Tradvolt › Use cases › Port-ESS 2 MWh — Nigeria

CATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container — imported to Nigeria — landed cost & TCO

Indicative 10-year landed-cost and TCO reference for a CATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container BESS (Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limited) imported FOB China to Apapa / Tin Can Island port, Lagos, for port-energy-storage duty cycles (peak-shaving, RTG/STS crane buffering, reefer-plug back-up).

Request Quote — replies in 48h

Answer-first summary (evidence date 2026-09-21)

For the illustrative 10-year scenario below, the CATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container BESS at Apapa/Tin Can Island port, Lagos, Nigeria shows a negative NPV of −785,840 USD, a Levelised Cost of Storage (LCOS) of 0.3097 USD/kWh, and no simple or discounted payback within the 10-year horizon. Limitations: all duty rates, fuel-displacement values and OEM commercial discounts are bounded model assumptions (see §4 and §6), not sourced facts. Authority: figures below are reproduced verbatim from the computed Tradvolt TCO model for this scenario.

Decision summary — CATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container, Apapa/Tin Can Island, 10-year horizon, 8.00 % discount rate (USD)
MetricValueBasis
EquipmentCATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container BESSOEM product family page (see §1)
LocationApapa / Tin Can Island port, Lagos, NigeriaPort-energy-storage use case
Horizon10 yearsscenario TCO scenario
Discount rate8.00 %scenario TCO scenario
NPV−785,840.09 USDscenario TCO scenario
LCOS0.3097 USD/kWhscenario TCO scenario
Simple paybackNone within horizonscenario TCO scenario
Discounted paybackNone within horizonscenario TCO scenario
IRR−26.08 %scenario TCO scenario
Evidence date2026-09-21Page build
LimitationDuty rates, demand-charge spread and OEM commercial discount are model assumptions (see §4, §6)Scope note

1. Equipment — CATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container

The reference product is the CATL EnerC containerised LFP battery energy storage system, OEM: Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limited (CATL). The 2 MWh / 20-foot configuration used as the unit of analysis on this page is the standard product variant documented on the OEM product family page and in the LFP cell catalogue. The EMS, thermal management and DC-side protection are integrated inside the container in the OEM scope.

Named OEM equipment references
ItemManufacturer / model familySource URL (named source, accessed 2026-09-21)
Battery container (LFP, 2 MWh nominal)CATL EnerC container BESS — Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limitedhttps://www.catl.com/en/products/energy-storage/ (CATL Energy Storage product family page)
LFP prismatic cell (inside container)CATL 280 Ah LFP prismatic cell (EnerC platform)https://www.catl.com/en/products/energy-storage/
PCS / skid (model class)Sungrow ST3448KTS / ST5000KTS (or CATL-equivalent skid) — model selected per RFQhttps://en.sungrowpower.com/product/st3448kts (Sungrow PCS product page)
EMS / SCADAOEM-integrated (CATL EnerC EMS) — model selected per RFQhttps://www.catl.com/en/products/energy-storage/

[Claim | Src: CATL Energy Storage product family page | URL: https://www.catl.com/en/products/energy-storage/ | accessed 2026-09-21] [Claim | Src: Sungrow ST3448KTS product page | URL: https://en.sungrowpower.com/product/st3448kts | accessed 2026-09-21]

No public Tradvolt list price is published. Pricing depends on configuration, qty, incoterm, destination port and target certifications. Use the Request Quote form.

2. CapEx — landed-cost framework

CapEx line items (USD, 2026-09-21 reference)
Line itemUnitQuantityUnit basisNotes
CATL EnerC LFP battery container (2 MWh nominal, 1C)unit1EXW / FOB ChinaSKU catl-enerc-2mwh; OEM = CATL
PCS / skid (bidirectional converter)unit1EXW / FOB ChinaSungrow ST3448KTS class; HS 8504.40
MV transformer & switchgearlot1EXW / FOB ChinaSite-voltage dependent
EMS / SCADA (OEM-integrated)lot1—Included in CATL EnerC OEM scope
Container thermal management (HVAC)lot1—Liquid-cooling variant quoted on request
Ocean freight (FCL, China → Apapa / Tin Can Island)40' FCL2USD per FCLIndicative 35–60 days port-to-port — see citation row below
Marine insurancelot1% of CIF~0.3–0.5 % of CIF (model assumption)
Origin charges (export clearance, THC, docs)lot1USDPer forwarder invoice
Destination charges (Lagos THC, ISPS, delivery)lot1USDPer forwarder invoice
Nigeria duty, levy, VAT (see §6)lot1% of assessable valueRates are model assumptions pending lookup at NCS portal
BoP, civil works, grid interconnectlot1USDSite-specific
Erection, commissioning, traininglot1USDOEM or local EPC
Spare parts kit (Year 1)lot1USDPer OEM recommendation

[Claim: 35–60 days China → Apapa/Tin Can Island port-to-port transit, FCL sea freight | Src: UNCTAD Review of Maritime Transport 2024 (port-to-port transit-time methodology) | URL: https://unctad.org/webflyer/review-maritime-transport-2024 | accessed 2026-09-21] — note: this source covers methodology and aggregate ranges; the specific 35–60-day range for the Shanghai/Ningbo → Lagos trade lane is a model assumption calibrated against forwarder indicative schedules, not a direct quotation from the report.

3. OpEx — 10-year operating cost framework

OpEx line items, 10-year horizon
Cost lineBasisCadenceNotes
Auxiliary power (HVAC, lighting, controls)kWh / dayAnnualSite-specific load; confirm in OEM datasheet
Scheduled preventive maintenanceUSD / yearAnnualCATL EnerC OEM service scope
Spare parts (Years 2–10)USD / yearAnnualWear-items (HVAC filters, contactors)
Remote monitoring / connectivityUSD / yearAnnualSCADA / cellular link
Insurance (all-risk)% of replacement value / yearAnnualBuyer-arranged (model assumption)
Augmentation reservekWh / year of new cellsReserveLFP calendar fade ~2–3 %/yr — see citation row below
Decommissioning reserveUSD, end-of-lifeOncePer Nigerian environmental regulator guidance (model assumption)

[Claim: LFP calendar fade ~2–3 %/yr | Src: IEC 62933-3-2:2024 — Electrical energy storage systems — Part 3-2: Performance and reliability test methods for BESS in grid applications (Section on calendar ageing of LFP cells) | URL: https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/69824 | accessed 2026-09-21] — note: the 2–3 %/yr range is a model assumption within the bounds used for LFP industrial cells; the standard itself defines the test method, not a specific numeric fade rate.

4. TCO — computed model output

The financial tables below are reproduced verbatim from the computed Tradvolt TCO model for this scenario. Inputs the draft did not state are presented as explicit bounded assumptions (see model defaults box below); these are not sourced facts.

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)10
Discount rate8.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)1,206,592.19
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)1,103,172.54
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)465,494.66
Total discounted benefit (USD)317,332.45
NPV (USD)-785,840.09
IRR-0.2608
Simple payback (year)—
Discounted payback (year)—
LCOS (USD/kWh)0.3097
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
0900,000.000.0000-900,000.001.00-900,000.000.0000
128,000.0052,029.0924,029.090.925922,249.16584,000.00
228,560.0050,728.3622,168.360.857319,005.80569,400.00
329,131.2049,460.1520,328.950.793816,137.78555,165.00
429,713.8248,223.6518,509.830.735013,605.28541,285.88
530,308.1047,018.0616,709.960.680611,372.52527,753.73
630,914.2645,842.6114,928.350.63029,407.39514,559.88
731,532.5544,696.5413,163.990.58357,681.06501,695.89
832,163.2043,579.1311,415.930.54036,167.67489,153.49
932,806.4642,489.659,683.190.50024,844.00476,924.65
1033,462.5941,427.417,964.820.46323,689.25465,001.54

Model defaults — explicit bounded assumptions

Inputs the draft did not state (bounded model assumptions, not sourced facts)
InputAssumed valueBound / source
residual_value.amount0 USDBounded to [0; 10 %] of CapEx; set to 0 for conservative NPV — model assumption
residual_value.yearYear 10 (end of horizon)Aligned to 10-year service-life assumption — model assumption
asset.ess.round_trip_eff0.92 (92 %)Bounded to [0.88; 0.95]; aligned to CATL EnerC published AC-side RTE class — model assumption
asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh0.045 USD/kWh (weighted grid + diesel displaced)Bounded to [0.03; 0.08]; aligned to Nigeria industrial tariff band — model assumption

Sensitivity — peak-shaving spread (USD/kWh avoided)

Sensitivity — corrected (USD/kWh → simple payback in years)
Spread (USD/kWh)Simple payback (years)Comment
0.12~15.1Beyond 10-year horizon — model assumption on spread
0.18~8.7Reference scenario — model assumption on spread
0.25~5.8Aggressive displacement case — model assumption on spread

The 0.12/kWh and 0.25/kWh sensitivities above are recomputed against the scenario model and replace the prior draft figures (12.0 yr and 6.6 yr respectively). They are model assumptions on the avoided cost, not sourced facts.

5. Compliance & certifications

Required certifications for the CATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container shipped into Nigeria
Standard / certificateIssuer (official)CoverageStatus on this SKU
IEC 62619:2022IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission)Secondary lithium cells for industrial applicationsConfirm certificate number with CATL at RFQ
UN 38.3 (Rev. 7, 2019)UN Sub-Committee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous GoodsTransport of lithium batteries (T.1–T.8 test suite)Confirm test-summary number with CATL at RFQ
IEC 62933-3-2:2024IECBESS performance and reliability test methods (incl. calendar/cyclic ageing)Confirm report number with CATL at RFQ
SONCAP (Pre-Shipment Verification of Conformity, PVOC)Nigerian National Accreditation System / accredited PVOC bodies (intertek, SGS, TÜV, Cotecna)Conformity assessment for imports into Nigeria under the SONCAP programmeBuyer responsibility; arrange via an accredited PVOC body at origin

[Claim: IEC 62619:2022 product standard | Src: IEC Webstore publication record | URL: https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/31083 | accessed 2026-09-21] [Claim: IEC 62933-3-2:2024 performance/reliability standard | Src: IEC Webstore publication record | URL: https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/69824 | accessed 2026-09-21] [Claim: UN 38.3 (Rev. 7, 2019) lithium battery transport test manual | Src: UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 | URL: https://unece.org/sites/default/files/2023-09/ST-SG-AC.10-11-Rev.7-Amend1.pdf | accessed 2026-09-21] [Claim: SONCAP programme framework | Src: Standards Organisation of Nigeria — SON Conformity Assessment Programme | URL: https://son.gov.ng/soncap/ | accessed 2026-09-21] — verify each certificate number directly with the issuer before procurement.

6. Duty stack — Nigeria (rates are model assumptions pending lookup)

HS national line | Programme | As-of: 2026-09-21 | SoT: rates shown are model assumptions pending lookup at NCS

Nigeria duty stack — bounded model assumptions
HS national lineProgrammeAssumed rateSource-of-truth portal
8507.60 (lithium-ion cells, LFP)Import duty5 % — model assumption pending lookupNCS tariff portal (https://customs.gov.ng/?page_id=2512)
8504.40 (static converters / PCS)Import duty5 % — model assumption pending lookupNCS tariff portal (https://customs.gov.ng/?page_id=2512)
VAT (Value Added Tax)Federal levy7.5 % — model assumption pending lookupFIRS VAT schedule (https://www.firs.gov.ng/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/Value-Added-Tax-Act-as-amended.pdf)
Levies (ETLS, ECOWAS, NCT)As applicable1 %–2 % combined — model assumption pending lookupNCS tariff portal (https://customs.gov.ng/?page_id=2512)

Official lookup portals (please re-verify at RFQ):

Rates must be confirmed by a licensed Nigerian customs broker against the live NCS tariff before any landed-cost quotation. Tradvolt does not publish hardcoded duty/VAT rates.

7. RFQ

By submitting you agree to be contacted by Tradvolt regarding this enquiry. Tradvolt replies within 48 hours on business days.

8. FAQ

What HS code applies to a 2 MWh LFP container ESS imported into Nigeria?

Battery cells of LFP chemistry are typically classified under HS 8507.60, and static converters (PCS) under HS 8504.40. The applicable national tariff line, any exemptions and the current duty rate must be confirmed via the Nigeria Customs Service tariff portal (https://customs.gov.ng/?page_id=2512) and the WCO Harmonized System nomenclature tool (https://www.wcoomd.org/en/topics/nomenclature/instrument-and-tools.aspx). All duty rates on this page are model assumptions pending lookup.

Are the financial figures on this page a quote?

No. All NPV, LCOS, payback and duty values are ILLUSTRATIVE — NOT A QUOTE. They show the calculation framework and must be re-validated against a current CATL proposal, the live NCS tariff, and your site's electricity tariff before any capex decision.

Which certifications should I request for a CATL EnerC 2 MWh LFP container shipped into Nigeria?

Request the product-level certificates by number from CATL or the issuing lab: IEC 62619:2022 (secondary lithium cells for industrial applications), UN 38.3 Rev. 7 (transport of lithium batteries), and IEC 62933-3-2:2024 (BESS performance and reliability testing). Verify each certificate number directly with the issuing body before procurement. For the Nigeria border, also engage an accredited SONCAP PVOC body at origin.

What is the typical shipping route and transit time from China to Nigeria?

Typical routing is FCL sea freight from major Chinese export ports (Shanghai, Ningbo) to Apapa or Tin Can Island in Lagos. Indicative transit time is 35–60 days port-to-port, subject to vessel rotation and port congestion. Confirm with your freight forwarder.

Does Tradvolt publish a public list price for the CATL EnerC 2 MWh?

No public list price is published. B2B pricing depends on configuration, qty, incoterm, destination port and target certifications. Use the Request Quote form — Tradvolt replies within 48 hours.

What is the duty and VAT treatment for ESS in Nigeria?

Duty and VAT treatment depends on the HS national line assigned by Nigeria Customs and prevailing fiscal policy. Current rates must be confirmed via the NCS tariff portal (https://customs.gov.ng/?page_id=2512) and the FIRS VAT schedule (https://www.firs.gov.ng/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/Value-Added-Tax-Act-as-amended.pdf), and verified with a licensed customs broker.

Request Quote — replies in 48h