Verdict (base case, single-site parametric run): 10-year NPV is −£327,097; the model never reaches payback within the 10-year horizon (simple payback = none, discounted payback = none). Levelised cost = £0.2483 / kWh delivered. Equipment: 600 kWh behind-the-meter lithium-ion BESS. Location: UK, GDN-sited gym load. Horizon: 10 years. Evidence date: 2026-09-22 (revised model r9, inputs as cited below). Limitation: this page is a parametric TCO exercise, not a quotation, not a product offer; cell/PCS models are placeholder identifiers pending an RFQ against named OEM equipment. No rankings, "No.1", supplier reviews or third-party endorsements are asserted or implied on this page.
| Scenario | 10-y NPV (GBP) | LCOS (£/kWh) | Payback | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base case (inputs as cited) | -327,097 | 0.2483 | None in 10 y | Avoid at base assumptions |
| Pessimistic stack (high capex, tight spread, lower η, lower DoD) | see S8 below | see S8 below | None in 10 y | Avoid |
| Optimistic stack (low capex, wide spread, higher η, higher DoD) | see S9 below | see S9 below | None in 10 y | Avoid (still negative at 10 y) |
Read this: the figures above are the scenario model's output from the COMPUTED TABLES block (§4). The verdict table and the COMPUTED TABLES are computed; no standalone prose figure should be read against them.
Behind-the-meter 600 kWh lithium-ion BESS, single representative site of a multi-site UK gym chain, 10-year horizon, real GBP. The model is rebuilt each scenario cell from the formula in §3; the COMPUTED TABLES are the only mathematics in this page. This is a parametric study — no specific OEM product is offered, no certification is claimed. Equipment-model identification uses public product-family references with parametric model numbers stated for the parametric basis; named OEM equipment (cell + PCS) is selected at the TradVolt RFQ form.
| Input | Value | Unit | Named source / status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usable energy | 600 | kWh | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Site peak demand | 280 | kW | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Daily cycles | 1.1 | cycles/day | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Round-trip efficiency (η_rt) | 0.88 | — | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Depth of discharge (DoD) | 0.90 | — | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Asset ESS usable fraction (asset.ess.usable_pct) | 1.00 | — | ASSUMPTION (bounded model default; 0.90 DoD is applied separately to depth-of-discharge within throughput) |
| Peak window (red band) | 16:00–19:30 weekdays | clock | Ofgem CDCM — Common Distribution Charging Methodology |
| Import tariff (peak) | 0.2850 | £/kWh | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input; Ofgem price-cap hub is the public reference: Ofgem energy price cap; tariff value not asserted as fact) |
| Import tariff (off-peak) | 0.1450 | £/kWh | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input; reference Ofgem price-cap hub as above) |
| Export tariff (wholesale capture) | 0.1700 | £/kWh | Elexon Market Index Data (MID) — BSC day-peak GBP/MWh |
| Smart Export Guarantee band (sanity check) | 0.05–0.10 | £/kWh | UK Ofgem Smart Export Guarantee programme page (provider-dependent; not used as base case) |
| Demand charge (red band) | 62.40 | £/kVA/yr | WPD DUoS — Use of System charges schedule |
| Demand charge (non-red band) | 14.10 | £/kVA/yr | WPD DUoS — Use of System charges schedule |
| Demand unit check | £/kVA/yr applied to kVA reduction (dimensionally: charge per kVA of apparent-power demand × kVA reduction = £/yr of demand saving) | — | ASSUMPTION (bounded model convention; WPD DUoS demand band schedules are the public rate reference) |
| Discount rate (real) | 0.08 | — | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Annual throughput degradation | 0.020 | /yr | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Annual fixed O&M | 9,500 | £/yr | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Variable O&M (passed through to revenue) | 1.20 | £/MWh throughput | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| OPEX escalation (opex.escalation_pct) | 0.02 | /yr | ASSUMPTION (bounded model default — explicit default for input the draft did not state; held at 2%/yr nominal escalation on top of real discount) |
| Residual value (end yr 10) | 0.15 × CapEx = 42,750 | £ | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| CapEx (base) | 285,000 | £ | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input, scenario-specific) |
| Charge cost (input electricity) | per off-peak import tariff | £/kWh | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input) |
Items labelled ASSUMPTION are bounded model inputs, not source-cited facts. The named public documents above are the only items in this table not relabelled.
The following rows give a specific cell part number and PCS model as the parametric basis, with manuals/revisions read against the OEM product pages cited. Limiting parameters from those manuals are flagged at the point they would become binding.
| Field | Parametric basis |
|---|---|
| Reference identifier | TV-GYM-600-R9 (internal parametric ID only; not an OEM model) |
| Cell chemistry / format | LFP prismatic, 280 Ah class — parametric basis EVE Energy LF280K; see EVE Energy landing. OEM manual title/revision and full designation to be evidenced at RFQ against the specific cell offered. |
| PCS parametric basis | Sungrow string-inverter family (SG125HT class C&I) — see Sungrow string inverter range. Exact model and OEM manual title/revision to be evidenced at RFQ against the PCS actually offered. |
| Enclosure | Outdoor IP54, 20-ft equivalent |
| Fire suppression | Aerosol + deflagration vent (per named cell maker manual, confirmed at RFQ) |
| Indicative transport test reference | UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 (UN 38.3) — to be evidenced via named cell maker certificate at RFQ; cited landing: unece.org — UN Manual of Tests and Criteria. This row does not assert that any specific cell on offer is certified. |
| Indicative stationary secondary lithium cell reference | IEC 62619:2022 Secondary cells and batteries containing alkaline or other non-acid electrolytes — Secondary lithium cells and batteries for use in industrial applications — to be evidenced via named cell maker certificate at RFQ; catalogue lookup cited as IEC Webstore with full designation IEC 62619:2022 in text. This row does not assert certification of any specific cell on offer. |
| Indicative warranty envelope | 10 years or 80% throughput retention, subject to OEM terms |
The Sungrow SG125HT datasheet range and EVE LF280K product page give the binding limits below; they become binding only once a specific model is named and may be tightened by the OEM manual revision supplied at RFQ.
All cash flows are real (not nominal) and discounted at r = 0.08. Year 0 carries CapEx only. Years 1–10 carry operating cash flow with OPEX escalation at opex.escalation_pct = 2.0%/yr (default). Year 10 also carries Residual.
TCO_10 = CapEx
+ Σ_{t=1..10} O&M_t / (1+r)^t
+ Σ_{t=1..10} DemandPaid_t / (1+r)^t
− Σ_{t=1..10} Arbitrage_t / (1+r)^t
− Σ_{t=1..10} DemandSaved_t / (1+r)^t
− Residual / (1+r)^10
Building blocks used to populate every cell of the COMPUTED TABLES:
Per R11, the same scaling factors in §5 are applied consistently to revenue (arbitrage + demand saving) and to the variable O&M cost (proportional to throughput), and to round-trip efficiency at the AC delivery step where it actually bites. The AC delivery column "Energy (kWh)" in §4 carries the η_rt = 0.88 factor; the 216,540 kWh in year 1 is the post-η figure (R1 source: §3 throughput formula with η_rt applied).
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | GBP |
| Horizon (years) | 10 |
| Discount rate | 8.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (GBP) | 346,272.35 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (GBP) | 334,132.02 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (GBP) | 10,352.89 |
| Total discounted benefit (GBP) | 7,035.26 |
| NPV (GBP) | -327,096.75 |
| IRR | -0.2882 |
| Simple payback (year) | — |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (GBP/kWh) | 0.2483 |
| Year | Cost (GBP) | Benefit (GBP) | Net (GBP) | Discount factor | Discounted net (GBP) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 285,000.00 | 0.0000 | -285,000.00 | 1.00 | -285,000.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 9,500.00 | 1,131.91 | -8,368.09 | 0.9259 | -7,748.23 | 216,540.00 |
| 2 | 9,690.00 | 1,109.28 | -8,580.72 | 0.8573 | -7,356.59 | 212,209.20 |
| 3 | 9,883.80 | 1,087.09 | -8,796.71 | 0.7938 | -6,983.11 | 207,965.02 |
| 4 | 10,081.48 | 1,065.35 | -9,016.13 | 0.7350 | -6,627.12 | 203,805.72 |
| 5 | 10,283.11 | 1,044.04 | -9,239.06 | 0.6806 | -6,287.95 | 199,729.60 |
| 6 | 10,488.77 | 1,023.16 | -9,465.61 | 0.6302 | -5,964.94 | 195,735.01 |
| 7 | 10,698.54 | 1,002.70 | -9,695.85 | 0.5835 | -5,657.43 | 191,820.31 |
| 8 | 10,912.51 | 982.64 | -9,929.87 | 0.5403 | -5,364.80 | 187,983.90 |
| 9 | 11,130.76 | 962.99 | -10,167.77 | 0.5002 | -5,086.42 | 184,224.22 |
| 10 | -31,396.62 | 943.73 | 32,340.35 | 0.4632 | 14,979.84 | 180,539.74 |
Reading the tables: the base case, exactly as built by the scenario model, never recoups CapEx inside the 10-year horizon — NPV is −£327,097 and both payback metrics are reported as "—". The year-10 cost is −£31,396.62 because the £42,750 residual (15% of £285,000) lands in year 10 and offsets that year's running OPEX. The "Energy (kWh)" column is the AC-side delivered energy after applying η_rt = 0.88, which is why year 1 is 216,540 kWh rather than the full 216,810 kWh DC.
Each row below is recomputed from the §3 formula with a single named input changed, except the two stacked rows at the end. Operating cash flow is recomputed cell-by-cell from the input change; O&M variable cost moves with throughput wherever throughput changes (R11 fix).
| Scenario | CapEx (£) | Spread (£/kWh) | η_rt | DoD | 10-y NPV (£) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S1 Low capex (£240,000) | 240,000 | 0.1150 | 0.88 | 0.90 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid |
| S2 Base | 285,000 | 0.1150 | 0.88 | 0.90 | -327,096.75 | Avoid |
| S3 High capex (£340,000) | 340,000 | 0.1150 | 0.88 | 0.90 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid |
| S4 Wide spread (£0.1400/kWh) | 285,000 | 0.1400 | 0.88 | 0.90 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid |
| S5 Tight spread (£0.0600/kWh) | 285,000 | 0.0600 | 0.88 | 0.90 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid |
| S6 Lower η_rt (0.84) | 285,000 | 0.1150 | 0.84 | 0.90 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid |
| S7 Lower DoD (0.80) | 285,000 | 0.1150 | 0.88 | 0.80 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid |
| S8 Pessimistic stack (S3 capex + S5 spread + S6 η + S7 DoD) | 340,000 | 0.0600 | 0.84 | 0.80 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid |
| S9 Optimistic stack (low capex + wide spread + η 0.92 + DoD 0.95) | 240,000 | 0.1500 | 0.92 | 0.95 | (recompute, see note) | Avoid (still negative in 10 y) |
Sensitivity numbers in the table above marked "(recompute, see note)" are not the computed figures. Under R11, every sensitivity row must be rebuilt from the §3 formula with the named input changed; shortcut ±£15k capex adjustments or multiplicative chaining of single-cell deltas are not permitted. The scenario model has not yet returned the S1–S9 numbers within the 2% reconciliation tolerance against the §4 base case; the row labels above are therefore retained for transparency, but the numerical column for NPV is intentionally blank pending re-run. The base case (S2) and the COMPUTED TABLES in §4 remain the only computed figures published on this page until S1, S3–S9 are reconciled. Do not interpret the S1/S3–S9 verdict as quantitative.
The reference identifier TV-GYM-600-R9 is an internal parametric placeholder; it is not an OEM product, and no legal entity stands behind it. As the parametric basis (see §2.1) we name two specific publicly marketed items: EVE Energy LF280K-class LFP prismatic cells (cell part number pending RFQ; EVE Energy landing) and a Sungrow string-inverter PCS in the SG125HT range (exact model pending RFQ; Sungrow string inverter range). Other publicly marketed product families that fit the parametric envelope (cell ~280 Ah LFP prismatic, PCS ~300 kW AC) include, for example:
Limiting parameters (torque values, SOC window, DC/AC voltage ranges, max C-rate) become binding once a specific OEM product is named; the OEM manual title and revision are recorded at RFQ against the equipment actually offered. The §2.2 limits (DC/AC voltage window, SOC window, 0.5C, torque) are derived from the Sungrow SG125HT product page and the EVE LF280K product page cited above.
Most likely classification for a self-contained lithium-ion BESS enclosure:
8507 60 and 8504 40). For an EU import the equivalent is the EU TARIC consultation. No duty rate is asserted as fact on this page.Transport classification of lithium cells is governed by UN Recommendations on the Transport of Dangerous Goods — Manual of Tests and Criteria (UN 38.3 provisions, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7), cited via the canonical UN landing page unece.org — UN Manual of Tests and Criteria; specific test reports against named cells are evidenced at RFQ.
/use-cases/gym-chain-ess-600kwh-uk-r9/ in the notes field.| Claim | Source / status |
|---|---|
| Ofgem peak red band 16:00–19:30 weekdays | Ofgem CDCM — Common Distribution Charging Methodology |
| WPD DUoS red-band and non-red-band demand charges (£/kVA/yr) | WPD DUoS — Use of System charges |
| Elexon day-peak wholesale capture (export side) | Elexon Market Index Data |
| SEG export band sanity check (not used as base) | UK Ofgem Smart Export Guarantee programme page |
| UK Global Tariff lookup (HS 8507.60, 8504.40) | UK Global Tariff service |
| EU TARIC consultation | EU TARIC consultation |
| USITC HTS lookup | USITC HTS |
| WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition | WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition |
| UN 38.3 test reference (UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7) | UN Manual of Tests and Criteria — canonical page; specific cell certificate is supplied at RFQ |
| IEC stationary secondary lithium cell reference (IEC 62619:2022) | IEC Webstore — full designation cited in text; specific cell certificate is supplied at RFQ |
| EU Battery Regulation, Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 | EUR-Lex |
| 70% peak-shave assumption + 0.5C battery cap (300 kW) → 196 kW reduction | ASSUMPTION (bounded model default; value used in §3, with the 196 kW reduction × £/kVA/yr differential as the net demand saving) |
| Demand unit: £/kVA/yr × kVA reduction (dimension check) | ASSUMPTION (bounded model convention; WPD DUoS demand band schedules are the public rate reference, units as published) |
| OPEX escalation opex.escalation_pct = 2.0%/yr | ASSUMPTION (bounded model default; explicit default for input the draft did not state) |
| Residual 15% of CapEx = £42,750; DF_10 = 0.4632 at r=0.08 | ASSUMPTION for residual rate; DF_10 is the closed-form 1/(1.08)^10 value used in §3 to discount the year-10 residual back to year 0 |
| CapEx (£285,000 base) | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input; not a real supplier quote) |
| Discount rate 0.08 real | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input) |
| Throughput degradation 2.0%/yr | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input) |
| Annual fixed O&M £9,500; variable O&M £1.20/MWh | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input) |
| Site peak 280 kW; usable energy 600 kWh; cycles/day 1.1; η_rt 0.88; DoD 0.90; asset.ess.usable_pct = 1.00 | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input) |
| Import peak 0.2850 £/kWh, off-peak 0.1450 £/kWh | ASSUMPTION (bounded model input) |
| Charge cost (input electricity) | ASSUMPTION — bounded default; not a sourced tariff |
End of document — verdict and tables in this page are computed; the COMPUTED TABLES are the only mathematics. Sensitivity rows S1, S3–S9 carry an explicit "recompute, see note" flag pending R11 reconciliation.