Verdict (EV-vs-ICE fleet case, 120 kW CCS2 DC EVSE, CN → Iceland, 5-year horizon, 8% discount rate, evidence date 2026-09-21): NPV 142,617 USD; simple payback 1.10 yr; discounted payback 1.21 yr; TCO/km EV 0.107 USD/km vs ICE 0.416 USD/km — savings 0.3086 USD/km (617,300 USD over 5 yr). The decision is throughput-driven: at the modelled utilisation the project clears CapEx in ~13 months. Limitation: figures come from our scenario TCO model with explicit bounded defaults for inputs the draft did not state (residual value, fleet km/yr, kWh/km, diesel L/km, electricity USD/kWh, maintenance USD/km, ICE CapEx). Replace with vendor and DSO-confirmed numbers at RFQ.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | USD |
| Horizon (years) | 5 |
| Discount rate | 8.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (USD) | 79,679.39 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD) | 74,586.49 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (USD) | 272,000.00 |
| Total discounted benefit (USD) | 217,203.43 |
| NPV (USD) | 142,616.93 |
| IRR | 0.8650 |
| Simple payback (year) | 1.10 |
| Discounted payback (year) | 1.21 |
| TCO per km — EV (USD/km) | 0.1074 |
| TCO per km — ICE (USD/km) | 0.4160 |
| Savings per km (USD/km) | 0.3086 |
| Savings over horizon (USD) | 617,300.00 |
All values in this table are computed outputs of our scenario TCO model and must not be re-derived on this page. The per-km figures rest on the explicit fleet defaults listed in §3.
Single 120 kW CCS2 DC dispenser installed at a roadside truck-stop on Iceland's Ring Road (Route 1) corridor or at a regional logistics hub, serving medium-duty delivery vans, light commercial trucks and (in time) long-haul BEV trucks. Scope covers unit procurement (EXW Ningbo), sea-freight to a North-Atlantic port, customs clearance into Iceland, site civils, DSO grid connection, commissioning, and a 5-year operating horizon against a counterfactual ICE-fleet baseline.
Scope does not include battery-storage buffers, canopy construction, or payment-terminal integration unless specifically added at RFQ stage.
| Line | Description | Basis | Indicative (USD) | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C-1 | 120 kW DC dispenser (OEM unit, EXW Ningbo) | OEM tier-1 reference band for 60–180 kW CCS2 liquid-cooled units (e.g. Starcharge Titan 120, Sungrow IDC120E) | 22,000 – 32,000 | Public datasheets: starcharge.com/products; en.sungrowpower.com/ev-charger (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| C-2 | Power cabinet / rectifier skid (if separate) | OEM-scope assumption to be confirmed | Included in C-1 (typical) | OEM datasheet scope (same URLs as C-1) |
| C-3 | Sea-freight (20 ft FCL, CN → Bremerhaven/Rotterdam → Reykjavík) | Industry North-Atlantic container band | 1,800 – 3,200 | Drewry World Container Index — North Atlantic FBX01 lane: drewry.co.uk/supply-chain-advisors/world-container-index (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| C-4 | Marine insurance (~0.3–0.5% of CIF) | Standard cargo policy | 90 – 160 | Lloyd's Marine Cargo Clause (A), 0.3–0.5% of CIF: lma.org.uk/articles/marine-cargo-clauses (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| C-5 | Import customs duty | HS national line — verify at RFQ | PENDING — lookup | Tollstjori tariff lookup (HS 8504): tollstjori.is/customs/tariff (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| C-6 | VAT / import VAT (24% general rate) | Iceland general rate | 24% of (CIF + duty) | Skatturinn VAT rates page: skatturinn.is/fyrirtaekjum/vsk (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| C-7 | Customs broker, ISC / port handling, THC, ISPM 15 pallet (if any) | Per-event charges | 350 – 700 | Reykjavík port THC schedule: reykjavik.is/thaettir/hafnareglur-og-gjaldskra (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| C-8 | Inland transport Reykjavík port → site | ≤ 100 km assumed | 300 – 800 | Model assumption (bounded default; replace with haulier quote at RFQ) |
| C-9 | Site civils (concrete pad, cable trench, bollards, signage) | Truck-stop geometry | 4,000 – 9,000 | Model assumption (bounded default; replace with civils quote at RFQ) |
| C-10 | MV/LV transformer, switchgear, smart-meter (DSO scope) | DSO quote — site-dependent | 6,000 – 18,000 | DSO (HS Veitur) connection terms: hsveitur.is (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| C-11 | Installation, commissioning, on-site acceptance test | OEM + local electrician | 3,000 – 6,000 | Model assumption (bounded default; replace with OEM commissioning quote at RFQ) |
| C-12 | Network / OCPP back-office onboarding (year 1) | If applicable | 500 – 1,500 | OCPP 2.0.1 specification: openchargealliance.org/protocols/ocpp-201 (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| CapEx range (excluding duties & VAT) | ~38,000 – 71,000 USD | Sum of C-1, C-3, C-4, C-7, C-8, C-9, C-10, C-11, C-12 | ||
Ranges reflect 2026-09-21 indicative pricing and routing; duty and VAT rows must be confirmed against Tollstjori and Skatturinn at RFQ.
| Line | Description | Basis | Indicative / yr (USD) | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| O-1 | Network / OCPP platform fee | Per-dispenser annual SaaS | 400 – 1,200 | OCPP SaaS provider reference pricing (e.g. evbox.com); accessed 2026-09-21 |
| O-2 | Connectivity (SIM / fibre) | Always-on for OCPP & payments | 150 – 400 | Model assumption (bounded default) |
| O-3 | Preventive maintenance (annual service, filter checks, firmware) | OEM SLA — verify at RFQ | 800 – 2,000 | Model assumption (bounded default; replace with OEM SLA at RFQ) |
| O-4 | Spare-parts reserve (5% of unit FOB) | Rule-of-thumb | 1,100 – 1,600 | Model assumption (5% of C-1 mid-point) |
| O-5 | DSO demand charge / capacity tariff pass-through | Iceland DSO tariff — verify at RFQ | Variable | DSO (HS Veitur / Rarik / Norðurorka) tariff sheets: hsveitur.is; rarik.is; nordurorka.is (accessed 2026-09-21) |
| O-6 | Energy pass-through (electricity purchased at site meter) | Flows as revenue offset, not P&L cost | n/a (revenue line) | Model treatment (energy is benefit line, not OpEx) |
| O-7 | Insurance (asset + liability) | Site policy | 300 – 700 | Model assumption (bounded default) |
| O-8 | Roadside / canopy lighting & snow-load winter ops | Iceland-specific | 300 – 900 | Model assumption (bounded default) |
| OpEx range (excl. energy) | ~3,050 – 6,800 USD/yr | Sum of O-1, O-2, O-3, O-4, O-7, O-8 (O-5 demand charge excluded — site-dependent) | ||
The scenario TCO model uses an aggregate 5-year OpEx of 24,000 USD (≈ 4,800 USD/yr at mid-point) consistent with line O-1 + O-2 + O-3 + O-4 + O-7 + O-8 mid-points and 2% annual escalation embedded in the year-by-year cash flow (§4).
| Year | Cost (USD) | Benefit (USD) | Net (USD) | Discount factor | Discounted net (USD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 54,700.00 | 0.0000 | -54,700.00 | 1.00 | -54,700.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 4,800.00 | 54,400.00 | 49,600.00 | 0.9259 | 45,925.93 | 0.0000 |
| 2 | 4,896.00 | 54,400.00 | 49,504.00 | 0.8573 | 42,441.70 | 0.0000 |
| 3 | 4,993.92 | 54,400.00 | 49,406.08 | 0.7938 | 39,220.14 | 0.0000 |
| 4 | 5,093.80 | 54,400.00 | 49,306.20 | 0.7350 | 36,241.53 | 0.0000 |
| 5 | 5,195.67 | 54,400.00 | 49,204.33 | 0.6806 | 33,487.64 | 0.0000 |
Energy column is shown as 0.0000 kWh because the scenario model records benefit as a USD benefit line (EV-vs-ICE savings per km × fleet km/yr) rather than as a kWh throughput line on this scenario; the per-kWh retail figure of 0.45 USD/kWh is a bounded input default (§3) and is not used as the throughput driver here.
No certification numbers, logos or "No.1" claims are made on this page. Final certification scope, certificate IDs and issuing bodies are confirmed per shipment in the RFQ response.
| HS national line | Program | As-of | SoT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Likely heading 8504 (static converters) — 8–10 digit ISK national line to be confirmed | MFN duty rate; any EEA / FTA preferential treatment to be confirmed | 2026-09-21 | PENDING — lookup |
| VAT national line (goods import) | 24% general rate (Skatturinn VAT rates) | 2026-09-21 | Confirmed |
Official portals: Tollstjori tariff lookup for HS code and duty; Skatturinn VAT for rates. The 8–10 digit HS national line is not hardcoded on this page and must be confirmed at RFQ by the importer of record.
Real 120 kW CCS2 DC fast-charger product families with public datasheets or product pages used to size the indicative CapEx band (C-1):
Product names listed for sizing reference only; final SKU, OEM manual title and revision are agreed per shipment at RFQ. No OEM has been computed, certified, or contracted on this page.
Fields below are submitted to the Tradvolt sourcing desk. Replies in 48 hours during business days.
Per the scenario TCO model on this page, the 5-year PV of costs is 74,586.49 USD, with a simple payback of 1.10 years on the EV-vs-ICE fleet case. Indicative CapEx (excluding duties and VAT) sits between roughly USD 38,000 and USD 71,000 per dispenser, with a mid-point near USD 55,000. Duty and VAT lines must be confirmed at RFQ against Tollstjori and Skatturinn.
Charging stations normally classify under HS heading 8504 (electrical transformers, static converters and inductors). The 8–10 digit national line and any preferential treatment must be confirmed against Tollstjori by the importer before clearance.
Yes, in practice. Iceland applies the EEA-harmonised CE framework (Regulation (EC) 765/2008), so compliance with IEC 61851-1 and IEC 61851-23 and applicable EMC standards is normally expected, alongside national electrical-safety oversight by Mannvirkjastofnun. Final scope is agreed per project at RFQ.
The scenario model shows a simple payback of 1.10 years and a discounted payback of 1.21 years on the EV-vs-ICE fleet case, with NPV of 142,617 USD over 5 years at an 8% discount rate. TCO per km is 0.107 USD/km (EV) vs 0.416 USD/km (ICE), giving savings of 0.3086 USD/km. Because Iceland's grid is already low-carbon, payback is throughput-driven, not carbon-driven.
Yes. Tradvolt arranges FOB / CFR / CIF routing via North-Atlantic container services (Drewry World Container Index lane FBX01), typically via Bremerhaven or Rotterdam transhipment, with onward delivery by road. Final inland leg, DSO interface and commissioning window are confirmed per RFQ.
No. All TCO, NPV, IRR and payback figures come from a bounded scenario computed by our scenario model, with explicit defaults for inputs the draft did not state (residual value, fleet km/yr, kWh/km, diesel L/km, electricity USD/kWh, maintenance USD/km, ICE CapEx). They frame the discussion and must be replaced with RFQ-confirmed figures and a site-specific DSO quote before any investment decision.