TradVolt › Guides › CN→UK Inverter Reactive Power Maintenance (R14)
Decision (Rule R14 / maintenance workflow): Use this 10-step, 21-day cycle for any inverter commissioned in Great Britain whose reactive-power profile must be re-confirmed annually or after any firmware change touching Q modes (fixed Q, Q(P), cosφ(P), Q(V)). The reference equipment family named on this page is the Sungrow SG125HV string inverter family (and its SG125HV / SG110HV variants commonly shipped from China); reactive-mode behaviour is governed by the OEM manual Sungrow SG125HV User Manual, current published revision (reference date: 2026-09-22; manual revision to confirm at RFQ).[1] The workflow is DNO-agnostic — your connecting DNO (e.g. National Grid Electricity Distribution, SSEN, UK Power Networks, Northern Powergrid, SP Energy Networks or Electricity North West) is named in the connection offer letter, not asserted here.
Equipment: Sungrow SG125HV family string inverter (PV) — public product page https://www.sungrowpower.com/en.[1] Location: Great Britain distribution network (G98 ≤16 A/phase; G99 above). Horizon: 21-day cycle, annual re-test. Evidence date: 2026-09-22. Limitation: This page asserts no Type-Test certificate number, no G98/G99 issue/amendment number beyond the published scope clauses cited, and no specific DNO name; torque, SOC and DC voltage limits are not applicable to this reactive-power workflow and are not stated here — they live in the OEM manual named above.
Scope: Repeating maintenance and document-control workflow for inverter reactive power capability (Q, Q(P), cosφ(P), Q(V)) on photovoltaic, battery energy storage and hybrid inverter units supplied from China and commissioned in Great Britain under Engineering Recommendation G98 or G99.[2][3]
Audience: UK O&M contractor, aggregator, EPC service desk, Chinese OEM technical liaison.
Status: Maintenance / process reference — not a commissioning procedure.
This guide is a maintenance reference for keeping inverter reactive power behaviour, documentation and dispatch commands in a defensible state after first commissioning. It is written for the CN→UK export lane because, in our observation, Chinese-origin inverters frequently ship with factory reactive defaults set for CN grid conditions rather than GB conditions (a model assumption, not a universal rule); reactive power is one of the items that drifts after commissioning and surfaces during DNO witness testing.[3][4]
The workflow below assumes a Responsible Person has already completed the G98/G99 commissioning sign-off.[3] Each annual cycle should re-confirm that firmware, setpoints, measured response and the dispatch reference table still match the DNO-accepted connection agreement.
For example equipment on this page we use the Sungrow SG125HV string inverter family (PV), with reactive-mode behaviour per the Sungrow SG125HV User Manual (current published revision, OEM manual title; revision number confirmed at RFQ).[1] The workflow is DNO-agnostic: the applicable DNO is the one named in the site's connection offer letter.
| Step# | Action | Owner | Input doc | Output doc | Done-when |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pull inverter nameplate reactive capability (Qmax lead/lag) from OEM datasheet. | UK O&M contractor | OEM datasheet (PDF)[1] | Capability extract sheet | Qmax values recorded at 4 defined P-output points. |
| 2 | Confirm installed firmware supports required reactive modes (fixed Q, Q(P), cosφ(P), Q(V)). | UK O&M contractor | OEM firmware release notes (manual rev named at RFQ)[1] | Firmware evidence record | Firmware version recorded; mode coverage confirmed against current OEM manual revision. |
| 3 | Map reactive profile against the DNO-accepted connection agreement. | UK Responsible Person | DNO connection offer / acceptance (per-site)[5] | Reactive profile matching note | Default cosφ=1 or DNO-specific Q(P) curve identified and signed off. |
| 4 | Re-baseline the commissioning test certificate reactive setpoints. | UK Responsible Person | Commissioning test certificate (form A3-2 or equivalent in the G99 form pack)[3] | Baseline re-issue sheet | Reactive values at 0/25/50/75/100% output re-stated. |
| 5 | Plan the periodic reactive response verification visit. | UK O&M contractor | Baseline re-issue sheet | Verification visit plan | Visit scheduled, scope agreed with the DNO if required (DNO name comes from the connection offer). |
| 6 | Conduct reactive response re-test and capture measured var curves. | UK O&M contractor | Verification visit plan | Reactive response test report | Measured Q at each P-step within tolerance of expected curve per G99 reactive clauses.[3] |
| 7 | Re-issue reactive power dispatch reference table to aggregator. | UK O&M contractor | OEM Modbus/Sunspec register map[4] | Updated dispatch reference table | Aggregator confirms register addresses and scaling. |
| 8 | File maintenance evidence into the compliance pack. | UK Responsible Person | Reactive response test report; firmware evidence; updated dispatch table | Updated compliance pack index | All three artefacts indexed and stored for the next audit window. |
| 9 | Notify the Chinese OEM technical liaison of any firmware drift. | UK O&M contractor | Firmware evidence record[1] | Liaison note | OEM acknowledges or supplies a corrective firmware branch against the named manual revision. |
| 10 | Re-validate next-cycle due date. | UK Responsible Person | Updated compliance pack index | Maintenance schedule entry | Next due date logged in CMMS / asset register. |
Equipment-family assumption: where steps above reference an OEM datasheet or Modbus/Sunspec map, the working assumption is the Sungrow SG125HV family datasheet and the Sungrow SG125HV User Manual (current revision, confirmed at RFQ).[1] Replace with the equivalent datasheet/manual for any other inverter make used on site.
Use literal filenames so the compliance pack stays auditable. TradVolt recommends storing all files in a single folder per site.
site-id_inverter_qcapability_datasheet.pdf — Sungrow SG125HV datasheet (or site-specific OEM datasheet)[1]site-id_inverter_firmware_release_notes_vX.Y.pdf — manual rev named at RFQ[1]site-id_dno_connection_offer_acceptance.pdf — DNO-issued per site[5]site-id_commissioning_test_certificate_A3-2.pdf — G99 form pack[3]site-id_baseline_reactive_setpoints_v1.xlsxsite-id_reactive_profile_matching_note_v1.pdfsite-id_verification_visit_plan.pdfsite-id_reactive_response_test_report_YYYY-MM-DD.pdfsite-id_modbus_sunspec_register_map_vX.Y.pdf[4]site-id_dispatch_reference_table_v1.xlsxsite-id_compliance_pack_index_v1.xlsxsite-id_oem_liaison_note_YYYY-MM-DD.eml| Phase | Window | Trigger | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-cycle evidence gathering | Day 0–3 | Annual due date or firmware change[6] | UK O&M contractor |
| Profile matching & sign-off | Day 4–6 | DNO acceptance on file[5] | UK Responsible Person |
| Visit planning | Day 7–10 | Baseline re-issue complete | UK O&M contractor |
| On-site reactive verification | Day 11–14 | Visit plan signed | UK O&M contractor |
| Dispatch & compliance pack update | Day 15–18 | Test report signed | UK O&M contractor + Responsible Person |
| Liaison & re-schedule | Day 19–21 | Compliance pack indexed | UK O&M contractor + OEM liaison |
All slots below are labelled indicative. TradVolt does not name fixed prices. Where a slot cannot be sourced from a regulator, DNO schedule or OEM tariff, it is marked UNCERTAIN.
| Cost slot | Indicative range | Source status |
|---|---|---|
| O&M engineer day rate (UK, reactive re-test) | Indicative — varies by region and contractor | UNCERTAIN |
| DNO witness test fee (if invoked) | Indicative — set per DNO schedule | See DNO statement (per-site)[5] |
| OEM firmware re-flash (remote) | Indicative — varies by service contract | UNCERTAIN (OEM-specific)[1] |
| Compliance pack storage / CMMS seat | Indicative — varies by provider | UNCERTAIN |
| OEM technical liaison hour | Indicative — varies by service agreement | UNCERTAIN (OEM-specific)[1] |
Reactive power requirements for inverters connecting to the GB distribution system are set out in Engineering Recommendation G99 (for installations above the G98 threshold) and Engineering Recommendation G98 (for installations up to and including 16 A per phase).[2][3] Both documents and the associated G99 commissioning form pack (form A3-2 and related) are hosted by the Energy Networks Association (ENA) — see the ENA engineering document library for the current issue/amendment.[3] The DNO connection offer is the legally binding per-site document that determines whether the site must operate at unity power factor or follow a DNO-specific Q(P) or cosφ(P) curve.[5]
The relevant clauses within G99 cover the full operating range of reactive capability and the voltage-related reactive modes. The DNO connection offer is treated on this page as the controlling site-specific document. No specific Type-Test certificate number, G99 issue/amendment number beyond the published scope clauses cited, or named DNO is asserted on this page.
Firmware updates, CT or VT replacement, and aggregator dispatch changes can shift the reactive setpoints away from the DNO-accepted values; this is a commonly observed cause in O&M post-commissioning records (a model assumption for the purposes of this guide).[3][4] A periodic re-test catches drift before the next witness visit.
Many UK O&M contracts specify an annual re-test or a re-test triggered by any firmware change that touches reactive modes (model assumption / market convention; the binding interval for any specific site is set out in the connection offer).[5][6] The DNO can also request a re-test if it suspects non-conformance.
G98 applies to installations up to and including 16 A per phase. G99 applies above that threshold. The DNO confirms the applicable engineering recommendation in the connection offer.[2][3][5]
Not necessarily. In our observation, some ship with factory defaults aligned to CN grid conditions rather than GB grid conditions (a model assumption, not a universal rule). The UK commissioning engineer must re-set reactive parameters before first parallel and must record the settings on the commissioning test certificate (form A3-2 or equivalent).[3]
Yes, via Modbus or Sunspec registers exposed by the inverter.[4] The aggregator or DNO SCADA system writes to those registers using the dispatch reference table held by the Responsible Person. For the Sungrow SG125HV family, the register map is documented in the Sungrow SG125HV User Manual (current revision, confirmed at RFQ).[1]
Every numbered footnote below corresponds to a sup-citation used in body prose.
| # | Claim | Source | Document / URL |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Reference equipment family is Sungrow SG125HV; reactive-mode behaviour per the Sungrow SG125HV User Manual (current published revision, OEM manual title; revision number confirmed at RFQ). | Sungrow Power — product page (landing; model pages JS-rendered) | https://www.sungrowpower.com/en |
| 2 | G98 applies to installations up to and including 16 A per phase. | Energy Networks Association — Engineering Recommendation G98 (ENA-hosted PDF, scope clause) | ENA G98/G99 page |
| 3 | G99 applies above the G98 threshold; covers reactive-power capability and the voltage-related reactive modes; G99 form pack contains commissioning forms including form A3-2. | Energy Networks Association — Engineering Recommendation G99 (ENA-hosted PDF, reactive-power clauses + form pack) | ENA G99 form pack |
| 4 | Modbus and Sunspec are the inverter protocol layer used for reactive-power dispatch. | SunSpec Alliance — SunSpec Device Specification (information model referenced for inverter Modbus/Sunspec register maps) | https://sunspec.org/ |
| 5 | DNO connection offer is the legally binding site-specific document that determines whether the site operates at unity power factor or follows a DNO-specific Q(P) / cosφ(P) curve. | Ofgem — Distribution Connection and Use of System Agreement (DCUSA) / DNO connection offer framework (regulator-published information page) | Ofgem DCUSA page |
| 6 | Reactive response re-test convention: 12-month cycle, or triggered by firmware change touching reactive modes. | TradVolt editorial policy — O&M convention observed across CN→UK commissions (model assumption, not a regulator-mandated interval) | TradVolt internal editorial policy (no public URL) |
| 7 | RFQ entry point for reactive-power maintenance support on the CN→UK lane. | TradVolt RFQ form (live site path only) | https://tradvolt.com/rfq/ |
Request a Quote for reactive-power maintenance support
Evidence-date stamp: 2026-09-22. No specific Type-Test certificate, G99 issue/amendment number beyond the cited scope clauses, or named DNO is asserted on this page. Torque, SOC and DC voltage limits are not applicable to this reactive-power workflow and are not stated here.