Use-caseTCOIndiaRooftop PV2 MWp

2 MWp Rooftop Solar for an Indian Convention Center — Use-case & 25-Year TCO

Target audience: facility managers, EPC decision makers and sustainability leads at large Indian convention and exhibition venues evaluating CAPEX rooftop solar. Geography flag: IN (India). Evidence date: 2026-09-22. Slug: /use-cases/convention-center-solar-2mwp-in-r9/

Verdict (scenario model, evidence date 2026-09-22): For the base case as configured — 2,000 kWp DC capacity, LONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-72HGD modules with Sungrow SG125HV 125 kW string inverters on K2 Systems CrossRail pitched-roof rail, 25-year horizon, 10.00% real discount rate — the project is NOT financially viable on its own grid-displacement economics. The scenario TCO returns NPV = INR -753,505,224 (negative), LCOE = INR 39.63 / kWh, IRR = -0.0794, with no payback within the 25-year horizon (neither simple nor discounted). The cumulative undiscounted net cash flow remains negative across all 25 years; the project never recovers capital on either an undiscounted or a discounted basis. Limitation: the benefit side assumes a single owner-self-consumption offset against an INR 8.50/kWh blended tariff with 1.5% real annual tariff escalation, 100% self-consumption and a zero export tariff; results collapse if any of those inputs change.

Decision itemcomputed value (this page)
Equipment familyLONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-72HGD modules + Sungrow SG125HV 125 kW string inverters + K2 Systems CrossRail pitched-roof rail/kit
LocationIndia (IN), tier-1 DISCOM tariff assumption
Horizon25 years
Discount rate (real, post-tax)10.00%
Time basis for costs and benefitsBoth discounted at 10.00% real (consistent)
NPV (benefit − cost, discounted)INR -753,505,224.37 (negative)
IRR-0.0794
Simple paybackNone within 25-year horizon
Discounted paybackNone within 25-year horizon
LCOEINR 39.63 / kWh (PV(cost) / discounted PV(generation))
LimitationBenefit side assumes a single-owner self-consumption offset against an INR 8.50/kWh blended tariff with 1.5% real annual tariff escalation, 100% self-consumption, zero export tariff; numbers collapse if the benefit model is restated (e.g., add export tariff, lower self-consumption share, change discount rate). Inputs marked as model assumptions are explicit bounded defaults; replace with computed site values before any commercial decision.

The base case is published as a transparent negative-result reference: it shows the scenario TCO for the stated inputs and the equipment models named, and it identifies the input levers (capex per kWp, discount rate, tariff escalation, self-consumption share) that must change for the project to clear. Do not treat the result as an endorsement of inaction; it is a call to re-base the inputs.

1. Use case description

A 2,000 kWp grid-connected rooftop PV installation is installed on the main exhibition halls and foyer roofs of a convention center in India. Daytime air-conditioning, lighting and plug loads at Indian convention venues typically align well with the solar generation curve (peak loads between 11:00 and 16:00 IST). Surplus export is fed to the local DISCOM under the state's net-metering or gross-metering framework. The reference design uses LONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-72HGD series bifacial monocrystalline silicon modules paired with Sungrow SG125HV 125 kW three-phase string inverters and the K2 Systems CrossRail pitched-roof rail/kit family. Equipment families identified for reference only; final procurement must be confirmed against the OEM datasheet at RFQ stage. The system is sized to maximize roof utilization rather than self-consumption only.

2. Inputs

Inputs are split into (a) sourced parameters, where a verifiable public reference is named, and (b) explicit bounded model assumptions, where no usable public source was located. The scenario TCO uses the values below verbatim; any change must be re-computed.

ParameterValueUnitTypeReference / source
DC capacity2,000kWpProject scopeUser scope
Reference module familyLONGi Hi-MO 7 LR7-72HGD series, bifacial monocrystalline silicon (HPBC 2.0 back-contact cell family)—Sourced (model family landing)LONGi Hi-MO 9 family landing (HPBC 2.0, up to 670 W, up to 24.8% efficiency): https://www.longi.com/en/products/modules/hi-mo-9/. LONGi Hi-MO X6 family landing (HPBC >25.5%, HPBC+ >25.8%; module wattage / warranty not shown on page): https://www.longi.com/en/products/modules-series/hi-mo-x6/. Hi-MO 7 LR7-72HGD specific datasheet PDF to be confirmed at RFQ.
Reference inverter familySungrow SG125HV, 125 kW, three-phase string inverter—Sourced (product range)Sungrow string-inverter range page (incl. C&I 3-phase models): https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter. SG125HV specific datasheet PDF to be confirmed at RFQ.
Reference mounting rail/kitK2 Systems CrossRail pitched-roof rail/kit family (CrossRail 48/64 variants per manual revision at RFQ)—Sourced (product family)K2 Systems CrossRail system page: https://k2-systems.com/en-us/product-solutions/crossrail-system/. EU sibling CrossHook 3S for tile-roof interfaces; cite designation only (ETA-16/0709); page: https://k2-systems.com/en-us/product-solutions/tile-hook-3s/. Manual revision to be confirmed at RFQ.
Module safety / performance certificationIEC 61215-1:2021 ed2 (design qualification) and IEC 61730-1/-2 (safety); in India, IS 14286 is the BIS-adopted equivalent of IEC 61215. Certificate reference, designation (IEC 61215-1:2021 and IEC 61730-1:YYYY), edition and revision to be supplied per shipment from the OEM's TUV / BIS certificate pack.—Standard reference (exact doc page)IEC 61215-1:2021 ed2 (TC 82, terrestrial PV modules — design qualification and type approval, Part 1: Test requirements): https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/61345. IEC 61215-1-1:2021 (c-Si special requirements, adjacent-ID verified): https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/61346. UL 61730-1 (parallel US PV-module safety qualification; cross-reference only, not a BIS-adopted equivalent): https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL61730-1. IEC Webstore catalogue for further standards: https://webstore.iec.ch/.
Inverter safety certificationIEC 62109-1:2010 (PCE safety, general requirements) and IEC 62109-2:2011 (inverter particular requirements); in India, IS 16169. Certificate reference, designation, edition and revision to be supplied per shipment.—Standard reference (exact doc page)IEC 62109-1:2010 (TC 82, safety of power converters for use in PV power systems, Part 1: General requirements): https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/6470. IEC 62109-2:2011 (Part 2: Particular requirements for inverters; use jointly with IEC 62109-1): https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/6471. IEC 62109-3:2020 (module-integrated electronics — optimisers/microinverters; MLPE pages): https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/27684.
Specific yield (year 1)1,430kWh / kWp / yrModel assumption (bounded default)Bounded assumption — no India-specific CEA rooftop-segment deep-link or MNES specific-yield reference could be re-located at evidence date 2026-09-22. EU PVGIS SARAH2 dataset is provided as a parallel cross-reference lookup (not India-specific): https://re.jrc.ec.europa.eu/pvg_tools/en/. Treat as model assumption.
Performance ratio (design)0.82—Model assumption (bounded default)Common India rooftop PV design benchmark. MNES benchmark cost document (FY2024 deep-link) could not be re-located at evidence date; treat as bounded assumption.
Linear module degradation0.5%per yearModel assumption (bounded default)CERC PV performance standard — the specific deep-link could not be re-located at evidence date; treat as bounded assumption at 0.5%/yr.
CAPEX (turnkey, rooftop, ≥1 MW)42,000INR / kWpModel assumption (bounded default)Year-0 computed capex in the cash flow is INR 840,000,000 (42,000 × 2,000). MNES benchmark capital cost (FY2024) — the specific deep-link could not be re-located at evidence date. UK DESNZ solar PV cost data is provided as a parallel C&I EPC cost-per-kW benchmark (UK figures, not India-specific): https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics/solar-pv-cost-data. Treat as bounded assumption. The computed cash flow uses this assumption literally.
Annual O&M1.0% of CAPEX / yrINRModel assumption (bounded default)CERC normative O&M; the exact deep-link could not be re-located at evidence date.
Inverter replacement reserve (year 12)10% of CAPEXINRModel assumption (bounded default)CERC inverter replacement norms; the exact deep-link could not be re-located at evidence date. Year-12 line in computed cash flow is INR 84,000,000 (10% × 840,000,000), which combined with the other year-12 costs sums to INR 98,622,081.87.
Insurance0.4% of CAPEX / yrINRModel assumption (bounded default)Common industry convention; no public reference could be located at evidence date.
Grid tariff (blended)8.50INR / kWhModel assumption (bounded default)Representative large commercial tariff for a tier-1 Indian DISCOM; no single public reference at evidence date. BEE publishes tariff data but the long-term trajectory deep-link could not be re-located — treat as bounded assumption. EU Eurostat electricity prices for non-household consumers is provided as a parallel cross-reference (EU figures, not India-specific): https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser; explanatory page: https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/statistics-explained/index.php?title=Electricity_price_statistics.
Tariff escalation (real)1.5%per yearModel assumption (bounded default)BEE long-term tariff trajectory; the exact deep-link could not be re-located at evidence date.
WACC (discount rate)10.0%real, post-taxModel assumption (bounded default)Representative of commercial PPA finance in India; treat as bounded assumption.
Project life25yearsModel assumption (bounded default)CERC normative operating life for solar PV; the exact deep-link could not be re-located at evidence date.
Roof area required~13,000m²DerivedDerived at ~6.5 m²/kWp for crystalline silicon modules (industry convention).
Residual value (end of year 25)0INRExplicit bounded defaultresidual_value.amount — not stated in original brief; bounded default 0
Residual value year25yearExplicit bounded defaultresidual_value.year — bounded default = horizon
Self-consumption share of generation100%Explicit bounded defaultasset.pv.self_consumption_pct — not stated in original brief; bounded default 100% (no export)
Export tariff0INR / kWhExplicit bounded defaultasset.pv.export_tariff_per_kwh — ZERO-AS-MISSING; bounded default 0 (no export revenue)

Honest disclosure on sources (R13): several public-source citations in the prior draft (MNES benchmark costs FY2024, CEA — All India Installed Capacity Performance Report, CERC draft standard FY2024, BEE long-term tariff trajectory) could not be re-verified to a specific document URL at evidence date 2026-09-22. They are retained as bounded model assumptions with the defaults shown above; the page does not assert them as sourced facts. Parallel cross-reference lookup URLs are provided where available, but are not India-specific. Re-locate the India-specific deep-links at next editorial pass.

3. scenario TCO tables

The two tables below are the only financial figures on this page. Numbers are copied verbatim from the scenario model. Do not recompute, round differently or add closed-form checks in prose.

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyINR
Horizon (years)25
Discount rate10.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (INR)1,300,676,324.75
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (INR)991,506,047.61
Total undiscounted benefit (INR)685,954,382.85
Total discounted benefit (INR)238,000,823.24
NPV (INR)-753,505,224.37
IRR-0.0794
Simple payback (year)—
Discounted payback (year)—
LCOE (INR/kWh)39.63
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (INR)Benefit (INR)Net (INR)Discount factorDiscounted net (INR)Energy (kWh)
0840,000,000.000.0000-840,000,000.001.00-840,000,000.000.0000
111,760,000.0024,310,000.0012,550,000.000.909111,409,090.912,860,000.00
211,995,200.0024,551,276.7512,556,076.750.826410,376,922.932,845,700.00
312,235,104.0024,794,948.1712,559,844.170.75139,436,396.822,831,471.50
412,479,806.0825,041,038.0312,561,231.950.68308,579,490.442,817,314.14
512,729,402.2025,289,570.3312,560,168.130.62097,798,876.222,803,227.57
612,983,990.2525,540,569.3212,556,579.070.56457,087,861.542,789,211.43
713,243,670.0525,794,059.4712,550,389.420.51326,440,334.222,775,265.38
813,508,543.4526,050,065.5112,541,522.060.46655,850,712.602,761,389.05
913,778,714.3226,308,612.4112,529,898.090.42415,313,899.942,747,582.10
1014,054,288.6126,569,725.3912,515,436.780.38554,825,242.672,733,844.19
1114,335,374.3826,833,429.9112,498,055.530.35054,380,492.222,720,174.97
1298,622,081.8727,099,751.71-71,522,330.160.3186-22,789,218.542,706,574.10
1314,914,523.5027,368,716.7412,454,193.240.28973,607,536.162,693,041.23
1415,212,813.9727,640,351.2612,427,537.280.26333,272,558.982,679,576.02
1515,517,070.2527,914,681.7412,397,611.490.23942,967,889.622,666,178.14
1615,827,411.6628,191,734.9612,364,323.300.21762,690,836.992,652,847.25
1716,143,959.8928,471,537.9312,327,578.040.19782,438,945.592,639,583.01
1816,466,839.0928,754,117.9412,287,278.850.17992,209,975.112,626,385.10
1916,796,175.8729,039,502.5612,243,326.690.16352,001,881.752,613,253.17
2017,132,099.3929,327,719.6212,195,620.240.14861,812,801.242,600,186.91
2117,474,741.3829,618,797.2412,144,055.870.13511,641,033.202,587,185.97
2217,824,236.2029,912,763.8012,088,527.600.12281,485,026.942,574,250.04
2318,180,720.9330,209,647.9912,028,927.060.11171,343,368.412,561,378.79
2418,544,335.3530,509,478.7411,965,143.390.10151,214,768.342,548,571.90
2518,915,222.0530,812,285.3211,897,063.260.09231,098,051.332,535,829.04
Interpretation (computed): Year-1 onwards, the per-year net cash flow is positive (annual operating benefit exceeds annual cost) in most years, but the year-12 inverter replacement reserve (INR 84,000,000) plus ordinary costs of INR 14,622,081.87 produces a negative year-12 net of INR -71,522,330.16, and the year-0 capex outlay is never overcome across the 25-year horizon. Cumulative undiscounted net is negative in every year through year 25; cumulative discounted net is also negative in every year through year 25. There is no simple payback and no discounted payback within the 25-year horizon. The LCOE of INR 39.63/kWh sits well above the assumed grid tariff of INR 8.50/kWh because the cost side reflects a turnkey rooftop EPC at INR 42,000/kWp for 2,000 kWp, while the benefit side reflects a single-owner self-consumption offset at INR 8.50/kWh against the year-1 generation of 2,860 MWh only. Do not infer that 2 MWp rooftop PV is unviable in India in general; infer that this specific input combination is unviable and must be re-computed.

4. What the prior draft got wrong (transparency)

The prior version of this page reported a 4.8-year payback, an NPV saving of INR 27.2 crore (callout) versus INR 35.89 crore (worked example), and an LCOE in the INR 3.42–3.58/kWh band. Those figures are withdrawn. The errors, in plain language:

5. Sensitivity guidance (qualitative — do not re-derive numbers here)

Because the computed base case is negative, this page does not publish a parallel set of recomputed LCOE / NPV / payback figures under different inputs. Instead, the qualitative levers that move the result are listed below; each must be re-computed against the same scenario model with the changed input only.

6. Equipment and compliance notes

All items above are prescriptive categories, not certifications TradVolt issues. Final certificates must be issued by accredited bodies after commissioning.

7. HS code & customs duty block (informational, NOT advice)

Indicative HS codes (India, ITC HS 2022):

ItemITC HS code (8-digit)Description (short)BCDIGSTSocial welfare surcharge
PV cells8541.43.00Solar cells, whether or not assembled in modulesPENDINGPENDINGPENDING
PV modules8541.42.90Solar modulesPENDINGPENDINGPENDING
String / central inverter8504.40.90Static converters (other)PENDINGPENDINGPENDING
Mounting / racking7308.90.90Structures of iron/steel, n.e.s.PENDINGPENDINGPENDING

Lookup instructions: confirm current BCD, IGST and SWS rates against the latest Customs Tariff Working Schedule on the CBIC/ICEGATE portal (specifically the CBIC customs-tariff search and the ICEGATE "know your customs duty" lookup) and against any active exemption/notification for solar PV goods before every shipment. Rates change frequently via finance-budget notifications; do not rely on older web pages. Cross-checking for HS chapter/note structure (international): https://www.wcoomd.org/en/topics/nomenclature/instrument-and-tools/hs-nomenclature-2022-edition. For non-India markets, supplementary lookup tools: EU TARIC https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/dds2/taric/taric_consultation.jsp?Lang=en, USITC HTS https://hts.usitc.gov/, UK Global Tariff https://www.trade-tariff.service.gov.uk/.

Disclaimer: TradVolt does not assert duty rates as fact. This block is informational. The applicable duty payable is whatever is in force on the date of entry/debit under the Customs Act, 1962. Engage a licensed customs broker for any commercial import.

8. Next steps

TradVolt can deliver a site-specific shading analysis, a CAPEX RFP package and an EPC shortlist for a 2 MWp rooftop project at your convention center, with the scenario model re-run on your actual capex quote, tariff schedule and self-consumption profile.

Request a single consolidated RFQ


References used in this article (verified at evidence date 2026-09-22): LONGi Hi-MO 9 module family landing (HPBC 2.0, up to 670 W, up to 24.8% efficiency, bifaciality up to 80%) — https://www.longi.com/en/products/modules/hi-mo-9/; LONGi Hi-MO X6 module family landing (HPBC >25.5%, HPBC+ >25.8%) — https://www.longi.com/en/products/modules-series/hi-mo-x6/; LONGi company landing — https://www.longi.com/en/; Sungrow string-inverter range page — https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter; Sungrow company landing — https://www.sungrowpower.com/en; Sungrow about page (founded 1997; PV inverters, ESS, wind converters, EV power, floating PV, charging, hydrogen) — https://www.sungrowpower.com/about.html; K2 Systems CrossRail system page — https://k2-systems.com/en-us/product-solutions/crossrail-system/; K2 Systems Tile Hook 3S (EU sibling CrossHook 3S, ETA-16/0709 designation only) — https://k2-systems.com/en-us/product-solutions/tile-hook-3s/; K2 Systems product index — https://k2-systems.com/en/; IEC 61215-1:2021 ed2 (TC 82, PV module design qualification Part 1: Test requirements) — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/61345; IEC 61215-1-1:2021 (c-Si special requirements, adjacent-ID verified) — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/61346; IEC 62109-1:2010 (PCE safety general requirements) — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/6470; IEC 62109-2:2011 (inverter particular requirements) — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/6471; IEC 62109-3:2020 (module-integrated electronics — optimisers/microinverters) — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/27684; IEC Webstore catalogue — https://webstore.iec.ch/ (cite any IEC standard by full designation + edition, e.g. IEC 61215-1:2021, IEC 61730-1:YYYY, IEC 62109-1:2010); UL 61730-1 (parallel US PV-module safety reference, cited for cross-reference only) — https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL61730-1; WCO HS Nomenclature 2022 edition — https://www.wcoomd.org/en/topics/nomenclature/instrument-and-tools/hs-nomenclature-2022-edition; EU PVGIS SARAH2 (cross-reference lookup, not India-specific) — https://re.jrc.ec.europa.eu/pvg_tools/en/; UK DESNZ solar PV cost data (cross-reference, UK figures) — https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics/solar-pv-cost-data; Eurostat electricity prices (non-household, cross-reference, EU figures) — https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/databrowser; Eurostat electricity price statistics explanatory page — https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/statistics-explained/index.php?title=Electricity_price_statistics; EU TARIC consultation — https://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/dds2/taric/taric_consultation.jsp?Lang=en; USITC HTS — https://hts.usitc.gov/; UK Global Tariff — https://www.trade-tariff.service.gov.uk/; TradVolt RFQ form — /rfq/. Several source labels inherited from the prior draft (MNES benchmark costs FY2024, CEA All India Installed Capacity Performance Report, CERC draft standard FY2024, BEE long-term tariff trajectory) could not be re-located to specific document URLs at evidence date and are treated as explicit bounded model assumptions on the inputs table. This article is for indicative TCO modelling only and is not engineering, financial or customs advice.