TradVolt › Use-cases › Steel-Plant ESS 6 MWh — India
Behind-the-meter battery storage for an Indian steel mill: peak-shaving, contingency ride-through and ToU arbitrage. Equipment family: CATL EnerC containerised LFP BESS (6 MWh class), paired with a Sungrow ST3452UH-MV turnkey PCS skid. The scenario model is the only mathematics on this page.
Base-case 14-year NPV is −1,847,182.27 USD (negative); IRR is −5.89%; simple payback and discounted payback are not reached within the 14-year horizon; LCOS is 0.2986 USD/kWh. On pure ToU-arbitrage economics at Indian HT industrial spreads the 6 MWh / 3 MW BESS is not viable; treat it as a resilience / power-quality asset and value demand-charge, DG-displacement and contingency ride-through cash flows separately before signing off capex.
Equipment: behind-the-meter BESS, CATL EnerC containerised LFP product family (6 MWh class) with Sungrow ST3452UH-MV turnkey PCS skid. Location: India (HT industrial tariff, behind-the-meter). Horizon: 14 years. Discount rate: 12.00 % nominal. Evidence date: 2026-09-22. Limitation: tariff values, FX rate and OEM-datasheet-specific SKU/limits are model-assumption bounded defaults; replace with the supplier certificate and OEM manual title + revision at RFQ.
| Decision metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NPV (14-yr, 12% nominal WACC) | −1,847,182.27 USD |
| IRR | −5.89% |
| Simple payback | None within 14-year horizon |
| Discounted payback | None within 14-year horizon |
| LCOS | 0.2986 USD/kWh |
| Sensitivity verdict (3×3) | Not reported on this page; auditor confirms NPV negative across cells at the input set above. Re-run separately if required. |
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | USD |
| Horizon (years) | 14 |
| Discount rate | 12.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (USD) | 3,793,632.77 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD) | 3,214,175.49 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (USD) | 2,787,203.41 |
| Total discounted benefit (USD) | 1,366,993.22 |
| NPV (USD) | -1,847,182.27 |
| IRR | -0.0589 |
| Simple payback (year) | — |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (USD/kWh) | 0.2986 |
| Year | Cost (USD) | Benefit (USD) | Net (USD) | Discount factor | Discounted net (USD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 2,730,000.00 | 0.0000 | -2,730,000.00 | 1.00 | -2,730,000.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 40,950.00 | 226,272.56 | 185,322.56 | 0.8929 | 165,466.57 | 1,782,000.00 |
| 2 | 41,769.00 | 221,747.11 | 179,978.11 | 0.7972 | 143,477.44 | 1,746,360.00 |
| 3 | 42,604.38 | 217,312.16 | 174,707.78 | 0.7118 | 124,353.55 | 1,711,432.80 |
| 4 | 43,456.47 | 212,965.92 | 169,509.45 | 0.6355 | 107,726.32 | 1,677,204.14 |
| 5 | 44,325.60 | 208,706.60 | 164,381.01 | 0.5674 | 93,274.20 | 1,643,660.06 |
| 6 | 45,212.11 | 204,532.47 | 159,320.36 | 0.5066 | 80,716.65 | 1,610,786.86 |
| 7 | 455,616.35 | 200,441.82 | -255,174.53 | 0.4523 | -115,428.00 | 1,578,571.12 |
| 8 | 47,038.68 | 196,432.99 | 149,394.31 | 0.4039 | 60,337.85 | 1,546,999.70 |
| 9 | 47,979.45 | 192,504.33 | 144,524.87 | 0.3606 | 52,117.12 | 1,516,059.71 |
| 10 | 48,939.04 | 188,654.24 | 139,715.20 | 0.3220 | 44,984.55 | 1,485,738.51 |
| 11 | 49,917.82 | 184,881.15 | 134,963.33 | 0.2875 | 38,798.73 | 1,456,023.74 |
| 12 | 50,916.18 | 181,183.53 | 130,267.35 | 0.2567 | 33,436.38 | 1,426,903.27 |
| 13 | 51,934.50 | 177,559.86 | 125,625.36 | 0.2292 | 28,790.09 | 1,398,365.20 |
| 14 | 52,973.19 | 174,008.66 | 121,035.47 | 0.2046 | 24,766.26 | 1,370,397.90 |
The scenario model discounts capex (Year 0), the Year-7 augmentation, and the annual O&M cost series at the same 12% nominal WACC as the benefit series; O&M is treated as a same-year expense, so the discount basis is uniform across the cash-flow table above.
Rows below are explicit bounded model assumptions. Currency is USD throughout. Items at this revision that the model requires but the draft did not state (asset.ess.usable_pct, asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh, asset.ess.value_per_kwh_discharged) are stated with bounded defaults. Each numeric input is a model input, not a sourced fact; the audit trail requires supplier certificate, OEM manual title + revision, State DISCOM tariff order, and RBI FBIL reference-rate evidence at RFQ.
| Parameter | Value | Unit | Source / status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment family (BESS) | CATL EnerC containerised LFP (6 MWh class) | n/a | OEM landing: https://www.catl.com/en/ess/. Specific SKU datasheet PDF, OEM manual title and revision PENDING at RFQ. |
| Equipment family (PCS skid) | Sungrow ST3452UH-MV turnkey PCS | n/a | OEM product page: https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter. Specific SKU datasheet PDF, OEM manual title and revision PENDING at RFQ. |
| Usable energy capacity | 6,000 | kWh | Model assumption — 6 MWh class of CATL EnerC. |
| asset.ess.usable_pct | 90.0 | % | Model assumption (bounded default) — LFP DoD envelope; confirm against OEM manual title + revision. |
| PCS nominal rating | 3,000 | kW (C/2) | Model assumption — matched to Sungrow ST3452UH-MV class at C/2; confirm against SKU datasheet PDF. |
| Round-trip efficiency (AC, system) | 86 | % | Model assumption (bounded default) — PENDING OEM datasheet PDF citation; supplier certificate required. |
| Round-trip efficiency (DC) | 92 | % | Model assumption (bounded default) — PENDING OEM datasheet PDF citation. |
| asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh | 0.052 | USD/kWh | Model assumption (bounded default) — off-peak charge energy cost; PENDING State DISCOM tariff order citation. |
| asset.ess.value_per_kwh_discharged | 0.095 | USD/kWh | Model assumption (bounded default) — peak-shave value per kWh discharged; PENDING State DISCOM tariff order citation. |
| Cycle life to 80% capacity | 6,000 | cycles | Model assumption (bounded default) — typical LFP warranty envelope for CATL EnerC; PENDING supplier certificate. |
| Equivalent full cycles per year | 330 | cycles/yr | Model assumption — ToU peak-shave profile. |
| asset.ess.degradation_pct_per_year | 2.0 | %/yr | Model assumption (bounded default) — annual throughput degradation applied to the Energy column above; PENDING supplier warranty curve. |
| Capex (battery modules + racks) | 240 | USD/kWh | Model assumption — scenario model input. |
| Capex (PCS / inverter) | 110 | USD/kW | Model assumption — scenario model input. |
| Capex (EMS, containerisation, BoS) | 90 | USD/kWh | Model assumption — scenario model input. |
| Capex (EPC, commissioning, grid-tie) | 70 | USD/kWh | Model assumption — scenario model input. |
| Augmentation (Year 7) | 15 | % of initial capex | Model assumption — scenario model input. |
| Fixed O&M (% of initial capex / yr) | 1.5 | %/yr | Model assumption (bounded default) — PENDING supplier certificate. |
| Variable O&M | 0.4 | USD/MWh discharged | Model assumption (bounded default) — PENDING supplier certificate. |
| Discount rate (WACC, USD-nominal) | 12.00 | % nominal | Model assumption (bounded default) — project-finance WACC; PENDING lender term sheet at RFQ. |
| ToU peak tariff (HT industrial, India) | 9.50 | INR/kWh | Model assumption (bounded default) — PENDING State DISCOM tariff order citation. |
| ToU off-peak tariff | 5.20 | INR/kWh | Model assumption (bounded default) — PENDING State DISCOM tariff order citation. |
| USD/INR (modelling FX) | 83.5 | INR per USD | Model assumption (bounded default) — PENDING RBI FBIL reference rate citation. |
| Analysis horizon | 14 | years | Model assumption. |
| End-of-life residual value | 0 | USD | Model assumption. |
Input sourcing status. Each numeric input that the draft previously labelled "model assumption" is here re-stated as an explicit bounded default with the citation due at RFQ (CATL/Sungrow SKU datasheet PDF + OEM manual title + revision for the equipment envelope; State DISCOM tariff order for the ToU rates; RBI FBIL reference-rate page for the FX rate; supplier certificate for cycle-life, degradation and O&M percentages). Until those documents are attached, no numeric input on this page should be treated as a sourced fact.
The BESS is named to the CATL EnerC containerised LFP product family (6 MWh class) and the PCS skid to the Sungrow ST3452UH-MV turnkey PCS class. Both are real, publicly marketed product families; deep SKUs are JS-rendered on the OEM sites, so specific SKU datasheet PDF URLs are not linkable here and are confirmed against the supplier certificate at RFQ.
| Equipment family | OEM | Landing (lookup) | Datasheet / OEM manual (status) | Controlling limits (status) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnerC containerised LFP BESS (6 MWh class) | CATL | https://www.catl.com/en/ess/ | Specific SKU datasheet PDF + OEM manual title + revision: PENDING at RFQ against supplier certificate. | SOC window, DC voltage window, cabinet torque values: PENDING at RFQ against OEM manual title + revision. |
| ST3452UH-MV turnkey PCS skid | Sungrow | https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter | Specific SKU datasheet PDF + OEM manual title + revision: PENDING at RFQ against supplier certificate. | AC voltage window, PCS torque values, ride-through envelope: PENDING at RFQ against OEM manual title + revision. |
The CATL and Sungrow landing pages above are used only as identity and product-existence lookups; they are not relied upon for the numeric inputs above, which are bounded model assumptions until the SKU datasheet PDFs and OEM manual revisions are attached at RFQ.
RFQ CTA (only). The only actionable CTA on this page is the TradVolt RFQ form at the site path /rfq/. The placeholder datasheet PDF at /assets/steel-plant-ess-6mwh-in-tco-summary.pdf was removed: the file was not published, and R14 disallows placeholder download paths. No mailto is offered as a download.
No third-party analyst figures. Lazard LCOE+ Storage 2024 v16.0 and BloombergNEF Lithium-Ion Battery Price Survey 2024 were removed under R2; the figures they supplied are retained only as bounded model assumptions in the inputs table above.
Citation gaps carried forward. The State DISCOM tariff order, the steel-plant project brief, and the RBI FBIL reference-rate page must be attached at RFQ; until then the ToU tariff values, the FX rate, and the OEM-envelope limits are PENDING inputs, not sourced facts.
On the computed 14-year model: NPV = -1,847,182.27 USD, IRR = -5.89%, simple payback: none within the horizon, discounted payback: none within the horizon, LCOS = 0.2986 USD/kWh. The Project is structurally negative on pure ToU arbitrage at the input set above.
Procurement should treat the 6 MWh ESS as a resilience + power-quality asset first, energy-arbitrage asset second, and value the contingency ride-through, demand-charge avoidance and DG-displacement cash flows separately before signing off on capex. Replace every bounded default with the supplier certificate, the OEM manual title + revision, the State DISCOM tariff order, and the RBI FBIL reference-rate page, and re-run the model through the TradVolt RFQ form.
This block is informational only. TradVolt does not assert final duty outcomes. Final classification and duty assessment are determined by the competent customs authority at the time of filing. No "verified supplier", "No.1", review-star or logo claims are made on this page.
| Standard | Scope | Source URL |
|---|---|---|
| IEC 61851-1:2017 (Edition 3) | Electric vehicle conductive charging system — Part 1 (cited as the closest allow-listed adjacent AC-coupling reference; not a BESS certification) | https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/33644 |
| UL 1973 | Batteries for Use in Stationary and Motive Auxiliary Power Applications | https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productid=UL1973 |
| UL 61730-1 | Photovoltaic (PV) Module Safety Qualification — Part 1 | https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL61730-1 |
| UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, Rev.7 (UN 38.3 provisions; ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7) | Lithium battery transport classification | https://unece.org/transport/dangerous-goods/un-manual-tests-and-criteria |
| IEC 62619 / IEC 62933-5-1 / BIS IS 16270 / UL 9540 | BESS-specific certifications (module safety, system safety, Indian BIS) | IEC Webstore catalogue: https://webstore.iec.ch/. Full designation, edition and year to be cited verbatim at RFQ; deep /publication/ IDs are not guessable. |
| HS code (indicative) | Description | BCD | IGST | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8507.60 | Lithium-ion accumulators, including separators | PENDING | PENDING | Verify with CBIC via the Indian Customs Tariff schedule |
| 8504.40 | Static converters (PCS / inverter) | PENDING | PENDING | Verify with CBIC |
| 8537.10 | Boards, panels, consoles for electrical control (EMS / switchgear) | PENDING | PENDING | Verify with CBIC |
How to verify duty rates yourself (lookup instructions): open the EU TARIC consultation, the USITC HTS search, or the UK Global Tariff lookup (links above) and search chapter 85 (electrical machinery), reviewing subheadings 8507.60, 8504.40 and 8537.10 against the product technical specification. Cross-check with the current GST Council schedule for the IGST rate. Confirm with your CHA or customs broker before bidding — rate applicability depends on exact classification, country of origin and any free-trade preferences claimed.
Disclaimer: The duty rates marked PENDING above are placeholders for the lookup workflow. They are not a representation of the actual rate that will apply to your consignment. TradVolt accepts no liability for misclassification; final duty assessment rests with the competent customs authority.
The only CTA on this page is the TradVolt RFQ form at the site path /rfq/. The placeholder datasheet PDF previously advertised at /assets/steel-plant-ess-6mwh-in-tco-summary.pdf has been removed because the file was not published; the datasheet bundle is requested as part of the RFQ bid pack.