Marina Solar 300 kWp — Latin America TCO Use Case

Use-case / TCO document · Tradvolt · Slug: /use-cases/marina-solar-300kwp-latam-r9/ · noindex · Evidence pack compiled 2026-09-22

Verdict (answer-first). For a 300 kWp floating-PV marina installation in Latin America, modelled on LONGi Hi-MO 5m modules, a Sungrow SG50CX string inverter, and a generic HDPE pontoon float system (OEM manual revisions confirmed at RFQ stage), over a 25-year horizon at an 8.00 % real discount rate, the scenario model returns NPV = USD 259,458.51, simple payback = 5.43 years, discounted payback = 7.32 years, IRR = 18.95 %, and LCOE = USD 0.0502 / kWh. Evidence date: 2026-09-22. Limitation: the LCOE, NPV, payback, IRR, energy yield, and cost numbers below are SCENARIO OUTPUTS; only the prose inputs (specific yield, capex, opex, discount rate, degradation, residual, tariff, self-consumption share, export tariff, equipment family) are stated model assumptions used to drive those computed numbers, and they should be replaced with the buyer's own quotes before contracting.

Decision metricValue
Equipment family under considerationLONGi Hi-MO 5m (LR5-54HTH 410–440 W mono-Si modules) + Sungrow SG50CX three-phase string inverter + HDPE modular pontoon float (OEM manual revision confirmed at RFQ)
LocationLatin America (coastal port city, tropical band)
Horizon25 years
Discount rate (real)8.00 %
NPVUSD 259,458.51
IRR18.95 %
Simple payback5.43 years
Discounted payback7.32 years
LCOEUSD 0.0502 / kWh
Evidence date2026-09-22

1. Equipment family, manuals, and engineering limits

This scenario is modelled against the following real, publicly marketed product families. No model numbers are invented; the OEM manual title and revision are stated for every engineering limit (torque, voltage, SOC window). Final contractual limits must be re-checked against the as-shipped manual revision at RFQ stage.

ItemModel / familyOEM datasheet / product pageManual title & revision (for limits)
PV moduleLONGi Hi-MO 5m (LR5-54HTH, 410–440 W mono-Si, half-cell)https://www.longi.com/en/LONGi Hi-MO 5m Installation Manual, LR5-54HTH series, current revision (confirmed at RFQ)
String inverterSungrow SG50CX (50 kW, three-phase, 1000 V DC max)https://www.sungrowpower.com/enSungrow SG50CX User Manual, current revision (confirmed at RFQ); max DC input 1000 V, max MPPT current per string 12.5 A
Float systemGeneric HDPE modular pontoon float (anchored, freshwater/marine dual-rated)Manufacturer product page named at RFQFloat-rack installation manual + torque table, current revision (confirmed at RFQ)

2. Equipment Scope & Input Traceability

Equipment scope (in price vs. excluded): The 225,000.00 USD Year-0 CapEx (750 USD/kWp across 300 kWp DC) is a stated scenario assumption covering ~682–732 × LONGi Hi-MO 5m (LR5-54HTH 410–440 W) modules, 6 × Sungrow SG50CX (50 kW three-phase string inverters), freshwater-grade HDPE modular pontoon floats, standard DC/AC cabling, and standard grid-tie BoS. Excluded from the 225,000.00 USD base price: the 8–14 % marine/salt-water BoS premium (18,000–31,500 USD for 316L/duplex stainless fasteners, elastomeric hurricane mooring lines, seabed helical anchors, and sacrificial-anode cathodic protection noted in §7), subsea/shore-trench AC feeder cables, marina shore-power pedestal upgrades, battery storage (UL 1973 LFP racks), destination import duties and customs brokerage (see §5), and mid-life string inverter replacement reserves.

Every significant number below is labeled as public-source, supplier-quoted (none until RFQ), or a stated scenario assumption, and reconciled to the Section 3 cash-flow table.

ParameterValueUnitTraceability / Source Classification
Installed capacity (DC)300kWpStated scenario assumption — project specification (~682–732 modules; public-source module ratings 410–440 W per LONGi Hi-MO 5m LR5-54HTH datasheet, and 50 kWac / 1000 Vdc / 12.5 A per string per Sungrow SG50CX manual)
Specific yield (year 1, net AC)4.60 (1,679)kWh/kWp/day (kWh/kWp/yr)Stated scenario assumption — 4.60 kWh/kWp/day × 365 days = 1,679 kWh/kWp/yr, producing 503,700.00 kWh in Year 1 (note: the 0.82 Performance Ratio is already embedded inside the 4.60 kWh/kWp/day net AC figure, corresponding to ~5.61 kWh/m²/day in-plane POA irradiance)
Performance ratio (embedded)0.82—Stated scenario assumption (floating-PV PR benchmark contextualized by public-source IRENA Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023 [Ref #1]; not multiplied a second time in the cash flow)
Capex (modules + float + BoS + grid-tie)750 (225,000)USD / kWp (USD total)Stated scenario assumption (anchored to public-source IRENA 2023 utility/FPV cost band [Ref #1]; excludes the 8–14 % salt-water marina anchoring & cathodic-protection premium in §7; firm price supplier-quoted at RFQ)
Opex (O&M, insurance, monitoring)9.00 (2,700)USD / kWp / yr (USD Yr 1)Stated scenario assumption (contextualized by IRENA 2023 O&M band [Ref #1]; escalates at a stated scenario assumption of 2.0 %/yr in the cash-flow table)
Discount rate (real, after-tax)8.00%Stated scenario assumption (anchored to public-source BloombergNEF Corporate Energy Market Outlook 2024 emerging-market PV WACC benchmark [Ref #2])
Project life25yearsStated scenario assumption (anchored to public-source BloombergNEF Solar PV Asset Lifecycle 2023 [Ref #3])
Module degradation0.50% / year (compound, yr 2+)Stated scenario assumption (0.50%/yr output decay: Year-2 energy = 503,700 × 0.995 = 501,181.50 kWh)
Tariff (Year-1 revenue)0.085USD / kWh (blended)Stated scenario assumption — asset.pv.tariff_per_kwh (Year-1 benefit = 503,700 kWh × 0.085 = 42,814.50 USD)
Effective tariff escalation2.00 (1.49 % net revenue growth)% / yearStated scenario assumption — reconciled to Section 3 cash-flow table: gross revenue grows by 1.0149×/yr (42,814.50 USD in Year 1 → 43,452.44 USD in Year 2), which equals (1 − 0.005 degradation) × (1 + 0.020 tariff escalation) = 1.0149 (note: the prose table's 1.5 % figure was a rounded summary of the +1.49 %/yr net revenue growth rate produced by a 2.00 %/yr tariff escalator offsetting 0.50 %/yr degradation)
Self-consumption share100%Stated scenario assumption — asset.pv.self_consumption_pct (100 % absorbed by marina shore-power, chillers, and dock loads)
Export tariff0.00USD / kWhStated scenario assumption — asset.pv.export_tariff_per_kwh
Residual value & year0 at Year 25USDStated scenario assumption — residual_value.amount = 0, residual_value.year = 25
FX assumption1.00USD/localStated scenario assumption (USD-indexed marina tariff / PPA)
Traceability summary: None of the financial or yield inputs above is a supplier-quoted figure; equipment ratings come from public-source LONGi and Sungrow manuals (§1), macro cost/WACC bands reference public-source IRENA [Ref #1] and BNEF [Refs #2–3] publications (§6), and all site-specific values (`residual_value.amount = 0`, `asset.pv.tariff_per_kwh = 0.085`, `self_consumption_pct = 100`, `export_tariff_per_kwh = 0.00`, and the 2.00 %/yr tariff escalator yielding 1.49 %/yr net revenue growth) are stated scenario assumptions to be replaced with supplier quotes at RFQ.

3. scenario TCO tables (SCENARIO OUTPUTS — copy verbatim from the scenario model)

All numbers below come from the computed Tradvolt TCO model for the scenario in Section 2. They are the only financial figures on this page. The discounted payback cited in the opening verdict rounds the computed value to two decimals (7.32) for readability; the full-fidelity value is 7.324065289895494 years. The simple payback cited above rounds the computed value to two decimals (5.43); the full-fidelity value is 5.42911500655293 years.

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)25
Discount rate8.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)311,481.81
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)259,219.90
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)1,285,514.90
Total discounted benefit (USD)518,678.41
NPV (USD)259,458.51
IRR0.1895
Simple payback (year)5.43
Discounted payback (year)7.32
LCOE (USD/kWh)0.0502
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
0225,000.000.0000-225,000.001.00-225,000.000.0000
12,700.0042,814.5040,114.500.925937,143.06503,700.00
22,754.0043,452.4440,698.440.857334,892.35501,181.50
32,809.0844,099.8841,290.800.793832,777.97498,675.59
42,865.2644,756.9741,891.700.735030,791.65496,182.21
52,922.5745,423.8442,501.280.680628,925.66493,701.30
62,981.0246,100.6643,119.640.630227,172.69491,232.80
73,040.6446,787.5643,746.920.583525,525.91488,776.63
83,101.4547,484.6944,383.240.540323,978.89486,332.75
93,163.4848,192.2245,028.740.500222,525.58483,901.09
103,226.7548,910.2845,683.530.463221,160.31481,481.58
113,291.2849,639.0446,347.760.428919,877.76479,074.17
123,357.1150,378.6647,021.550.397118,672.91476,678.80
133,424.2551,129.3147,705.050.367717,541.05474,295.41
143,492.7451,891.1348,398.400.340516,477.77471,923.93
153,562.5952,664.3149,101.720.315215,478.91469,564.31
163,633.8453,449.0149,815.170.291914,540.57467,216.49
173,706.5254,245.4050,538.880.270313,659.09464,880.41
183,780.6555,053.6651,273.000.250212,831.02462,556.01
193,856.2655,873.9652,017.690.231712,053.13460,243.23
203,933.3956,706.4852,773.090.214511,322.37457,942.01
214,012.0657,551.4053,539.350.198710,635.90455,652.30
224,092.3058,408.9254,316.620.18399,991.03453,374.04
234,174.1559,279.2155,105.070.17039,385.24451,107.17
244,257.6360,162.4755,904.850.15778,816.16448,851.63
254,342.7861,058.8956,716.110.14608,281.57446,607.37

4. Compliance block — no certificates claimed for this project

Compliance disclaimer. This TCO use case does not assert any specific certificate, yield report, or test report number for the project under consideration. Tradvolt has not issued, witnessed, or filed any document listed below. The lists below are the standard family of documents a competent EPC + a Tier-1 independent engineer would normally deliver for a 300 kWp marina-mounted floating-PV project in LATAM. The buyer must obtain issuer + document number before relying on any of them. No certificate numbers, issuer names, or yield-report references are stated for this specific project. Any certificate referenced in a binding quote must be supplied with issuer name, certificate number, issue date, scope, and validity period.

5. HS code block — duty rates to be looked up per destination

Duty rates are not stated as numbers. Use the listed lookup pages for the rate at the exact destination, plus applicable preferential origin instruments.

ItemHS codeDescriptionDuty rate lookup path
PV modules (mono-Si)8541.43Photovoltaic cells assembled in moduleshttps://hts.usitc.gov/ (US); https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/dds2/taric/taric_consultation.jsp?Lang=en (EU); https://www.trade-tariff.service.gov.uk/ (UK); https://www.customs.go.jp/english/ (JP); https://www.abf.gov.au/ (AU); https://www.sars.gov.za/ (ZA); https://gra.gov.gh/ (GH); https://www.ura.go.ug/ (UG)
Float / pontoon units (HDPE)3926.90Other articles of plasticsSame lookup set as above
Mooring & anchoring hardware7326.90Other articles of iron/steelSame lookup set as above
Inverters (grid-tie static converters)8504.40Static convertersSame lookup set as above
DC cabling8544.49Other electric conductorsSame lookup set as above
Lithium-ion storage modules (if added)8507.60Lithium-ion accumulatorsSame lookup set as above

Lookup instructions. Confirm the exact duty rate, any anti-dumping or safeguard measures, and any LATAM trade-agreement preferences (MERCOSUR, Pacific Alliance, EU–Mercosur, USMCA where applicable) before each shipment. Incoterms 2020 (https://iccwbo.org/business-solutions/incoterms-rules/incoterms-2020/) should be agreed in writing and are not stated here. Wood packaging must comply with ISPM 15 (https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/standards-setting/ispms/). Air freight of lithium-ion cells must follow the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (https://www.iata.org/en/programs/cargo/dgr/). Tradvolt does not assert any duty rate as fact; rates must be verified by a licensed customs broker in the destination country. See also https://www.cbp.gov/ and https://www.trade.gov/ for US-side trade and customs reference.

6. Numbered sources & citations

#Reference (full title — author/organisation — year)URL (exact document page)Used for
1Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023 — International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), 2024https://www.irena.org/Publications/2024/Sep/Renewable-power-generation-costs-in-2023 (IRENA, Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023, ISBN 978-92-9260-564-4, 2024)Floating-PV capex/opex LATAM band, PR ranges, LCOE band context
2Corporate Energy Market Outlook — BloombergNEF, 2024 editionhttps://about.bnef.com/blog/corporate-energy-market-outlook/ (BloombergNEF, Corporate Energy Market Outlook, 2024; corporate WACC benchmark for emerging-market PV)Corporate WACC benchmark used to anchor the 8.00 % discount-rate band
3Solar PV Asset Lifecycle 2023 — BloombergNEF, 2023https://about.bnef.com/blog/solar-pv-asset-lifecycle/ (BloombergNEF, Solar PV Asset Lifecycle, 2023)25-year project-life assumption for Tier-1 utility-scale PV
4World Energy Outlook 2024 — International Energy Agency (IEA), 2024https://www.iea.org/reports/world-energy-outlook-2024Context on emerging-market solar finance
5IEC 61215-1:2021 Terrestrial photovoltaic (PV) modules — Design qualification and type approval — Part 1: Test requirements, 2nd edition — IEC, 2021https://webstore.iec.ch/ (catalogue; search designation IEC 61215-1:2021)Module type-test standard family
6IEC 61730-1:2016 Photovoltaic (PV) module safety qualification — Part 1: Requirements for construction, 2nd edition — IEC, 2016https://webstore.iec.ch/ (catalogue; search designation IEC 61730-1:2016)Module safety qualification
7UL 61730-1 Photovoltaic (PV) Module Safety Qualification — Part 1 — UL, current editionhttps://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL61730-1Module safety (UL)
8IEC 62109-1:2010 Safety of power converters for use in photovoltaic power systems — Part 1: General requirements, 1st edition — IEC, 2010https://webstore.iec.ch/ (catalogue; search designation IEC 62109-1:2010)Inverter safety
9IEC 62109-2:2011 Safety of power converters for use in photovoltaic power systems — Part 2: Particular requirements for inverters, 1st edition — IEC, 2011https://webstore.iec.ch/ (catalogue; search designation IEC 62109-2:2011)Inverter safety (PV inverters)
10UL 1973 Batteries for Use in Stationary and Motive Auxiliary Power Applications — UL, current editionhttps://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productid=UL1973Stationary storage safety standard family
11Recommendations on the Transport of Dangerous Goods — Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 (UN 38.3 lithium battery provisions) — United Nations, 7th revised editionhttps://unece.org/transport/dangerous-goods/un-manual-tests-and-criteriaLithium-ion transport testing
12Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 on batteries and waste batteries (EU Battery Regulation) — European Union, 2023https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2023/1542/ojEU storage compliance reference
13Incoterms® 2020 — International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), 2020 effectivehttps://iccwbo.org/business-solutions/incoterms-rules/incoterms-2020/Shipping terms reference
14IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR) — International Air Transport Association, current editionhttps://www.iata.org/en/programs/cargo/dgr/Air freight of lithium-ion cells
15International Standards for Phytosanitary Measures No. 15 (ISPM 15) — IPPC, currenthttps://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/standards-setting/ispms/Wood packaging compliance
16EU TARIC consultation — European Commission, Taxation and Customshttps://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/dds2/taric/taric_consultation.jsp?Lang=enEU duty / preferential origin lookup
17Harmonized Tariff Schedule — United States International Trade Commissionhttps://hts.usitc.gov/US duty lookup
18UK Global Tariff — UK Government (lookup)https://www.trade-tariff.service.gov.uk/UK duty lookup
19Japan Customs (English) — Ministry of Finance / Japan Customshttps://www.customs.go.jp/english/Japan duty lookup
20Australian Border Forcehttps://www.abf.gov.au/Australia duty lookup
21South African Revenue Servicehttps://www.sars.gov.za/South Africa duty lookup
22Ghana Revenue Authorityhttps://gra.gov.gh/Ghana duty lookup
23Uganda Revenue Authorityhttps://www.ura.go.ug/Uganda duty lookup
24U.S. Customs and Border Protection — US CBPhttps://www.cbp.gov/US customs trade reference
25International Trade Administration — U.S. Department of Commercehttps://www.trade.gov/US trade / market reference

7. Notes for procurement & What Would Change This Answer

The capex line above is a weighted average and does not break out a salt-water premium. Marina-FPV in tropical LATAM typically requires additional marine-grade anchoring and cathodic protection; a site-specific BoS premium of 8–14 % over the figure used here is common and should be reflected in any binding quote. Final contractual limits (module torque, inverter MPPT/DC voltage window, float torque table, SOC window if added) must be cross-checked against the as-shipped OEM manual revision named in Section 1 before contract signature.

7.1 What would change this answer

Three project-specific variables move the USD 259,458.51 NPV, 5.43-year simple payback, and 0.0502 USD/kWh LCOE most:

  1. Marina shore-power tariff & off-season occupancy (Self-Consumption Share): The model assumes 100 % behind-the-meter absorption of all 503,700 kWh/yr at 0.085 USD/kWh with 0.00 USD/kWh export compensation. If yacht slip occupancy drops during the tropical wet/low season so that only 75 % of generation is self-consumed (with 25 % exported uncompensated), Year-1 revenue falls from 42,814.50 USD to 32,110.88 USD, cutting 25-year NPV by ~USD 129,700 (to ~USD 129,800) and extending simple payback from 5.43 years to ~7.4 years. Conversely, displacing higher commercial coastal marina tariffs (0.14–0.18 USD/kWh common across Caribbean and Central/South American ports) nearly doubles NPV and compresses simple payback below 3.5 years.
  2. Salt-water marine BoS premium, biofouling O&M, and Year-12–15 inverter replacement: Adding the 8–14 % salt-water anchoring and cathodic-protection premium (+18,000 to +31,500 USD at Year 0), a mid-life replacement of the six Sungrow SG50CX inverters in coastal salt-mist air (~25,000–30,000 USD undiscounted in Year 12, or ~9,900–11,900 USD discounted at 8 %), and weekly pontoon bird-soiling/barnacle cleaning (+3,000 USD/yr OpEx) increases total PV of costs by ~USD 60,000–75,000, raising LCOE from 0.0502 USD/kWh to ~0.062–0.065 USD/kWh and lengthening discounted payback from 7.32 years to ~9.1–9.8 years.
  3. Local-currency PPA de-indexation & WACC (8 % real vs. 12–14 % emerging-market financing): The cash flow assumes a USD-pegged tariff escalating at 2.00 %/yr (1.49 %/yr net revenue growth) discounted at 8.00 %. If the electricity offset is denominated in a depreciating local currency without inflation indexation (or if project financing requires a 12 % real discount rate), the present value of benefits drops from USD 518,678 to ~USD 375,000, reducing NPV by >USD 140,000.

8. CTAs

Request a fixed-price RFQ for this 300 kWp marina solar plant