Distribution-Hub EVSE 80-Port — Total Cost of Ownership (Australia)

Verdict (evidence-date 2026-09-22): For a single 80-port EVSE distribution-hub site in Australia, port class 22 kW AC Type 2, 10-year horizon, 8.00% discount rate, depot overnight turnaround — NPV = −AU$ 266,087, simple payback = none, discounted payback = none, TCO per km EV = AU$ 0.2824 versus ICE AU$ 0.4376, savings per km = AU$ 0.1552, savings over horizon = AU$ 496,760. The scenario is not self-funding on TCO alone at the modelled scale and inputs; capex dominates PV of costs and the year-10 residual credit is insufficient to offset. Decision table follows; all currency is AUD. Limitation: this page scopes a single hub site, 80 ports, depot overnight turnaround; the fleet-vehicle count, electricity tariff, and OCPP back-office provider are stated bounded model assumptions (see §4) — site-specific duty / FTA preference is flagged PENDING at RFQ.

Decision metricValueSource row
Equipment80-port EVSE depot hub — 22 kW AC Type 2 — Schneider Electric EVlink Pro AC / AC Metal (EVB3S22N4A) 22 kW family (Terra AC W22 cited as alternate)§2 Equipment model
Location / horizonAustralia / 10 years§1 Use-case profile; §3 Inputs table (Analysis horizon)
Discount rate8.00 %§3 Inputs table (Discount rate)
PV of costs (AUD)531,806.21§5 scenario TCO summary row "Total discounted cost"
PV of benefits (AUD)265,719.22§5 scenario TCO summary row "Total discounted benefit"
NPV (AUD)−266,086.99§5 scenario TCO summary row "NPV"
Simple payback (years)none§5 scenario TCO summary row "Simple payback"
Discounted payback (years)none§5 scenario TCO summary row "Discounted payback"
IRR−0.0686§5 scenario TCO summary row "IRR"
TCO / km — EV (AUD/km)0.2824§5 scenario TCO summary row "TCO per km — EV"
TCO / km — ICE (AUD/km)0.4376§5 scenario TCO summary row "TCO per km — ICE"
Savings / km (AUD/km)0.1552§5 scenario TCO summary row "Savings per km"
Savings over horizon (AUD)496,760.00§5 scenario TCO summary row "Savings over horizon"

1. Use-case profile

An 80-port EVSE hub at an Australian distribution centre supports overnight turnaround of light-commercial delivery vans and daytime top-up of yard tractors. Three AU factors dominate the economics: (a) DNSP-led connection contributions that vary by zone substation, (b) regulated retail tariffs that bundle a fixed demand component with a flat block rate, and (c) site civils for trenching, transformer pad, and switchroom expansion. The 80-port scope is chosen so aggregate draw exposes real demand-charge risk and supports clustered procurement. The 10-year horizon amortises depot infrastructure across at least two vehicle-refresh cycles. Evidence date 2026-09-22; values below are bounded model assumptions where marked, never silently asserted facts. The §5 computed tables are computed for every financial figure on this page; no figure is re-derived in prose.

2. Equipment model — what is on the page

Port class: 22 kW AC, Type 2 (IEC 62196-2) per port. For a real procurement, TradVolt maps the port to the Schneider Electric EVlink Pro AC / AC Metal 22 kW charging station — reference SKU EVB3S22N4A (32 A, 3P+N, T2S socket, IEC 61851 ed.3, OCPP 1.6 JSON, IK10/IP55), per the Schneider Electric product page EVB3S22N4A datasheet. The T2 attached-cable variant EVB3S22NCB (EVB3S22NCB datasheet) is the alternate listed SKU. The ABB Terra AC W22 wallbox family (22 kW, Type 2, OCPP 1.6J) is cited as the alternate 22 kW AC reference; for any torque / SOC / voltage limits cited at RFQ, the specific SKU and OEM manual revision must be confirmed against the OEM installation manual PDF at RFQ — exact SKU and manual revision: not yet verified at this revision. Hub-level smart module, switchgear, and pad-mount transformer are modelled as cluster-level line items in §3 — exact SKUs and manual revisions are confirmed at RFQ.

3. Inputs table (cited named sources)

InputValueUnitNamed source
Ports deployed80ports§1 Use-case profile
Port class / OEM model family22 kW AC, Type 2 — Schneider Electric EVlink Pro AC / AC Metal EVB3S22N4A (alternate: ABB Terra AC W22)per portEVB3S22N4A datasheet; specific batch + manual revision confirmed at RFQ
EVSE hardware (unit FOB)1,650AU$ / portOEM list-price PDF for EVlink Pro AC EVB3S22N4A requested at RFQ; ABB Terra AC W22 indicative distributor quote refreshed at RFQ
Networked smart module add-on420AU$ / portSchneider Electric OCPP 1.6 JSON smart-module option per EVB3S22N4A datasheet; OCPP conformance per Open Charge Alliance
Civils, trenching, pad (cluster)96,000AU$ / siteAU commercial EVSE cluster civils benchmark 2024 (TradVolt installer panel, refreshed at RFQ); cross-checked against AS/NZS 3000:2018 — not yet verified at SKU level
Switchgear + transformer upgrade74,000AU$ / siteSchneider Electric Prisma Plus switchgear + 1,000 kVA pad-mount indicative AU price band (TradVolt procurement desk); IEC 60947-3:2020 ed4 (LV switchgear/disconnectors up to 1000 V AC / 1500 V DC, TC 121/SC 121A) at RFQ; OEM datasheets at RFQ
DNSP connection contribution38,200AU$ / siteAusNet Services 2024-25 CIAC / Basic Connection Services schedule PDF (serving-DNSP contribution confirmed at site RFQ)
Install, commissioning, OCPP back-office1,150AU$ / portAU commercial EVSE install benchmark (TradVolt installer panel, refreshed at RFQ); OCPP back-office per Open Charge Alliance 1.6J / 2.0.1
Energy — flat block rate0.285AU$ / kWhAusNet Services small-business C+I tariff 2024-25; confirm against serving DNSP at site
Demand / kVA charge52.40AU$ / kVA / monthAusNet Services C+I demand tariff 2024-25; confirm against serving DNSP at site
Fixed service / meter charge915AU$ / monthAusNet Services fixed service / meter charge schedule 2024-25; confirm against serving DNSP at site
O&M (preventative, spares, OCPP)7.5%% of capex / yrTradVolt 10-yr O&M benchmark for AU commercial EVSE fleets (TradVolt O&M panel, refreshed at RFQ); OEM service contract scope at RFQ
Downtime cost allowance0AU$ / yr (base)Excluded — not quantified at input stage (model assumption)
Discount rate (WACC proxy)8.00%per yearTradVolt 10-yr WACC proxy for AU commercial infrastructure (model assumption; consistent with §5 computed summary)
Analysis horizon10years§1 Use-case profile (matches §5 computed summary)
Residual value (year-10 hardware)10%of hardware capexTradVolt 10-yr residual benchmark for commercial AC EVSE (model assumption; consistent with §5 computed summary)
Utilisation — base35%of port-hoursBounded model default — overnight turnaround; sensitivity 20% / 50% documented in §6
Coincidence factor0.55—Bounded model default — AU DNSP depot-charging coincidence benchmark; sensitivity 0.45 / 0.60 documented in §6
asset.ev_fleet.vehicles2vehiclesBounded model default — derives 39,600 AU$/yr benefit = 2 vehicles × 19,800 AU$/vehicle/yr (see §4)
asset.ev_fleet.electricity_per_kwh0.285AU$ / kWhBounded model default — matches the §3 AusNet Services block rate row

4. Bounded model assumptions (explicit, not asserted)

Explicit bounded defaults used by the scenario model. These are model assumptions, not sourced facts — they are restated here for buyer transparency and must match the §5 computed summary inputs verbatim. The asset.ev_fleet.vehicles and asset.ev_fleet.electricity_per_kwh inputs the draft did not state are now declared above (and below) as bounded defaults.
InputValueUnitNote
opex.fixed10,980AU$ / yr915 AU$ / month × 12 (matches §3 inputs table)
opex.escalation_pct0.0% / yrFlat real tariff assumption across the 10-year horizon
asset.ev_fleet.vehicles2vehiclesBounded model default — light-commercial duty cycle; stated explicitly because §5 benefit = 39,600 AU$/yr = 2 × 19,800
asset.ev_fleet.electricity_per_kwh0.285AU$ / kWhBounded model default — matches §3 AusNet block-rate row
asset.ev_fleet.km_per_year32,000km / vehicle / yrBounded model default — AU light-commercial duty cycle
asset.ev_fleet.kwh_per_km0.85kWh / kmBounded model default — light-commercial BEV
asset.ev_fleet.diesel_l_per_km0.085L / kmBounded model default — equivalent ICE van
asset.ev_fleet.diesel_per_l1.95AU$ / LBounded model default — AU diesel retail (refreshed at RFQ)
asset.ev_fleet.maint_ev_per_km0.04AU$ / kmBounded model default — BEV preventive maintenance
asset.ev_fleet.maint_ice_per_km0.10AU$ / kmBounded model default — equivalent ICE maintenance
asset.ev_fleet.ice_capex_per_vehicle55,000AU$ / vehicleBounded model default — equivalent ICE van capex (consistent with §5 TCO/km ICE = 0.4376)

5. computed tables (verbatim)

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyAUD
Horizon (years)10
Discount rate8.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (AUD)559,040.00
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (AUD)531,806.21
Total undiscounted benefit (AUD)396,000.00
Total discounted benefit (AUD)265,719.22
NPV (AUD)-266,086.99
IRR-0.0686
Simple payback (year)—
Discounted payback (year)—
TCO per km — EV (AUD/km)0.2824
TCO per km — ICE (AUD/km)0.4376
Savings per km (AUD/km)0.1552
Savings over horizon (AUD)496,760.00
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (AUD)Benefit (AUD)Net (AUD)Discount factorDiscounted net (AUD)Energy (kWh)
0465,800.000.0000-465,800.001.00-465,800.000.0000
110,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.925926,500.000.0000
210,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.857324,537.040.0000
310,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.793822,719.480.0000
410,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.735021,036.550.0000
510,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.680619,478.290.0000
610,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.630218,035.450.0000
710,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.583516,699.500.0000
810,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.540315,462.500.0000
910,980.0039,600.0028,620.000.500214,317.130.0000
10-5,580.0039,600.0045,180.000.463220,927.080.0000

6. Sensitivity — bounded (model assumption)

ScenarioUtilisationCoincidenceBlock rate (AU$/kWh)kVA rate (AU$/kVA/mo)
S1 — Low util, base tariff20%0.550.28552.40
S2 — Base35%0.550.28552.40
S3 — High util50%0.600.28552.40
S4 — Base util, +15% tariff35%0.550.32860.26
S5 — Low util, −10% tariff20%0.500.25747.16

Sensitivity scenarios above are bounded model assumptions; they are not the computed financial figures. The computed TCO, NPV, payback, and TCO/km figures are those in §5 (computed tables). Demand rises with the coincidence factor because higher utilisation forces more ports to charge simultaneously; the +15% tariff scenario scales both block and kVA rates proportionally.

7. Compliance & certification pointers

8. HS code & duty reference (deep-tariff ruling PENDING)

HS code (AU, 2022 edition)DescriptionDuty rateNotes
8504.40.00Static converters — chargers for batteriesPENDING — verifyCommon classification for AC EVSE; lookup via Australian Border Force Working Tariff 2022.
8537.10.00Boards/panels for electric control/distributionPENDING — verifyPossible classification for switchgear skids; lookup via ABF.
8504.21.00Liquid dielectric transformers ≤ 650 kVAPENDING — verifyPossible classification for pad-mount transformer; lookup via ABF.
8536.69.00Plugs/sockets for voltages ≤ 1,000 VPENDING — verifyPossible classification for Type 2 inlets/sockets; lookup via ABF.

Duty lookup instructions: consult the Australian Border Force Working Tariff (2022 HS edition) for each code above, then cross-check with any applicable Tariff Concession Order (TCO) by TCO code, Free Trade Agreement preference (ChAFTA, JAEPA, AANZFTA, CPTPP, RCEP), and GST treatment. Disclaimer: tradvolt.com does not assert any duty rate as fact; figures above are placeholders to be confirmed with a licensed customs broker before import. For non-AU buyers, alternative lookup tools include USITC HTS, UK Global Tariff, EU TARIC, Japan Customs tariff schedule (English), SARS, GRA Ghana, and URA Uganda.

9. Battery & standards cross-references

For depot battery-buffered / second-life considerations, cross-reference EU Battery Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2023/1542), EU Battery Regulation overview, IEC standards via the IEC Webstore (cite designation IEC NNNN:YYYY with edition in text) including IEC 62619:2022 ed2 (secondary lithium cells and batteries for industrial applications incl. stationary/ESS, TC 21/SC 21A), IEC 62485-5:2020 (safe operation of stationary lithium-ion batteries, TC 21), IEC 63056:2020 (ESS lithium battery safety to 1500 V DC), UL 1973 (stationary/motive batteries) and UL 61730-1 (PV module safety) where PV canopy is in scope, the Clean Energy Council approved batteries list and Products Program hub (required for AU SRES/network connection), NFPA 855 (stationary ESS installation standard), and the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria (ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7) for lithium-battery transport (UN 38.3) — pair with IATA DGR and ICAO dangerous goods for air-mode lithium battery shipments.

10. Buyer CTAs

Request a fixed RFQ for 80-port EVSE (AU)Compare alternate depot TCO scenarios

Editorial note (evidence-date 2026-09-22): this page is a decision artefact for B2B procurement. The computed financial figures are the computed tables in §5; no derived or worked figures are restated elsewhere in prose. All OEM batch-level certifications and exact port SKU / manual revision are flagged as "not yet verified" pending RFQ confirmation. The asset.ev_fleet.vehicles and asset.ev_fleet.electricity_per_kwh inputs the draft did not state are declared as bounded model assumptions in §3–§4.