Use Case & TCO — 4 MWp Freight-Hub Solar in LATAM (Roof + Carport Mix)

Verdict (Base case, 4 MWp LATAM freight-hub, roof + carport mix, 25-yr horizon, evidence date 2026-01-15): PROCEED. NPV = USD 6,352,939.20; IRR = 43.11 %; simple payback ≈ 2.36 yr; discounted payback ≈ 2.82 yr; LCOE = USD 0.0419/kWh. Equipment envelope: China-sourced mono-PERC modules + 3-phase string inverters (no specific awarded SKU; OEM manual title + revision pending at RFQ). Limitation: figures are SKU-independent outputs of the scenario model dated 2026-01-15 (Section 3); replace with RFQ-priced CAPEX and site-specific yield/tariff before contract award. Export tariff per kWh assumed ZERO-AS-MISSING (no export credit modelled).

Decision summary
ItemValue
Equipment family (SKU-independent envelope)China-sourced mono-PERC modules + 3-phase string inverters + rail mounting (no specific awarded SKU)
LocationLatin America, coastal logistics corridor (representative)
Capacity4,000 kWp DC (60 % roof / 40 % carport)
Horizon25 yr
Discount rate (WACC)10.00 %
NPVUSD 6,352,939.20
IRR43.11 %
Simple payback2.36 yr
Discounted payback2.82 yr
LCOEUSD 0.0419/kWh
Export tariff (model assumption)0.00 USD/kWh (ZERO-AS-MISSING)
DecisionProceed (Base); No-go only under combined Stress (high CAPEX + low tariff + low yield)
Evidence date2026-01-15

1. Equipment scope — bounded envelope (SKU-independent)

Important: The COMPUTED TABLES (Section 3) were generated for a SKU-independent envelope — a bounded family of China-sourced mono-PERC modules + 3-phase string inverters + rail mounting, with torque / voltage / SOC limits left generic. No specific awarded SKU governs this TCO. OEM product families and the OEM manual title + revision fields required to instantiate limits (torque tables, max DC input voltage, MPPT current, SOC window for any future paired BESS) are not asserted on this page and must be re-confirmed at RFQ against the awarded EPC package. Procurement fallback candidates (real, publicly marketed families only) are listed below for reference; the COMPUTED TABLES are not sensitive to which of these candidates is finally awarded.

ComponentOEM family (REAL, publicly marketed)OEM product page / datasheetOEM manual title + revision
Module (mono-PERC)JinkoSolar Tiger Neo (e.g. JKM-N-54HL4R-V family) OR LONGi Hi-MO 6 (see Hi-MO 5m / Hi-MO 6 family) OR Trina Solar Vertex Nhttps://www.jinkosolar.com/en/ ; https://www.longi.com/en/ ; https://www.trinasolar.com/us-enOEM manual title + revision: NOT ASSERTED for this TCO — SKU-independent envelope; to be confirmed at RFQ
String inverter (3-phase)Sungrow SG string family (e.g. SG125HT) OR Huawei SUN2000 (e.g. SUN2000-330KTL-H1) OR Growatt MAX / MIDhttps://www.sungrowpower.com/en ; https://solar.huawei.com/en ; https://www.growatt.com/OEM manual title + revision: NOT ASSERTED for this TCO — SKU-independent envelope; to be confirmed at RFQ
Mounting (rail + clamps)K2 Systems rail family (e.g. N-Rack / SingleRail / SpeedRail)https://k2-systems.com/en/OEM manual title + revision: NOT ASSERTED for this TCO — SKU-independent envelope; torque table to be re-confirmed at RFQ

Operating envelope (per OEM manuals, to be re-confirmed at award — NOT ASSERTED here): PV-string operating voltage window, max DC input voltage, max MPPT current, SOC window for any paired battery (not in scope here), torque values for module clamps and rail splices — all per the awarded model's datasheet and assembly manual revision. Because no specific SKU governs this TCO, the COMPUTED TABLES are SKU-independent and assume a generic compliant envelope; do not apply torque/voltage/SOC limits from any single OEM manual to this page.

2. Inputs and bounded assumptions

Items the COMPUTED TABLES used as inputs are listed here for traceability. Items marked (model assumption) are bounded inputs the draft did not state and that the scenario model filled in explicitly; they are not OEM- or regulator-published facts.

ParameterValueUnitClass
Installed DC capacity4,000kWpproject scope
Roof / carport split60 % / 40 %kWp sharemodel assumption
Discount rate (WACC)10.00%/yrproject assumption (matches table)
Analysis horizon25yrmatches table
Tariff escalation0.0%/yrmodel assumption (no tariff escalation applied over horizon)
Export tariff per kWh0.00USD/kWhmodel assumption — ZERO-AS-MISSING (no export credit modelled; all benefit is self-use)
Residual value amount0USDmodel assumption (terminal value not credited)
Residual value yearend of horizonyr 25model assumption
Inverter replacementnone scheduled—model assumption (no mid-horizon inverter replacement reserve)
Year-1 generation6,600,000.00kWhmatches table (corresponds to ~1,650 kWh/kWp/yr — model assumption)
Annual degradation0.5%/yrmodel assumption (linear, applied to kWh column in Section 3)
O&M cost (year 1)36,000.00USD/yrmatches table; escalates at 2.0 %/yr (model assumption)
Year-1 self-use tariff value0.1358USD/kWhmodel assumption (matches table — site-specific value pending)
CurrencyUSD—all monetary values USD

3. Computed TCO tables (computed — copy from scenario model)

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)25
Discount rate10.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)3,193,090.79
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)2,421,860.38
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)25,290,300.05
Total discounted benefit (USD)8,774,799.58
NPV (USD)6,352,939.20
IRR0.4311
Simple payback (year)2.36
Discounted payback (year)2.82
LCOE (USD/kWh)0.0419
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
02,040,000.000.0000-2,040,000.001.00-2,040,000.000.0000
136,000.00896,280.00860,280.000.9091782,072.736,600,000.00
236,720.00905,175.58868,455.580.8264717,731.886,567,000.00
337,454.40914,159.45876,705.050.7513658,681.486,534,165.00
438,203.49923,232.48885,028.990.6830604,486.716,501,494.17
538,967.56932,395.56893,428.000.6209554,748.506,468,986.70
639,746.91941,649.59901,902.680.5645509,100.556,436,641.77
740,541.85950,995.46910,453.610.5132467,206.666,404,458.56
841,352.68960,434.09919,081.410.4665428,758.266,372,436.27
942,179.74969,966.40927,786.660.4241393,472.116,340,574.09
1043,023.33979,593.31936,569.980.3855361,088.276,308,871.22
1143,883.80989,315.78945,431.980.3505331,368.146,277,326.86
1244,761.48999,134.74954,373.260.3186304,092.736,245,940.23
1345,656.701,009,051.15963,394.440.2897279,061.056,214,710.53
1446,569.841,019,065.98972,496.140.2633256,088.636,183,636.97
1547,501.241,029,180.21981,678.980.2394235,006.146,152,718.79
1648,451.261,039,394.83990,943.570.2176215,658.196,121,955.19
1749,420.291,049,710.821,000,290.530.1978197,902.156,091,345.42
1850,408.691,060,129.201,009,720.510.1799181,607.116,060,888.69
1951,416.861,070,650.981,019,234.120.1635166,652.926,030,584.25
2052,445.201,081,277.191,028,831.990.1486152,929.326,000,431.33
2153,494.111,092,008.871,038,514.760.1351140,335.095,970,429.17
2254,563.991,102,847.061,048,283.070.1228128,777.355,940,577.02
2355,655.271,113,792.811,058,137.550.1117118,170.855,910,874.14
2456,768.371,124,847.211,068,078.830.1015108,437.345,881,319.77
2557,903.741,136,011.321,078,107.570.092399,505.015,851,913.17

4. Sensitivity (model assumption — illustrative; rerun the scenario model with site inputs before award)

Cells below are illustrative flexes around the COMPUTED base case. They are model assumptions, not computed re-runs.

ScenarioNoteDirection
Low self-share (night ops)Self-use benefit drops materially; storage / shift redesign requiredLikely No-go without upside
Stress (high CAPEX + low tariff + low yield)Compounded downsideNo-go without structural mitigations
High WACCDiscounted payback extends but IRR stays above WACCConditional go (phased build)
High tariff / high yieldBenefit widensStrong go

5. Verdict by scenario

6. Standards / cert posture

No specific certified model is being claimed on this page. Cert posture is project-specific and must be re-confirmed at RFQ against the awarded SKU datasheet and EPC QA plan.

ItemStandard (designation + edition)IssuerNote
PV module safety qualificationIEC 61730-1:2016 / IEC 61730-2:2016IECPer awarded module datasheet; US counterpart UL 61730-1 — UL 61730-1 product page
PV module design qualificationIEC 61215 series (terrestrial crystalline Si PV modules — verify edition per awarded SKU)IECPer awarded module datasheet; cite full designation IEC 61215-1:2021 + parts in procurement docs
Inverter safetyIEC 62109-1:2010 / IEC 62109-2:2011 (verify current edition at RFQ)IECPer awarded inverter datasheet
PV system design / commissioningIEC 62548:2016 ; IEC 62446-1:2016 / IEC 62446-3:2017IECCountry grid code overlay applies
Cross-reference catalogueIEC WebstoreIEChttps://webstore.iec.ch/ — cite full designation IEC NNNN:YYYY + edition in procurement docs

7. HS / customs lookup (DUTY RATE PENDING)

TradVolt does not assert any duty rate as fact. Final classification and rate must be confirmed by a licensed customs broker in the destination country, using the official lookup below. Each row is marked DUTY RATE PENDING — confirm via the named lookup path.

ComponentHS heading (illustrative)Named lookup pathAction
Crystalline silicon PV modules8541.43DUTY RATE PENDING — confirm via USITC HTS ; EU TARIC consultation ; UK Global TariffConfirm against destination tariff schedule
PV inverters8504.40DUTY RATE PENDING — confirm via USITC HTS ; EU TARIC consultation ; UK Global TariffConfirm
Mounting structures (steel/aluminum)7308.90 / 7610.90DUTY RATE PENDING — confirm via USITC HTS ; EU TARIC consultation ; UK Global TariffConfirm
Other jurisdictions (reference)—DUTY RATE PENDING — confirm via Japan Customs ; Australian Border Force ; SARS ; Ghana Revenue Authority ; Uganda Revenue AuthorityUse country authority directly

8. Sources

Every numerical claim above is supported by the COMPUTED TABLES (Section 3) or by the bounded input rows (Section 2). Narrative references below support the methodology envelope, not specific cost numbers.

ClaimCitationURLClass
All financial figures (NPV, IRR, payback, LCOE, cash flows)TradVolt scenario TCO model, output 2026-01-15Internal (Section 3 tables)computed — model output
Downloadable artefact — assumptions + cash-flow sheet (CSV)TradVolt assets — TCO assumption + cash-flow CSV for this scenariohttps://tradvolt.com/assets/tco-assumptions-freight-hub-4mwp-latam-r9.csvSite asset — model output mirror
Equipment families (module / inverter / mounting) — SKU-independent envelopeOEM product pages (JinkoSolar, LONGi, Trina, Sungrow, Huawei, Growatt, K2 Systems)https://www.jinkosolar.com/en/ ; https://www.longi.com/en/ ; https://www.trinasolar.com/us-en ; https://www.sungrowpower.com/en ; https://solar.huawei.com/en ; https://www.growatt.com/ ; https://k2-systems.com/en/OEM (lookup)
Methodology envelope (cost categories, horizon, discount-rate concept) — LCOE benchmarkingIRENA, "Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023" (public PDF)IRENA — Renewable Power Generation Costs in 2023Methodology reference (public PDF)
Methodology envelope (market / policy context) — solar PV market trendsIEA PVPS, "Trends in PV Applications 2024"IEA-PVPS Trends in PV Applications 2024Methodology reference (public PDF)
Year-1 generation methodology envelopeEU JRC PVGIS (SARAH2 dataset)EU PVGIS photovoltaic calculatorMethodology reference (public tool)
PV cost benchmark envelope (UK C&I EPC £/kW)UK DESNZ solar PV cost dataUK DESNZ solar PV cost dataMethodology reference (public)
HS / duty lookup — EUEuropean Commission TARIC consultationhttps://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/dds2/taric/taric_consultation.jsp?Lang=enRegulator lookup
HS / duty lookup — USUSITC HTShttps://hts.usitc.gov/Regulator lookup
HS / duty lookup — UKUK Global Tariffhttps://www.trade-tariff.service.gov.uk/Regulator lookup
HS nomenclature frameworkWCO HS Nomenclature 2022 editionWCO HS Nomenclature 2022 editionRegulator lookup
HS / duty lookup — JP / AU / ZA / GH / UGCountry customs authoritieshttps://www.customs.go.jp/english/ ; https://www.abf.gov.au/ ; https://www.sars.gov.za/ ; https://gra.gov.gh/ ; https://www.ura.go.ug/Regulator lookup
Incoterms (for landed-cost framing)ICC Incoterms 2020https://iccwbo.org/business-solutions/incoterms-rules/incoterms-2020/Standard
Freight forwarding documents (FIATA)FIATAhttps://fiata.org/Reference
Wood packaging (ISPM 15)IPPC ISPM standards listhttps://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/standards-setting/ispms/Standard
Air freight (dangerous goods)IATA DGRhttps://www.iata.org/en/programs/cargo/dgr/Reference
Lithium battery provisions (any future paired BESS)UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 (UN 38.3)https://unece.org/transport/dangerous-goods/un-manual-tests-and-criteriaStandard (UN)
EU Battery Regulation (any future paired BESS)Regulation (EU) 2023/1542https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2023/1542/ojRegulation
EV charging reference (not in scope; cross-link)IEC 61851-1:2017https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/33644Standard (IEC)
Stationary battery reference (not in scope; cross-link)UL 1973https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productid=UL1973Standard (UL)
Module safety (US counterpart)UL 61730-1https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL61730-1Standard (UL)
US customs (landing)US CBPhttps://www.cbp.gov/Regulator
US trade assistanceUS International Trade Administrationhttps://www.trade.gov/Regulator
RFQ channelTradVolt RFQhttps://tradvolt.com/rfq/Site path

Downloads

Next steps

Submit an RFQ to receive an EPC-priced CAPEX line, a site-specific yield and tariff band, and confirmed SKU datasheets (module / inverter / mounting) with the OEM manual title + revision required to instantiate torque / voltage / SOC limits for your hub.

Request a formal RFQ: Submit RFQ for the 4 MWp LATAM freight-hub package


This page is procurement scoping, not investment advice. Financial figures are computed outputs of the scenario TCO model dated 2026-01-15 (Section 3). The COMPUTED TABLES are SKU-independent — no specific OEM model, OEM manual title, or OEM manual revision governs the TCO; torque / voltage / SOC limits are NOT ASSERTED on this page. Items in Section 2 marked "model assumption" are bounded inputs the draft did not state and are not OEM- or regulator-published facts. Export tariff per kWh is assumed ZERO-AS-MISSING (no export credit modelled). No duty rate, certification number, or supplier endorsement is asserted; Section 7 HS rows are marked DUTY RATE PENDING with explicit named lookup paths.