TradVolt › Use-Cases › Parking-Lot Solar 2 MWp — India
Equipment: 2,000 kWp DC monocrystalline PV carport. Location: Indian commercial parking lot, representative CUF taken from PVGIS-SARAH2 (JRC, European Commission) for central/southern India. Horizon: 25 years. Discount rate (WACC): 10.00%. Tariff: INR 5.00/kWh blended captive value (model assumption). Evidence date: 22 September 2026. Limitation: All financial figures below are produced by TradVolt’s scenario TCO engine from the scenario inputs stated in §1 and are the ONLY mathematics on this page.
Verdict: At 10.00% WACC, 25-year horizon, INR 42,000,000 year-0 capex (INR 21.00/Wp) and 2,950,000 kWh year-1 generation (1,475 kWh/kWp/yr specific yield), the 2 MWp parking-lot solar scenario returns NPV = INR 92,405,420.95, IRR = 33.42%, simple payback = 3.06 years, discounted payback = 3.82 years, LCOE = 2.24 INR/kWh. The project clears every developer hurdle on the engine’s own cash flow. Default inputs the draft did not specify — tariff escalation and export tariff — are set to ZERO-AS-MISSING per model default.
| Decision metric | Value | Threshold / interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| NPV @ 10.00% WACC, 25 yr | INR 92,405,420.95 | Positive ⇒ strongly value-accretive at 10% discount |
| IRR | 33.42% | Above 10.00% WACC ⇒ project clears developer hurdle |
| Simple payback | 3.06 years | Below 5 yr ⇒ commercial-fit for C&I captive |
| Discounted payback | 3.82 years | Within 25-yr asset life ⇒ financeable |
| LCOE (PV of costs ÷ PV of generation) | 2.24 INR/kWh | Below 5.00 INR/kWh tariff ⇒ positive operating margin |
| Total undiscounted cost (25 yr) | INR 95,478,252.17 | Includes INR 42,000,000 year-0 capex + opex |
| Total undiscounted benefit (25 yr) | INR 442,872,035.61 | Flat 5.00 INR/kWh with 0.5%/yr module degradation, tariff escalation = 0% (model default) |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs | INR 57,766,045.68 | At 10.00% WACC |
| Total discounted benefit | INR 150,171,466.62 | At 10.00% WACC |
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | INR |
| Horizon (years) | 25 |
| Discount rate | 10.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (INR) | 95,478,252.17 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (INR) | 57,766,045.68 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (INR) | 442,872,035.61 |
| Total discounted benefit (INR) | 150,171,466.62 |
| NPV (INR) | 92,405,420.95 |
| IRR | 0.3342 |
| Simple payback (year) | 3.06 |
| Discounted payback (year) | 3.82 |
| LCOE (INR/kWh) | 2.24 |
| Year | Cost (INR) | Benefit (INR) | Net (INR) | Discount factor | Discounted net (INR) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 42,000,000.00 | 0.0000 | -42,000,000.00 | 1.00 | -42,000,000.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 1,200,000.00 | 14,750,000.00 | 13,550,000.00 | 0.9091 | 12,318,181.82 | 2,950,000.00 |
| 2 | 1,254,000.00 | 14,969,775.00 | 13,715,775.00 | 0.8264 | 11,335,351.24 | 2,935,250.00 |
| 3 | 1,310,430.00 | 15,192,824.65 | 13,882,394.65 | 0.7513 | 10,430,048.57 | 2,920,573.75 |
| 4 | 1,369,399.35 | 15,419,197.73 | 14,049,798.38 | 0.6830 | 9,596,201.34 | 2,905,970.88 |
| 5 | 1,431,022.32 | 15,648,943.78 | 14,217,921.46 | 0.6209 | 8,828,210.60 | 2,891,441.03 |
| 6 | 1,495,418.33 | 15,882,113.04 | 14,386,694.72 | 0.5645 | 8,120,914.11 | 2,876,983.82 |
| 7 | 1,562,712.15 | 16,118,756.53 | 14,556,044.38 | 0.5132 | 7,469,552.34 | 2,862,598.90 |
| 8 | 1,633,034.20 | 16,358,926.00 | 14,725,891.80 | 0.4665 | 6,869,737.21 | 2,848,285.91 |
| 9 | 1,706,520.74 | 16,602,674.00 | 14,896,153.26 | 0.4241 | 6,317,423.12 | 2,834,044.48 |
| 10 | 1,783,314.17 | 16,850,053.84 | 15,066,739.67 | 0.3855 | 5,808,880.37 | 2,819,874.26 |
| 11 | 1,863,563.31 | 17,101,119.64 | 15,237,556.34 | 0.3505 | 5,340,670.54 | 2,805,774.88 |
| 12 | 1,947,423.65 | 17,355,926.32 | 15,408,502.67 | 0.3186 | 4,909,623.81 | 2,791,746.01 |
| 13 | 2,035,057.72 | 17,614,529.63 | 15,579,471.91 | 0.2897 | 4,512,818.07 | 2,777,787.28 |
| 14 | 2,126,635.32 | 17,876,986.12 | 15,750,350.80 | 0.2633 | 4,147,559.63 | 2,763,898.34 |
| 15 | 2,222,333.91 | 18,143,353.21 | 15,921,019.31 | 0.2394 | 3,811,365.44 | 2,750,078.85 |
| 16 | 2,322,338.93 | 18,413,689.17 | 16,091,350.24 | 0.2176 | 3,501,946.65 | 2,736,328.46 |
| 17 | 2,426,844.18 | 18,688,053.14 | 16,261,208.96 | 0.1978 | 3,217,193.50 | 2,722,646.82 |
| 18 | 2,536,052.17 | 18,966,505.14 | 16,430,452.96 | 0.1799 | 2,955,161.39 | 2,709,033.58 |
| 19 | 2,650,174.52 | 19,249,106.06 | 16,598,931.54 | 0.1635 | 2,714,057.95 | 2,695,488.41 |
| 20 | 2,769,432.37 | 19,535,917.74 | 16,766,485.37 | 0.1486 | 2,492,231.21 | 2,682,010.97 |
| 21 | 2,894,056.83 | 19,827,002.92 | 16,932,946.09 | 0.1351 | 2,288,158.67 | 2,668,600.92 |
| 22 | 3,024,289.39 | 20,122,425.26 | 17,098,135.87 | 0.1228 | 2,100,437.15 | 2,655,257.91 |
| 23 | 3,160,382.41 | 20,422,249.40 | 17,261,866.99 | 0.1117 | 1,927,773.51 | 2,641,981.62 |
| 24 | 3,302,599.62 | 20,726,540.91 | 17,423,941.29 | 0.1015 | 1,768,976.06 | 2,628,771.71 |
| 25 | 3,451,216.60 | 21,035,366.37 | 17,584,149.77 | 0.0923 | 1,622,946.66 | 2,615,627.86 |
Each numeric input below is either (a) a named primary source with a retrievable document URL, or (b) a bounded model assumption explicitly flagged as such. Inputs marked “model assumption” are not sourced claims; they are the bounded defaults the computed engine uses when the draft did not specify a value.
| Parameter | Value | Unit | Source / status |
|---|---|---|---|
| DC nameplate capacity | 2,000 | kWp | Project design parameter (user-defined scenario) |
| DC/AC ratio | 1.20 | — | Typical C&I carport design ratio (model assumption, bounded 1.10–1.30) |
| AC inverter capacity (derived) | 1,667 | kWac | Derived: 2,000 / 1.20 |
| Specific yield (year 1) | 1,475 | kWh/kWp/yr | PVGIS-SARAH2 (JRC, European Commission), central/southern India representative latitude |
| Year-1 generation (derived) | 2,950,000 | kWh/yr | Derived: 2,000 kWp × 1,475 kWh/kWp |
| Capacity utilisation factor (derived) | 16.83 | % | Derived: 1,475 ÷ (365×24) |
| Module linear degradation | 0.50 | %/yr | IEA-PVPS Trends in PV Applications 2024 — monocrystalline median degradation band |
| Module cost | 9.20 | INR/Wp | Model assumption — bounded 8.50–11.00 INR/Wp; reflects 2024–2026 module ASP range, see IEA market data |
| BOS & inverter cost | 6.50 | INR/Wp | Model assumption — bounded 5.50–8.00 INR/Wp |
| Carport structure premium | 2.80 | INR/Wp | Model assumption — bounded 2.00–4.00 INR/Wp for elevated/carport structures |
| Civil & evacuation | 1.50 | INR/Wp | Model assumption — bounded 1.00–2.50 INR/Wp |
| Soft costs (D&G, contingency) | 1.00 | INR/Wp | Model assumption — bounded 0.50–2.00 INR/Wp |
| Total capex (derived) | 21.00 | INR/Wp | Derived: 9.20 + 6.50 + 2.80 + 1.50 + 1.00 |
| Year-0 capex outlay (derived) | 42,000,000.00 | INR | Derived: 2,000,000 Wp × INR 21.00/Wp |
| Year-1 opex (fixed) | 1,200,000.00 | INR/yr | Derived: 6.00 lakh INR / MWp / yr × 2 MWp (model assumption, bounded 4–8 lakh INR/MWp/yr) |
| Opex escalation | 4.50 | %/yr | Model assumption — bounded 3.0–6.0%/yr; conservative CPI-linked band |
| Tariff (C&I captive blend) | 5.00 | INR/kWh | Model assumption — bounded 4.00–6.50 INR/kWh; captures grid-supply avoidance value |
| Tariff escalation | 0.00 | %/yr | Model assumption — ZERO-AS-MISSING per engine default (bounded −1.0% to +3.0%/yr nominal) |
| Project horizon | 25 | years | Standard C&I PV design life |
| Discount rate (WACC) | 10.00 | %/yr | Developer C&I rooftop/carport benchmark; Bank of England Monetary Policy Report Aug 2025 cited only as global inflation-context reference, not as the WACC source |
| Residual value | 0.00 | INR (at horizon end) | Model assumption — bounded 0–5% of year-0 capex; zero in base case |
| Self-consumption share | 100 | % | Model assumption — captive behind-the-meter; no export |
| Export tariff | 0.00 | INR/kWh | Model assumption — ZERO-AS-MISSING per engine default (bounded 0–3.00 INR/kWh) |
| Inverter replacement provision | 0.00 | INR (within horizon) | Model assumption — bounded 0–8% of capex in a single mid-life year; zero in base case |
| Insurance / property tax | 0.00 | INR/yr | Model assumption — bounded 0–0.5% of capex/yr; zero in base case |
For a 2 MWp DC / 1.67 MWac carport, OEM bill-of-material candidates are named below with a public product-page URL. The exact sub-model, datasheet revision and torque/SOC/voltage limits must be read from the OEM’s Installation Manual for the specific part shipped; TradVolt confirms revision at RFQ.
| Function | OEM family / product line (sub-model confirmed at RFQ) | Public product page |
|---|---|---|
| Monocrystalline PV modules — Hi-MO 5m family (LR5-72HBD / LR5-54HTH bifacial mono-PERC) | LONGi Hi-MO 5m | LONGi Hi-MO 5m product page; LONGi corporate |
| String / central inverter (C&I, 1500 Vdc) | Sungrow SG string inverter family (e.g. SG125HT) | Sungrow string inverter range; Sungrow corporate |
| Smart string inverter (1500 V DC, 8-MPPT) | Huawei FusionSolar SUN2000-330KTL-H1 (330 kW, 3-phase, 1500 V DC) | Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1 product page; Huawei FusionSolar corporate |
| C&I string inverter | Growatt MAX / MID series | Growatt corporate |
| Monocrystalline PV modules — Tiger Neo family (n-type TOPCon) | JinkoSolar Tiger Neo | JinkoSolar corporate |
| Monocrystalline PV modules — Vertex N family (n-type i-TOPCon) | Trina Solar Vertex N | Trina Solar corporate |
| Carport / elevated mounting structure | K2 Systems carport / elevated structure systems (rail-based); reference ground-mount family N-Rack / S-Rack | K2 Systems N-Rack system page; K2 Systems corporate |
Limits to confirm against the OEM Installation Manual for the shipped sub-model and revision: maximum string Voc at minimum cell temperature, maximum system voltage (1500 V DC for the Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1 and the Sungrow SG125HT class), torque values on mid- and end-clamps, and — if a battery overlay is added later — the SOC operating window of the BESS (e.g. CATL CATL ESS or BYD BYD Energy Storage or EVE EVE Energy commercial cabinets). TradVolt confirms revision at RFQ; do not assume a manual edition without reading it.
| Item | Standard / regulation (full designation) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PV module safety & design qualification | IEC 61215-1:2021 / IEC 61215-2:2021 (design qualification) and IEC 61730-1:2016 / IEC 61730-2:2016 (safety qualification); UL 61730-1 (mirror) | IEC Webstore catalogue webstore.iec.ch; UL 61730-1 product page |
| Power converter / inverter safety | IEC 62109-1:2010 and IEC 62109-2:2011 (safety of power converters for PV) | IEC Webstore catalogue webstore.iec.ch |
| EV charger overlay — conductive charging | IEC 61851-1:2017 Electric vehicle conductive charging system — Part 1: General requirements | IEC Webstore publication 33644 |
| EV charger overlay — DC charging / combo | IEC 61851-23:2014/AMD1:2023 | IEC Webstore catalogue query |
| EV charger overlay — DC coupler | IEC 62196-3 | IEC Webstore catalogue query |
| Lithium battery stationary application (if BESS added) | UL 1973 Batteries for Use in Stationary and Motive Auxiliary Power Applications | UL 1973 product page |
| EV charging accessibility (UK overlay) | BSI PAS 1898:2022 Electric vehicles charging — Accessibility and usability | BSI PAS 1898:2022 page |
| UK wiring regulations overlay | BS 7671 18th Edition Amend.2:2022 (IET Wiring Regulations) | IET Wiring Regulations hub |
| Wood packaging (import) | IPPC ISPM 15 (wood packaging material) | IPPC ISPMs list |
| Lithium battery transport (if BESS overlay added) | UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7, §38.3 (UN 38.3) | UNECE Manual of Tests and Criteria |
| OCPP backend protocol (EV charger overlay) | Open Charge Point Protocol (OCPP) 2.0.1 | Open Charge Alliance |
| Cargo insurance overlay (freight) | Institute Cargo Clauses (A) — IUA publisher | IUA clauses library |
TradVolt does not warrant any duty rate. Duty rates change and are subject to ALMM listing, MNRE-approved channel-partner status, project-specific customs notifications and any Additional Customs Duty / Social Welfare Surcharge. All rates must be confirmed by a licensed customs broker against the latest Indian Customs Tariff (CBIC) at the time of import.
| Component | HS code (India, ITC(HS) 2022) | Where to look up rate |
|---|---|---|
| Crystalline silicon PV modules | 8541.43.00 | WCO HS Nomenclature 2022; confirm with a licensed customs broker against CBIC Indian Customs Tariff (chapter 85) at time of import |
| Solar invertors / static converters | 8504.40.90 | WCO HS Nomenclature 2022; CBIC chapter 85 |
| Aluminium mounting structures | 7610.90.30 / 7610.90.90 | WCO HS Nomenclature 2022; CBIC chapter 76 |
| DC cables & connectors (PV) | 8544.60.90 | WCO HS Nomenclature 2022; CBIC chapter 85 |
| Lightning arrestors / surge protection devices | 8535.40.10 / 8536.90.90 | WCO HS Nomenclature 2022; CBIC chapter 85 |
For non-India buyers of the same equipment, the same classification can be checked in: EU TARIC (TARIC consultation), USITC HTS (hts.usitc.gov), UK Global Tariff (trade-tariff.service.gov.uk), Japan Customs (customs.go.jp/english), Australia Border Force (abf.gov.au), SARS South Africa (sars.gov.za), GRA Ghana (gra.gov.gh), URA Uganda (ura.go.ug), NZ Customs (NZ Customs Working Tariff Document).
The reference terms for an FOB Shanghai / CIF Nhava Sheva shipment of the PV modules and inverter skid are the ICC Incoterms® 2020 rules, accessible at iccwbo.org Incoterms 2020. Freight documentation follows FIATA standard formats (fiata.org). Cargo insurance wording follows the Institute Cargo Clauses (A) publisher at IUA clauses library. Lithium-ion battery shipments, if added, must additionally comply with the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (iata.org/en/programs/cargo/dgr) and the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria §38.3 (UNECE Manual of Tests and Criteria).
asset.pv.tariff_escalation_pct = ZERO-AS-MISSING and asset.pv.export_tariff_per_kwh = ZERO-AS-MISSING — the draft did not specify either, so the engine applied its bounded zero defaults. Tariff escalation and export revenue are the two parameters to re-test with site-specific values for a live RFQ.Submit a single RFQ to TradVolt’s procurement desk to obtain a current OEM-priced BoM, a freight quote under ICC Incoterms® 2020, and a customs-broker-confirmed duty line for your specific port of import.