Audience: B2B procurement and engineering teams evaluating a battery energy storage system (BESS) for a Latin American stadium venue. Equipment: Huawei LUNA2000-2.0MWH-1H1 smart string ESS (LFP cells) paired with Sungrow ST3440KTL-HV PCS. Location: Latin America (Brazil tariff baseline). Horizon: 10 years. Discount rate: 12.00%. Evidence date: 2026-09-22. Limitation: model uses bounded assumptions for opex escalation, residual value, usable energy, degradation, charge cost, and discharge value (see §3); real tariff capture must be confirmed with the local utility.
Verdict: At the modeled tariff band and capex stack, the project is not viable — NPV = -USD 909,042, simple payback and discounted payback both undetermined, LCOS = 0.3187 USD/kWh over a 10-year horizon; do not proceed without restructuring the demand-charge capture assumption.
| Metric | Value | Decision cue |
|---|---|---|
| NPV @ 12% / 10 yr | -909,042 USD | Negative — reject at base |
| Simple payback | — | Not reached within horizon |
| Discounted payback | — | Not reached within horizon |
| IRR | -9.35 % | Negative — does not cover WACC |
| LCOS | 0.3187 USD/kWh | Above typical LATAM C&I avoided-cost band |
| PV of costs | 1,527,932 USD | — |
| PV of benefits (modelled) | 618,890 USD | Modelled benefits do not cover costs |
Request Quote — Stadium ESS LATAM
The modelled installation is a 3.0 MWh / 3.0 MW commercial BESS serving a stadium venue in Latin America, comprising two Huawei LUNA2000-2.0MWH-1H1 string-ESS units (each 2 MWh nameplate, LFP cells) AC-coupled to two Sungrow ST3440KTL-HV 3440 kW PCS units. Value streams considered:
| Item | Model | OEM | Cell chemistry | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Battery cabinet | LUNA2000-2.0MWH-1H1 (×2) | Huawei Digital Power | LFP | Huawei LUNA2000-215 Series product page (LUNA2000 utility string-ESS family; LUNA2000-2.0MWH-1H1 datasheet confirmed at RFQ) |
| PCS | ST3440KTL-HV (×2) | Sungrow Power Supply | n/a | Sungrow string-inverter product range (high-voltage 1500 V DC class incl. ST3440KTL-HV; exact datasheet PDF confirmed at RFQ) |
| PV modules (optional co-located) | Hi-MO 5m LR5-72HTH 540-560 W | LONGi Green Energy | Monocrystalline PERC (bifacial) | LONGi Hi-MO 5m module family |
All three product families are publicly marketed. Specific sub-variant SKU, firmware revision, and OEM manual revision must be confirmed at RFQ stage before any limits (DC voltage window, max continuous current, SOC operating window, torque values) are used for engineering.
Each row carries a numbered source. Inputs the draft did not state are flagged as bounded modelling assumptions.
| # | Parameter | Value | Unit | Source / Assumption | URL |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Site | Latin America (Brazil tariff baseline) | — | TradVolt modelling convention | — |
| 2 | Equipment — battery | Huawei LUNA2000-2.0MWH-1H1 × 2 | — | Huawei LUNA2000-215 Series product page (LUNA2000 utility string-ESS family) | https://solar.huawei.com/en/products/LUNA2000-215-Series/ |
| 3 | Equipment — PCS | Sungrow ST3440KTL-HV × 2 | — | Sungrow string-inverter product range (high-voltage 1500 V DC class incl. ST3440KTL-HV) | https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter |
| 4 | Cell chemistry | LFP | — | Huawei LUNA2000-215 Series product specification (LFP cells) | https://solar.huawei.com/en/products/LUNA2000-215-Series/ |
| 5 | Battery cost (LFP pack-level, volume) | 115 | USD/kWh | BloombergNEF, Battery Price Survey 2024 (LFP pack-level volume benchmark) | BloombergNEF blog: "Lithium-Ion Battery Pack Prices See Largest Drop Since 2017, Falling to $118 per Kilowatt-Hour" (Battery Price Survey 2024 anchor) |
| 6 | PCS cost | 140 | USD/kW | BloombergNEF, Battery Price Survey 2024 (PCS module cost band) | BloombergNEF Battery Price Survey 2024 anchor |
| 7 | BoS + EPC, utility-scale BESS benchmark | 180 | USD/kWh | IRENA, Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023 (BESS BoS + EPC band) | IRENA publication page: "Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023" |
| 8 | Grid interconnection + protection studies | 80,000 | USD flat | ANEEL PRODIST typical study band, 2024 (Modules 1–10) | ANEEL PRODIST modules index |
| 9 | Demand-charge offset (B3 "horário de ponta", Enel SP) | 9.00 | USD/kW-month | Enel Distribuição São Paulo tariff schedule, 2024 (B3 / horário de ponta demand band) | Enel SP tariffs page |
| 10 | TOU arbitrage spread (peak − off-peak) | 0.07 | USD/kWh | Enel Chile / CGE regulated tariff schedules, Q4 2024 average | CGE Chile tarifas page |
| 11 | Round-trip efficiency | 88 | % | Modelling assumption; consistent with LFP utility BESS OEM datasheet family | Assumption (bounded) |
| 12 | Equivalent full cycles per year | 330 | cycles/yr | Modelling assumption (event-day cycles + daily peak-shave + 2 arbitrage cycles/day) | Assumption (bounded) |
| 13 | Project horizon | 10 | years | TradVolt modelling convention; matches typical warranty horizon | — |
| 14 | Discount rate (WACC proxy) | 12.00 | % | LATAM corporate WACC central estimate | Assumption (bounded) |
| 15 | Opex escalation rate | 2.0 | %/yr | Model assumption (bounded) — not stated in source draft; bounded 0–5% | Assumption |
| 16 | Residual value (amount) | 0 | USD | Model assumption (bounded) — conservative; bounded 0–capex × 10% | Assumption |
| 17 | Residual value (recognition year) | 10 | year | Model assumption (bounded) | Assumption |
| 18 | ESS usable energy (DoD-window) | 92 | % of nameplate | Model assumption (bounded); consistent with Huawei LUNA2000 operating SOC window per OEM family spec | Assumption + Huawei LUNA2000-215 Series product page |
| 19 | Annual degradation | 2.0 | %/yr of nameplate | Model assumption (bounded); consistent with LFP cycle-life envelope at 330 EFC/yr | Assumption |
| 20 | Augmentation capex (year 8) | 12 | % of battery capex | BloombergNEF, Battery Price Survey 2024 (cycle-life reserve) | BloombergNEF Battery Price Survey 2024 anchor |
| 21 | ESS charge cost per kWh (energy charged) | 0.045 | USD/kWh | Model assumption (bounded); reflects off-peak wholesale band of Brazilian regulated market | Assumption (bounded) |
| 22 | ESS value per kWh discharged (avoided cost) | 0.115 | USD/kWh | Model assumption (bounded); reflects peak / demand-weighted avoided-cost band at the modeled venue | Assumption (bounded) |
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | USD |
| Horizon (years) | 10 |
| Discount rate | 12.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (USD) | 1,653,880.45 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD) | 1,527,932.30 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (USD) | 1,075,392.38 |
| Total discounted benefit (USD) | 618,890.19 |
| NPV (USD) | -909,042.12 |
| IRR | -0.0935 |
| Simple payback (year) | — |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (USD/kWh) | 0.3187 |
LCOS basis: total discounted cost (USD 1,527,932.30) divided by the sum of annual discounted energy throughputs (kWh) across the 10-year horizon — discounted lifetime throughput. The COMPUTED TABLE figure of 0.3187 USD/kWh is computed.
| Year | Cost (USD) | Benefit (USD) | Net (USD) | Discount factor | Discounted net (USD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 1,385,000.00 | 0.0000 | -1,385,000.00 | 1.00 | -1,385,000.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 20,775.00 | 117,576.00 | 96,801.00 | 0.8929 | 86,429.46 | 910,800.00 |
| 2 | 21,190.50 | 115,224.48 | 94,033.98 | 0.7972 | 74,963.31 | 892,584.00 |
| 3 | 21,614.31 | 112,919.99 | 91,305.68 | 0.7118 | 64,989.58 | 874,732.32 |
| 4 | 22,046.60 | 110,661.59 | 88,614.99 | 0.6355 | 56,316.43 | 857,237.67 |
| 5 | 22,487.53 | 108,448.36 | 85,960.83 | 0.5674 | 48,776.48 | 840,092.92 |
| 6 | 22,937.28 | 106,279.39 | 83,342.11 | 0.5066 | 42,223.71 | 823,291.06 |
| 7 | 23,396.02 | 104,153.80 | 80,757.78 | 0.4523 | 36,530.72 | 806,825.24 |
| 8 | 65,263.94 | 102,070.73 | 36,806.78 | 0.4039 | 14,865.64 | 790,688.74 |
| 9 | 24,341.22 | 100,029.31 | 75,688.09 | 0.3606 | 27,293.88 | 774,874.96 |
| 10 | 24,828.05 | 98,028.73 | 73,200.68 | 0.3220 | 23,568.66 | 759,377.46 |
The cumulative discounted net never crosses zero across the 10-year horizon, so simple payback and discounted payback are undetermined; IRR is reported as -9.35%, well below the 12% WACC proxy. The modelled benefit stream reflects a tariff band where the demand-charge capture available to a stadium venue, plus the modelled TOU arbitrage spread of USD 0.07/kWh, does not offset capex plus 10 years of opex plus the year-8 augmentation reserve. Year 8 cost spikes to USD 65,263.94 because of the augmentation reserve recognised in that period.
Likely HS classification (verify with customs broker and advance ruling):
Lookup tools (use the importer's destination schedule): WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition — WCO HS 2022 page; EU TARIC — EU TARIC consultation; USITC HTS — USITC HTS search; UK Global Tariff — UK Global Tariff lookup; Japan Customs tariff schedule — Japan Customs tariff schedule (English); Australia ABF — ABF homepage; SARS — SARS homepage; GRA Ghana — GRA homepage; URA Uganda — URA homepage; Turkey Ministry of Trade — ggm.ticaret.gov.tr.
Disclaimer: TradVolt does not assert any duty rate as fact. Duty rates, exemptions (e.g., temporary admission for capital goods in some LATAM jurisdictions), and incentive stacking (e.g., ICMS reductions on storage in select Brazilian states) must be confirmed by the importer's customs broker and tax counsel against the latest published tariff schedule before shipping.
To request a binding quote based on the modelled scope (Huawei LUNA2000-2.0MWH-1H1 × 2 + Sungrow ST3440KTL-HV × 2, Latin America, 10-year horizon):
Request Quote — Stadium ESS LATAM
This document is a working TCO model for procurement screening. All financial figures in §4–§5 are reproduced verbatim from the computed TradVolt TCO model run for this scenario; do not derive new figures from the prose. Site-specific load profiles, tariff schedules, fire-code interpretations, OEM manual revisions, and EPC competitive pricing must be validated before any purchase order.