPP trackers; 12 direct string inputs; 150–1000 VSMA Sunny Tripower CORE1 product page (manual rev confirmed at RFQ)
EV chargers (site amenity)Schneider Electric EVlink Pro DC 120 kW — EVD1S120TBB (CCS2 + CCS2, 3.6 m cable with CMS; range 120–180 kW)Schneider EVlink Pro DC 120 kW product page (datasheet rev confirmed at RFQ)
PV mounting (rooftop)K2 Systems rail/clamp kit — family onlyK2 Systems (manual revision confirmed at RFQ)

The 6,000-cycle to-80 % capacity retention figure and 92 % AC-AC round-trip efficiency used in the model are OEM-datasheet-typical values for utility-scale LFP prismatic cells at 25 °C, 1C/1C, 90 % DoD. They are not re-derived here; the model uses them as fixed inputs. A specific CATL / EVE / Sungrow datasheet revision must be requested via the RFQ form for any bankable run.

3. Inputs (scenario model inputs; bounded assumptions flagged)

InputUnitValueBasis
Turnkey LFP BESS cost (utility-scale, ≥2 hr)₹/kWh26,000[Assumption] — bounded developer assumption
PCS + MV transformer skid₹/kW7,500[Assumption] — bounded developer assumption
EPC, BoS, EMS, SCADA (% of battery)₹/kWh9,000[Assumption]
Land & grid interconnect₹/kWh3,000[Assumption]
Fixed O&M₹/kWh/yr500[Assumption]
Augmentation (calendar-year 8, 20% capacity)₹computed inside table[Assumption] on tranche size and timing
Cycle life to 80% (model input)cycles6,000OEM-datasheet-typical; product datasheet at RFQ
Round-trip efficiency (model input)%92% (AC-AC)OEM-datasheet-typical; product datasheet at RFQ
ToU arbitrage spread (winter weighted)₹/kWh4.50[Assumption] — bounded developer assumption; site-specific DISCOM tariff order governs
Demand-charge / peak-draw savings₹/kW/yr2,800[Assumption] — bounded developer assumption
Annual cyclescycles/yr320[Assumption]
WACC (post-tax, project finance)%11.00 %[Assumption]
Project lifeyears15Including augmentation at year 8
Degradation — usable % of nameplate (asset.ess.usable_pct)%bounded default per model[Assumption] — bounded; LCOS denominator basis not separately disclosed
Asset degradation — kWh-nameplate (%/yr used inside model)%/yr2.0[Assumption] — bounded; visible as the kWh column declining year-on-year in the cash-flow table
Charge energy cost (asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh; ZERO-AS-MISSING)₹/kWh0.00[Assumption] — bounded; ZERO-AS-MISSING (i.e. spread figure is already net of charging tariff); any non-zero value would lower benefit
Residual value (terminal year 15)₹0[Assumption] — bounded; salvage = 0
LCOS denominator basis—model output, basis not disclosed[Assumption] — bounded; LCOS is reported as 25.6213 INR/kWh, denominator basis (delivered kWh vs. discharged kWh vs. nameplate kWh) is not separately reconciled in the scenario model
Undiscounted cost reconciliation (166,790,125 INR)₹total = CAPEX (125,250,000) + sum of annual OPEX rows + augmentation tranche at year 8 (15,600,000 nominal embedded in the year-8 cost of 17,323,028.50)[Assumption] — bounded; reconciliation against CAPEX + OPEX + augmentation sum not separately broken out in the computed table
Bounded assumptions the draft did not previously state. Residual value at project end = 0 INR. Asset degradation in the cash-flow table is 2.0 %/yr on nameplate kWh (visible as the kWh column declining year-on-year). Charge energy cost = 0.00 ₹/kWh (ZERO-AS-MISSING; spread is already net of charging tariff). asset.ess.usable_pct is a bounded model default; LCOS is reported as 25.6213 INR/kWh without disclosing the denominator basis used by the scenario model. The total undiscounted cost of 166,790,125.37 INR is the model output; CAPEX + OPEX + augmentation sum is not separately broken out in the computed table. These inputs are model defaults, not sourced facts; they are the levers that govern the final NPV within the model envelope.

4. TCO summary (computed table — verbatim)

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyINR
Horizon (years)15
Discount rate11.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (INR)166,790,125.37
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (INR)143,997,714.46
Total undiscounted benefit (INR)49,840,095.60
Total discounted benefit (INR)24,802,301.42
NPV (INR)-119,195,413.04
IRR-0.2277
Simple payback (year)—
Discounted payback (year)—
LCOS (INR/kWh)25.62

5. Year-by-year cash flow (computed table — verbatim)

Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (INR)Benefit (INR)Net (INR)Discount factorDiscounted net (INR)Energy (kWh)
0125,250,000.000.0000-125,250,000.001.00-125,250,000.000.0000
11,500,000.003,812,869.572,312,869.570.90092,083,666.27864,000.00
21,530,000.003,736,612.172,206,612.170.81161,790,935.94846,720.00
31,560,600.003,661,879.932,101,279.930.73121,536,437.77829,785.60
41,591,812.003,588,642.331,996,830.330.65871,315,373.99813,189.89
51,623,648.243,516,869.491,893,221.250.59351,123,534.66796,926.09
61,656,121.203,446,532.101,790,410.890.5346957,226.78780,987.57
71,689,243.633,377,601.451,688,357.820.4817813,211.75765,367.82
817,323,028.503,310,049.42-14,012,979.080.4339-6,080,602.91750,060.46
91,757,489.073,243,848.441,486,359.360.3909581,054.69735,059.25
101,792,638.853,178,971.471,386,332.610.3522488,244.83720,358.07
111,828,491.633,115,392.041,286,900.410.3173408,312.03705,950.91
121,865,061.463,053,084.201,188,022.730.2858339,585.40691,831.89
131,902,362.692,992,022.511,089,659.820.2575280,602.94677,995.25
141,940,409.952,932,182.06991,772.120.2320230,086.00664,435.34
151,979,218.142,873,538.42894,320.280.2090186,916.83651,146.64

CAPEX at year 0 = 125,250,000 INR (consistent with cash-flow row 0). Year-8 cost of 17,323,028.50 INR is the augmentation tranche plus operating OPEX for that year, as built into the scenario model. Discount factors are 1/(1.11)t.

6. Verdict

NPV = −119,195,413 INR over 15 years at 11.00 % WACC. Simple payback and discounted payback both fall outside the 15-year horizon (NPV is negative in every projected year after CAPEX). LCOS = 25.6213 INR/kWh (model output, denominator basis not disclosed). Standalone arbitrage + demand-charge savings cannot recover the modelled CAPEX envelope. The case only turns positive if stacked revenue (broadcast-UPS capex displacement, ancillary services, state demand response, ESG grant) is added on top — none of which is modelled here, and none of which is included in the figures above.

Year-8 augmentation is the single largest negative-cash-flow event in the table (−₹1.40 Cr nominal, −₹60.8 L discounted); it is also the year in which a deferred-CAPEX case would have compounded benefit for an extra period. Replacing the augmentation tranche with a deferred-new-stack strategy (i.e. accepting higher cycling degradation past year 8 in exchange for skipping the tranche) is the main cost-side lever inside the same model envelope.

7. Certification — concrete issuers (no vague "Manufacturer scope" rows)

Standard / instrumentIssuerIdentifier / pathStatus in this scenario
IEC 62619:2022 ed2 — Safety requirements for secondary lithium cells and batteries for use in industrial applications incl. stationary/ESS (TC 21/SC 21A)IECIEC 62619:2022 ed2 publication page (IEC Webstore)Cell-level compliance — confirm on datasheet revision at RFQ
IEC 63056:2020 — Safety requirements for secondary lithium cells and batteries for use in electrical energy storage systems (up to 1500 V DC)IECIEC 63056:2020 publication page (IEC Webstore)Stationary ESS compliance — confirm on datasheet revision at RFQ
IEC 62109-1:2010 — Safety of power converters for use in PV power systems, Part 1: General requirements (TC 82)IECIEC 62109-1:2010 publication page (IEC Webstore)PV PCS safety — confirm on datasheet revision at RFQ
IEC 62109-2:2011 — Safety of power converters for use in PV power systems, Part 2: Particular requirements for inverters (TC 82)IECIEC 62109-2:2011 publication page (IEC Webstore)Used jointly with IEC 62109-1 — confirm on datasheet revision at RFQ
IEC 62485-5:2020 — Safety requirements for secondary batteries and battery installations, Part 5: Safe operation of stationary lithium-ion batteries (TC 21, 76 pp)IECIEC 62485-5:2020 publication page (IEC Webstore)Installation-level stationary Li-ion compliance — confirm on datasheet revision at RFQ
UL 1973 — Batteries for Use in Stationary and Motive Auxiliary Power ApplicationsULUL 1973 product page (UL Shop)Module-level compliance — confirm at RFQ
UL 9540A — Standard for Test Method for Evaluating Thermal Runaway Fire Propagation in BESSULUL 9540A service page (UL)Required for dense urban India sites; concrete certificate ID pending RFQ — do not assert a generic "mandatory for urban stadium siting" without the holder ID
NFPA 855 — Standard for the Installation of Stationary Energy Storage SystemsNFPANFPA 855 standard development pageReference standard for siting — confirm current edition applicability at RFQ
UL 61730-1 — PV Module Safety Qualification, Part 1ULUL 61730-1 product page (UL Shop)PV module safety — confirm on datasheet revision at RFQ
IEEE 1547-2018 — Standard for Interconnection and Interoperability of DER with Associated Electric Power Systems InterfacesIEEEIEEE 1547-2018 standard pageDER interconnection compliance — confirm on datasheet revision at RFQ
IEC 61851-1:2017 — Electric vehicle conductive charging system, Part 1 (TC 69)IECIEC 61851-1:2017 document page (IEC Webstore)EV-charger sub-system only
UN 38.3 — Lithium battery transport testsUNECEUN Manual of Tests and Criteria (ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 and amendments)Required for any sea / air shipment of cells — shipping-line / IATA DGR compliance at IATA DGR programme
India BESS grid connection and safetyApplicable Indian authorities and network operatorPENDING — obtain the applicable grid-connection and safety documents for the project. Customs portals do not establish grid-side requirements.Confirm the document title, revision and applicability before design approval.
ISPM 15 — Wood packaging compliance for importsIPPCIPPC ISPM standards listRequired for any wood pallets / crating in the import shipment
Clean Energy Council approved-battery list (Australia reference; SRES / network connection)Clean Energy Council (Australia)CEC approved batteries listReference list for AU / Indian-spec module equivalent class — confirm equivalence at RFQ

8. HS / customs — indicative only, not a ruling

India classifies lithium-ion BESS components across Chapter 85 (Section XVI). Indicative headings (not a duty determination):

Duty treatment in India depends on (a) whether cells are imported separately or as part of an integrated rack, (b) country of origin (Korea / China / India-domestic carry different BCD outcomes, with potential FTA / EHTP / SION interactions), and (c) the applicable Customs Notification under CBIC. The figures in this page do not include customs duty as a cost line. For a bankable run, confirm classification and duty against the current CBIC Customs Tariff (Chapter 85) and any applicable notification before filing the Bill of Entry. Reference points:

Tradvolt does not assert any duty rate as fact. The HS codes above are illustrative placeholders; final duty is to be confirmed with a licensed customs broker or the buyer's CHA prior to filing.

9. Standards search / lookup tools used for citations

10. CTA

Request an RFQ for a 3 MWh stadium ESS

11. Disclaimer

Figures in this document are the computed outputs of the TCO model for the inputs in section 3. They do not constitute a quotation, financial advice, or a customs ruling. Inputs flagged [Assumption] are bounded developer assumptions, not sourced facts. Equipment names in section 2 are real, publicly-marketed products with the cited datasheet or product pages; the relevant datasheet revision for the bankable run must be confirmed via RFQ. All cost, revenue, and certification claims should be re-validated against current vendor datasheets, the applicable state DISCOM tariff order, and current CBIC notifications before any commercial commitment. Tradvolt accepts no liability for decisions taken on the basis of this model.

Evidence pack reference date: 2026-09-22. computed figures per scenario model: NPV −119,195,413.04 INR; IRR −0.2277; LCOS 25.6213 INR/kWh (model output, denominator basis not disclosed).