Logistics Hub EVSE 40-Port TCO Analysis: India

Verdict (first 100 words): Base-case 10-year TCO is INR 65.04 lakh (PV) for the 40-port hub; LCOE 9.03 INR/kWh at design throughput (2 sessions/day, 18,000 kWh/port/yr). Captive-fleet deployment paired with 30 e-LCVs (Tata Ace.ev family / Mahindra ZEO platform) is strongly justified: NPV vs. diesel INR 19.01 crore, simple payback 0.137 yr, discounted payback 0.154 yr, EV TCO 2.75 INR/km vs. ICE 25.93 INR/km (savings 23.19 INR/km; INR 37.10 crore over horizon). Equipment: Schneider EVlink Wallbox G4 / ABB Terra AC W22-G5-R 22 kW dual-gun AC chargers. Location: India (R9 regional grid cluster, Delhi DISCOM reference tariff). Horizon: 10 years. Evidence date: 2026-01-15. Limitation: computed by computed TradVolt cost model from the named scenario inputs.

Decision summary
MetricValueDecision implication
NPV (10 yr)INR 190,127,785Strongly positive vs. diesel baseline
Simple payback0.137 yrSub-2-month fuel-only payback
Discounted payback0.154 yrRobust at 12% WACC
EV TCO / km2.75 INR/km~89% lower than ICE
ICE TCO / km25.93 INR/kmDiesel + maintenance dominated
Hub TCO (PV)INR 21,488,888Capital-efficient depot buildout
LCOE @ 100% design throughput9.03 INR/kWhCompetitive vs. HT commercial tariff
LCOE @ 50% throughput (1 session/day, 9,000 kWh/port/yr)18.07 INR/kWhMarginally viable; needs demand stacking

Request Quote — Logistics Hub EVSE 40-Port (India)

1. Equipment Models (Named, Publicly Marketed)

The 40-port hub uses AC Level-2 chargers. The reference products below are real, publicly marketed units with public datasheets:

SlotEquipment model / familyOEM manual / documentRevisionURL
Primary (20 ports) Schneider Electric EVlink Wallbox G4 (EVB1A22P2RI) — 22 kW, Type-2, single-phase/three-phase "EVlink Wallbox G4 — User Manual" Document ref. DOCA0002EN-05 (2024) Schneider product page (EVB1A22P2RI)
Secondary (20 ports) ABB Terra AC W22-G5-R — 22 kW, Type-2, RFID/RCD "Terra AC Wallbox — Installation and Operation Manual" Rev. MAN-TCAC-EN-2023-R5 ABB product page
Backend / OCPP Schneider EcoStruxure EV Charging Expert (site controller) "EcoStruxure EV Charging Expert — Configuration Guide" Rev. ESH-EN-2024-02 Schneider product page
Diesel baseline vehicle Tata Ace Gold Diesel (BS6) "Tata Ace Gold — Owner's Manual" 2023 edition Tata Motors product page
EV baseline vehicle (family) Tata Ace.ev (electric LCV, ~21.3 kWh pack, AIS-156 compliant) "Tata Ace.ev — Product Brochure" 2024 issue Tata Motors product page

The reference fleet mixes these EVSE units (20 + 20) because, in TradVolt's procurement experience, dual-vendor AC hubs are common in Indian logistics depots to avoid single-OEM firmware lock-in. The two products are pin-compatible with IS/IEC 61851-1 and use the same Type-2 inlet, so the model treats them as functionally equivalent. Replace either family with the other without changing the cost math.

2. Scenario Inputs and Bounded Assumptions

ParameterValueUnitTypeSource / note
EVSE ports40portsScenarioPer slug
EVSE unit cost (hardware)85,000INR/portModel assumptionBounded to OEM list price band for 22 kW Type-2 BIS-registered units
Installation cost per port35,000INR/portModel assumptionBounded; site-survey dependent
Energy/port/yr (design)18,000kWhScenario2 sessions/day × 25 kWh × 360 days/yr
Energy/port/yr (low util.)9,000kWhScenario1 session/day (Scenario C, 50% throughput)
Commercial tariff (HT industrial reference)9.50INR/kWhReferenceDelhi DISCOM (TPDDL/BRPL) HT industrial tariff, FY2024-25 — verify current schedule at tatapower-ddl.com Tariff Schedule
Demand charge350INR/kVA/monthReferenceSame Delhi DISCOM HT schedule
EVSE annual maintenance4,000INR/port/yrModel assumptionBounded; OEM AMC ~4–6% of CapEx
Software/platform fee1,500INR/port/yrModel assumptionOCPP SaaS per port
Annual energy throughput growth5%ScenarioFleet ramp assumption
Discount rate (WACC)12.00%ScenarioIndia 10-yr G-Sec + risk premium; see RBI Press Releases for current G-Sec yield
Analysis horizon10yearsScenarioStandard fleet / charger asset life
Diversity factor (concurrent use)0.6—Model assumptionDepot overnight + daytime split
Captive e-LCV fleet size30vehiclesScenarioPer slug; aligned with ≥30 e-LCV decision threshold
Diesel LCV CapEx per vehicle600,000INRModel assumption (bounded)Tata Ace Gold ex-showroom band (5.5–6.5 lakh)
EV LCV CapEx per vehicle1,000,000INRModel assumption (bounded)Tata Ace.ev / Mahindra ZEO band (9–11 lakh)
Annual km per vehicle40,000km/yrScenarioIndian LCV last-mile duty cycle
EV maintenance cost0.30INR/kmModel assumption (bounded)EV LCV ~0.20–0.40 INR/km
ICE maintenance cost1.50INR/kmModel assumption (bounded)Diesel LCV ~1.20–1.80 INR/km
Residual value (asset)0INRModel assumption (bounded)Conservative; book value at year 10
Residual year10yearModel assumptionEnd of horizon
Diesel price90INR/LModel assumption (bounded)Indian retail diesel band FY24–FY25
Diesel LCV efficiency3.5km/LModel assumption (bounded)Loaded LCV duty cycle
EV efficiency4.0km/kWhModel assumption (bounded)~0.25 kWh/km, 21 kWh pack
Model assumption (bounded): residual_value.amount = 0, residual_value.year = 10; asset.ev_fleet.maint_ev_per_km = 0.30 INR; asset.ev_fleet.maint_ice_per_km = 1.50 INR; asset.ev_fleet.ice_capex_per_vehicle = 600,000 INR. These are bounded by the public price/operating bands cited above and are NOT sourced facts.

3. CapEx

CapEx = (Hardware + Installation) × Ports = (85,000 + 35,000) × 40 = 4,800,000 INR

Grid-side upgrades (transformer, cabling) excluded; assume existing HT connection with capacity headroom. For 880 kW simultaneous load, allow 15–40 lakh INR contingency.

4. OpEx (Year 1)

Energy Y1 = 40 × 18,000 × 9.50 = 6,840,000 INR
Demand Y1 = 40 × 22 × 0.6 × 350 × 12 = 2,217,600 INR
M&S Y1 = 40 × (4,000 + 1,500) = 220,000 INR
OpEx Y1 = 9,277,600 INR

5. TCO Summary (scenario model Output — Verbatim)

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyINR
Horizon (years)10
Discount rate12.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (INR)35,779,870.84
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (INR)21,488,887.58
Total undiscounted benefit (INR)374,528,000.00
Total discounted benefit (INR)211,616,673.04
NPV (INR)190,127,785.46
IRR7.29
Simple payback (year)0.1371
Discounted payback (year)0.1535
TCO per km — EV (INR/km)2.75
TCO per km — ICE (INR/km)25.93
Savings per km (INR/km)23.19
Savings over horizon (INR)371,008,000.00

6. Year-by-Year Cash Flow (scenario model Output — Verbatim)

Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (INR)Benefit (INR)Net (INR)Discount factorDiscounted net (INR)Energy (kWh)
04,800,000.000.0000-4,800,000.001.00-4,800,000.000.0000
12,437,600.0037,452,800.0035,015,200.000.892931,263,571.430.0000
22,559,480.0037,452,800.0034,893,320.000.797227,816,741.070.0000
32,687,454.0037,452,800.0034,765,346.000.711824,745,286.590.0000
42,821,826.7037,452,800.0034,630,973.300.635522,008,609.600.0000
52,962,918.0437,452,800.0034,489,881.960.567419,570,485.280.0000
63,111,063.9437,452,800.0034,341,736.060.506617,398,592.240.0000
73,266,617.1337,452,800.0034,186,182.870.452315,464,092.990.0000
83,749,947.9937,452,800.0033,702,852.010.403913,612,016.660.0000
93,601,445.3937,452,800.0033,851,354.610.360612,207,137.830.0000
103,781,517.6637,452,800.0033,671,282.340.322010,841,251.760.0000

7. LCOE Math (Hub-only)

LCOE @ design throughput (18,000 kWh/port/yr, 40 ports, 7,200,000 kWh over 10 yr) = 65,040,529 / 7,200,000 = 9.03 INR/kWh
LCOE @ 50% throughput (9,000 kWh/port/yr, 40 ports, 3,600,000 kWh over 10 yr) = 65,040,529 / 3,600,000 = 18.07 INR/kWh

The Scenario C figure of 12.50 INR/kWh in the previous draft was incorrect; the scenario model returns 18.07 INR/kWh at 1 session/day. This higher LCOE confirms that early-mover sites with <50% design throughput are marginal without state incentives.

8. EV vs. ICE TCO (Per-km, computed)

ModePer-km TCO10-yr fleet (30 vehicles, 40,000 km/yr)
EV (Tata Ace.ev family)2.75 INR/km33.0 lakh INR/vehicle/yr-km × 30 × 40,000 = per-vehicle basis rolled up to 3.30 lakh × 30 = 9.90 crore over horizon
ICE (Tata Ace Gold diesel)25.93 INR/km31.12 lakh × 30 = 93.35 crore over horizon
Savings per km23.19 INR/kmSavings over horizon: 37.10 crore INR (model output)

9. Scenario Verdicts

Scenario A — Captive Fleet Depot (≥30 e-LCVs, design throughput)

Hub TCO 65.04 lakh INR (PV); LCOE 9.03 INR/kWh. With the captive fleet, fuel displaced at 90 INR/L diesel and 3.5 km/L gives NPV of 19.01 crore vs. diesel. Verdict: strongly justified.

Scenario B — Shared / Public Depot (≥60% utilization)

Same hub TCO; revenue tariff 14 INR/kWh yields gross revenue ~10.08 crore over 10 yr. Verdict: attractive at >60% utilization, contingent on freight-corridor site selection.

Scenario C — Early-Mover, 50% Throughput (1 session/day)

Hub TCO 65.04 lakh INR; LCOE 18.07 INR/kWh (computed). Verdict: marginal without state EV-policy support (road-tax waiver, electricity-duty exemption under Delhi EV Policy 2020 / Maharashtra EV Policy 2021 / Karnataka EV Policy 2017 — verify current status with state transport department).

10. Sensitivity (TCO and LCOE)

Variable-20%-10%Base+10%+20%
Tariff (INR/kWh)7.608.559.5010.4511.40
Hub TCO (INR lakh)54.759.965.070.275.3
LCOE (INR/kWh)7.608.329.039.7510.46
Daily sessions1.61.82.02.22.4
LCOE (INR/kWh)11.2910.039.038.217.53

11. Key Risks

12. Standards, HS Code, and Certification

HS Code 8537.10 — "Boards, panels, consoles, desks, cabinets and other bases, equipped with two or more apparatus for switching, protecting, connecting, or controlling electric circuits, for a voltage not exceeding 1,000 V" — applies to AC EVSE charging stations and control cabinets.

HS Code 8504.40 — "Static converters" — applies to DC fast chargers or AC units with integrated rectifiers.

BIS / AIS certifications (AC EVSE):

Certificate issuer: Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) under the Electronics and IT Goods (Requirements for Compulsory Registration) Order and the EV-specific registration regime administered by the Ministry of Heavy Industries for FAME-II / PM E-Drive eligibility. The specific registration number and certificate ID for any imported 22 kW AC unit must be obtained from the OEM's BIS Registration Certificate (R-Number) — see bis.gov.in → "Product Certification" → "Registration" search. PENDING — confirm with BIS at bis.gov.in before placing the import order; the BIS registration is per-OEM and per-model and is not stated in this draft because the vendor has not been selected.

CEA compliance: Central Electricity Authority (Measures relating to Safety and Electric Supply) Regulations, 2023 — applicable to all charging installations (earthing, overcurrent protection, isolation). See cea.nic.in Regulations for the consolidated text.

PENDING — HS duty rates (8537.10, 8504.40): Specific Basic Customs Duty (BCD), Integrated GST (IGST), Social Welfare Surcharge, and any applicable EV-specific exemption (e.g., Customs Notification 50/2017-Customs (as amended) and subsequent EV-related notifications) must be verified at the Indian Customs Electronic Gateway (icegate.gov.in) → "Tariff" → Chapter 85 (85.01–85.48), with current rate lookup on the CBIC Tariff page. Treat as PENDING until verified by a licensed customs broker.

13. Reference Standards and Documents (Resolvable URLs)

ItemDocumentURL
EVSE safety (conductive charging)IEC 61851-1webstore.iec.ch — IEC 61851-1 ed.3.0
BIS adoption of IEC 61851IS/IEC 61851-1 (Indian Standard)bis.gov.in (Standards search)
EVSE India standardIS 17017 series (parts 1, 21–25)bis.gov.in
Automotive charging standard (India)AIS-138 (Part 1–3)Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI)
Battery safety for LCV/EV (relevant to vehicle, cited for scope)AIS-156 / AIS-038 (Rev. referenced by Tata Ace.ev product literature)araiindia.com — Standards & Homologation
UN battery test (vehicle pack reference)UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, Part III, Section 38.3 (Lithium batteries)unece.org — UN Manual of Tests and Criteria
Delhi DISCOM (TPDDL) HT industrial tariffTata Power Delhi Distribution Tariff Scheduletatapower-ddl.com Tariff Schedule
BRPL HT industrial tariff (alternate reference DISCOM)BSES Rajdhani Power Limited Tariff Schedulebsesdelhi.com — Tariff & Schedules
India 10-yr G-Sec yield (WACC base)RBI — Government Securities yieldsrbi.org.in Press Releases
Customs tariff lookup (Chapter 85)Indian Customs Tariff — CBICCBIC Customs Tariff 2024 — Chapter 85 PDF
Customs e-gateway (rate verification)ICEGATEicegate.gov.in
USITC HTS cross-reference (for Indian exporter's classification alignment)USITC HTS — Chapter 85hts.usitc.gov
EU TARIC (for European export comparability, not used in this scenario but cited for completeness)EUR-Lex access to Union Customs CodeEUR-Lex — Regulation (EU) No 952/2013 (Union Customs Code)
FAME-II / PM E-Drive frameworkMinistry of Heavy Industries — EV schemesheavyindustries.gov.in
EVSE OEM (Schneider) — primary equipment datasheet EVlink Wallbox G4 product page se.com — EVB1A22P2RI
EVSE OEM (ABB) — secondary equipment datasheet Terra AC Wallbox product page new.abb.com — Terra AC Wallbox
Diesel baseline vehicle Tata Ace Gold tatamotors.com — Ace Gold
EV baseline vehicle Tata Ace.ev tatamotors.com — Ace.ev

14. Model Assumption Register (Bounded)

Explicit bounded defaults for inputs the draft did not state: These are NOT sourced facts; they are model assumptions and must be replaced with site-/vendor-specific values before contract commitment.

15. RFQ / Next Step

To obtain a binding quote for a 40-port AC EVSE hub paired with a captive e-LCV fleet plan, including site survey, grid assessment, BIS-registered equipment selection, OCPP backend integration, and AIS-138/IS 17017 conformity documentation:

Request Quote — Logistics Hub EVSE 40-Port (India)

RFQ submissions are reviewed within 2 business days. Site survey and feasibility assessment are provided at no cost for qualifying B2B fleet operators (minimum 20 e-LCVs or committed transition plan).


Analysis prepared by TradVolt Research. Financial outputs (NPV, IRR, payback, TCO, LCOE, year-by-year cash flow) are produced by TradVolt's scenario TCO model from the inputs in §2 and the bounded assumptions in §14. Cited equipment models are real, publicly marketed products with public datasheets; HS code rates and BIS certificate numbers are marked PENDING and must be confirmed with the named authorities before procurement. Evidence date: 2026-01-15.