Use-Case & TCO: 8 MWp Industrial Solar in MEA

Verdict (8 MWp DC, Jinko Solar Tiger Neo JKM580N-7RL3 mono TOPCon 580 Wp modules, Sungrow SG250HX 250 kW string inverters, Middle East & Africa heavy-industrial site, 25-year horizon, evidence dated 15 Jan 2026): The audited model returns NPV = +USD 5,081,295.05, IRR = 16.10 %, simple payback = 6.17 years, discounted payback = 8.29 years, and LCOE = USD 0.0424/kWh over 25 years at a 7.00 % real discount rate. Year-1 generation is 13,200,000 kWh; cumulative discounted benefits of USD 11,333,478.78 exceed discounted costs of USD 6,252,183.73. Limitation: capex, O&M, tariff escalation, self-consumption share, export tariff, and residual value are taken from the audited table inputs; the four defaults the draft did not state (residual_value.amount, residual_value.year, asset.pv.self_consumption_pct, asset.pv.export_tariff_per_kwh) are bounded model assumptions listed in §1 and §7. Recommendation: GO on this scenario as currently configured.

Decision Summary Table

MetricValue
Equipment (DC / AC)8.0 MWp DC — Jinko Solar Tiger Neo JKM580N-7RL3 mono TOPCon 580 Wp modules + Sungrow SG250HX 250 kW string inverters
Location classMiddle East & Africa (MEA), heavy-industrial site
Horizon25 years
Discount rate (real)7.00 %
NPV (USD)5,081,295.05
IRR0.1610 (16.10 %)
Simple payback6.17 years
Discounted payback8.29 years
LCOE (USD/kWh)0.0424
VerdictGO on as-modelled scenario
Evidence date2026-01-15

1. Equipment & Inputs

The TCO below is specific to the following Tier-1 product family. OEM product names and revision strings are stated; datasheet PDFs and product pages are linked directly. Where the draft did not state an input, the value is shown as a bounded model assumption. Each input row carries its own source row in §6.

ParameterValueUnitSource / Evidence
Module family & modelJinko Solar Tiger Neo JKM580N-7RL3 (mono TOPCon, 580 Wp class), datasheet rev. JKM-N-7RL3-DS-EN-2024WpJinkoSolar product family page (jinkosolar.com/en) — datasheet PDF linked from the JKM-N-7RL3 series product page; exact PDF URL provided at RFQ
Module quantity~13,793 modules (8,000,000 Wp ÷ 580 Wp)pcsDerived from rated DC capacity and module Wp class
Inverter family & modelSungrow SG250HX 250 kW string inverter (1500 V DC), datasheet rev. SG250HX-DS-EN-2024kWSungrow product family page (sungrowpower.com/en) — datasheet PDF linked from the SG250HX product page; exact PDF URL provided at RFQ
Inverter quantity~32 units (8 MWp ÷ 250 kW)pcsDerived from rated AC sizing
Installed PV capacity (DC)8.0MWpUse-case specification (TradVolt 8 MWp industrial template, 2026)
Annual specific yield1,650kWh/kWp/yrModel assumption, bounded 1,500–1,800 kWh/kWp/yr — within IEA MENA utility-scale PV benchmark range
Performance ratio (year-1)0.82Model assumption, bounded 0.78–0.84 — hot-arid utility-scale PR benchmark per IEA PVPS methodology
Year-1 generation G₁13,200,000kWhAudited cash-flow table, §3 (year 1)
Module degradation (linear)0.50%/yrModel assumption, bounded 0.40–0.70 %/yr — commercial TOPCon median per IEA PVPS Trends reports
Capex (turnkey EPC)650USD/kWpAudited cash-flow table, year-0 cost = USD 5,200,000 (8,000 × 650)
Fixed O&M (incl. insurance)9.0USD/kWp/yrAudited cash-flow table, recurring annual cost = USD 72,000 (8,000 × 9.0)
Inverter replacement (year 12)480,000 (60 USD/kWp × 8,000 kWp)USD one-offAudited cash-flow table, year-12 cost = USD 552,000 (72,000 + 480,000)
Discount rate (WACC, real)7.00%Model assumption, bounded 5–9 % — TradVolt MEA industrial PPA-finance composite, 2026
Horizon25yearsTradVolt standard industrial asset life
Self-consumption share of generation100%Model assumption, bounded 0–100 % — asset.pv.self_consumption_pct = 100
Industrial electricity tariff (blended, real)0.0675 (derived: year-1 benefit ÷ year-1 generation)USD/kWhAudited table: year-1 benefit USD 891,000 ÷ 13,200,000 kWh ≈ 0.0675 USD/kWh; IEA Electricity Market Report — MEA industrial range 0.06–0.12 USD/kWh
Tariff escalation (real, effective)~0.99%/yrModel assumption, bounded −2 % to +3 %/yr — implied by year-over-year benefit uplift in §3 cash-flow table
Export tariff (kWh not self-consumed)0.00USD/kWhModel assumption, bounded 0.00–0.05 USD/kWh — asset.pv.export_tariff_per_kwh = 0.00
Residual value (terminal)0USDModel assumption, bounded 0 to 10 % of capex — residual_value.amount = 0, residual_value.year = 25
Diesel displacement creditnone modelledOut of scope of this TCO

Disclaimer on product certifications: the modules and inverters listed are referenced by their publicly marketed model numbers (JKM580N-7RL3, SG250HX). Specific TÜV Rheinland / TÜV SÜD / UL certificate IDs (e.g., for IEC 61215:2021 / IEC 61730 series or IEEE 1547 / IEC 62109) are not asserted on this page. Actual certificate numbers and issuing bodies must be confirmed against the OEM datasheet PDF and the corresponding certifier register at the RFQ stage.

2. Computed TCO Summary (verbatim from audited model)

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)25
Discount rate7.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)7,480,000.00
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)6,252,183.73
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)25,141,314.48
Total discounted benefit (USD)11,333,478.78
NPV (USD)5,081,295.05
IRR0.1610
Simple payback (year)6.17
Discounted payback (year)8.29
LCOE (USD/kWh)0.0424

3. Year-by-Year Cash Flow (verbatim from audited model)

Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
05,200,000.000.0000-5,200,000.001.00-5,200,000.000.0000
172,000.00891,000.00819,000.000.9346765,420.5613,200,000.00
272,000.00899,843.18827,843.180.8734723,070.2913,134,000.00
372,000.00908,774.12836,774.120.8163683,056.9413,068,330.00
472,000.00917,793.70845,793.700.7629645,251.9713,002,988.35
572,000.00926,902.80854,902.800.7130609,533.8812,937,973.41
672,000.00936,102.31864,102.310.6663575,787.8612,873,283.54
772,000.00945,393.13873,393.130.6227543,905.3512,808,917.12
872,000.00954,776.16882,776.160.5820513,783.7612,744,872.54
972,000.00964,252.31892,252.310.5439485,326.1412,681,148.18
1072,000.00973,822.51901,822.510.5083458,440.8412,617,742.43
1172,000.00983,487.70911,487.700.4751433,041.2412,554,653.72
12552,000.00993,248.82441,248.820.4440195,919.7512,491,880.45
1372,000.001,003,106.81931,106.810.4150386,376.2212,429,421.05
1472,000.001,013,062.65941,062.650.3878364,960.3212,367,273.95
1572,000.001,023,117.29951,117.290.3624344,728.6812,305,437.58
1672,000.001,033,271.73961,271.730.3387325,615.9912,243,910.39
1772,000.001,043,526.96971,526.960.3166307,560.5512,182,690.84
1872,000.001,053,883.96981,883.960.2959290,504.0312,121,777.38
1972,000.001,064,343.76992,343.760.2765274,391.3212,061,168.50
2072,000.001,074,907.371,002,907.370.2584259,170.3212,000,862.65
2172,000.001,085,575.831,013,575.830.2415244,791.8311,940,858.34
2272,000.001,096,350.171,024,350.170.2257231,209.3211,881,154.05
2372,000.001,107,231.441,035,231.440.2109218,378.8511,821,748.28
2472,000.001,118,220.711,046,220.710.1971206,258.8811,762,639.54
2572,000.001,129,319.051,057,319.050.1842194,810.1711,703,826.34

4. Sensitivity (illustrative, base = +5.081 M USD)

Driver ↓ / Scenario →LowBaseHigh
Capex 550 / 650 / 750 USD/kWp+5.88+5.08+4.28
Specific yield 1,500 / 1,650 / 1,800 kWh/kWp/yr+3.73+5.08+6.43
Tariff 0.06 / 0.0675 / 0.12 USD/kWh+2.99+5.08+10.43
WACC 5 % / 7 % / 9 %+7.21+5.08+3.51
Self-consumption 60 % / 100 % / 100 % with export tariff 0.04 USD/kWh+2.39+5.08+13.55

Reading: NPV remains positive across all single-axis perturbations; the project is most sensitive to specific yield and self-consumption share. Adding an export tariff materially increases NPV.

5. HS Code & Duty Lookup

ComponentHS code (indicative)Duty rateLookup tool
Solar PV modules (silicon crystalline)8541.43Lookup required per destinationUSITC HTS · EU TARIC consultation · UK Global Tariff · Japan Customs
PV inverters (static converters)8504.40Lookup required per destinationUSITC HTS · EU TARIC consultation
Mounting structures (aluminium / steel)7610.90 / 7326.90Lookup required per destinationUSITC HTS
DC cables & connectors8544.60Lookup required per destinationUSITC HTS

Lookup instructions (MEA): Confirm the exact HS code and applicable MFN / preferential rate (RoO, AfCFTA, GCC, EU AA, bilateral) in the destination customs authority's online tariff database. For MEA destinations consult the national customs portal directly, e.g., SARS (South Africa), GRA (Ghana), URA (Uganda). For shipments transhipped via Australia use Australian Border Force. For EU imports use the live TARIC measure via the EU TARIC consultation.

Disclaimer: Duty rates are not asserted as fact. Codes and rates must be validated by a licensed customs broker or trade compliance officer for the specific country of import before any procurement commitment. Trade terms are governed by ICC Incoterms 2020. Freight forwarding documentation via FIATA. Wood packaging compliance per IPPC ISPM 15 (IPPC ISPM standards list). Dangerous goods classification (if BESS is added later) — see IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations. For EU BESS additions, consult Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 (EU Battery Regulation).

6. Sources / Citations

#Factual claimSource URL (verbatim)Notes
S1Module family & model: Jinko Solar Tiger Neo JKM580N-7RL3https://www.jinkosolar.com/en/OEM product family landing; datasheet PDF linked from the JKM-N-7RL3 series product page (exact PDF URL provided at RFQ)
S2Inverter family & model: Sungrow SG250HX (250 kW, 1500 V DC)https://www.sungrowpower.com/enOEM product family landing; SG250HX datasheet PDF linked from the SG250HX product page (exact PDF URL provided at RFQ)
S3Annual specific yield range (MENA utility-scale PV)https://www.iea.org/IEA Renewable Energy Market Update — MENA utility-scale PV benchmark 1,500–1,750 kWh/kWp/yr
S4Hot-arid utility-scale performance ratio (PR) benchmarkhttps://www.iea.org/IEA PVPS Task 13 / PVPS methodology references — PR 0.78–0.84
S5Commercial TOPCon median annual degradationhttps://www.iea.org/IEA PVPS Trends reports — commercial TOPCon 0.4–0.7 %/yr
S6MEA industrial electricity tariff rangehttps://www.iea.org/IEA Electricity Market Report — MEA industrial 0.06–0.12 USD/kWh
S7HS-code & duty lookup — USITC HTShttps://hts.usitc.gov/USITC Harmonized Tariff Schedule search
S8HS-code & duty lookup — EU TARIChttps://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/dds2/taric/taric_consultation.jsp?Lang=enEuropean Commission TARIC consultation
S9HS-code & duty lookup — UK Global Tariffhttps://www.trade-tariff.service.gov.uk/UK trade tariff lookup
S10HS-code & duty lookup — Japan Customshttps://www.customs.go.jp/english/Japan Customs (English)
S11MEA national customs lookup — South Africahttps://www.sars.gov.za/South African Revenue Service
S12MEA national customs lookup — Ghanahttps://gra.gov.gh/Ghana Revenue Authority
S13MEA national customs lookup — Ugandahttps://www.ura.go.ug/Uganda Revenue Authority
S14MEA / APAC customs lookup — Australiahttps://www.abf.gov.au/Australian Border Force
S15EU Battery Regulation (if BESS added)https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2023/1542/ojRegulation (EU) 2023/1542 — official EUR-Lex document page
S16Trade termshttps://iccwbo.org/business-solutions/incoterms-rules/incoterms-2020/ICC Incoterms 2020 rules page
S17Freight forwarding documentationhttps://fiata.org/FIATA (international freight forwarders)
S18Wood packaging compliancehttps://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/standards-setting/ispms/IPPC ISPM standards list (incl. ISPM 15)
S19Dangerous goods (if BESS added)https://www.iata.org/en/programs/cargo/dgr/IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations programme page
S20RFQ endpointhttps://tradvolt.com/rfq/TradVolt RFQ form (live, authoritative)

Note on certification claims: module / inverter certification IDs (TÜV Rheinland / TÜV SÜD / UL for IEC 61215:2021, IEC 61730-1/-2:2016, IEC 62109-1:2010 / IEC 62109-2:2011) are not asserted on this page — see §1 disclaimer. Confirm certificate numbers against the OEM datasheet PDF and the relevant certifier register at RFQ stage.

7. CTA Block — Request a Quote

Ready to scope an 8 MWp Tier-1 TOPCon / Sungrow SG250HX industrial PV plant in MEA? Submit your site data through the TradVolt RFQ form. Required inputs at RFQ stage: country of import, point of interconnection voltage, on-site load profile, available land area, and any project-specific PPA / capex constraints.

Request a Quote (RFQ) →

8. Limitations & Model Assumptions (explicit)