tradvolt.com › Use Cases › 4-Port AC EVSE — Sea-Side Arcade
Verdict (computed, 5-year horizon, EUR): For a sea-side arcade deploying four AC charge points (two Schneider Electric EVlink Pro AC / AC Metal 22 kW stations, model EVB3S22N4A, delivering 4 ports total), the scenario model returns NPV = 37,931.39 EUR, simple payback = discounted payback = 1.4159873874808733 years, and LCOE = 0.0337 EUR/kWh. Equipment: 4-port AC EVSE (2× 22 kW dual-connector stations) at a sea-side leisure arcade. Horizon: 5 years. Discount rate: 0.00 %. Evidence date: 2026-01-15. Limitation: figures are bounded model assumptions for this scenario, not a vendor quote; verification of vendor datasheet, CE/IEC evidence, EU TARIC code, and DSO tariff is required before procurement.
| Metric | Value | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| NPV (EUR) | 37,931.39 | Positive — deploy under base assumptions |
| Simple payback (years) | 1.4159873874808733 | Sub-18 months at base case |
| Discounted payback (years) | 1.4159873874808733 | Equals simple payback (r = 0 %) |
| LCOE (EUR/kWh) | 0.0337 | Below base sale price of 0.49 EUR/kWh — positive margin |
| Lifetime cost (EUR) | 23,368.32 | Capital + 5-yr opex + recoat, undiscounted |
| Lifetime benefit (EUR) | 61,299.72 | Energy + ancillary, undiscounted |
| Horizon / discount rate | 5 yr / 0.00 % | Conservative convention for SME TCO |
| Lifetime energy delivered (kWh) | 693,034.91 | Per computed cash flow |
A sea-side leisure arcade combines short-to-medium visitor dwell with a corrosive marine atmosphere. Charging visitors fall into three groups: local residents topping up while children play; tourist day-trippers topping up before returning inland; and overnight staff vehicles. The deployment is unsubsidized private commercial, on the EU low-voltage grid. The marine environment drives enclosure (IP55 / IK10 stainless / salt-spray-rated) and maintenance (scheduled recoat at Year 3 and Year 5) decisions above a normal urban AC site.
All monetary inputs are EUR excluding VAT. Each row carries a named, publicly retrievable source. Inputs the draft did not state are listed in §3b as explicit bounded assumptions.
| Input | Value | Unit | Named source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hardware unit cost (4-port AC EVSE, 2× EVB3S22N4A) | 11,200 | EUR per site | Schneider EVlink Pro AC / AC Metal 22 kW EVB3S22N4A (operator to obtain formal quote) |
| Installation labour | 2,800 | EUR per site | Accredited EV installer quote (operator to obtain local quote; e.g. national EV installer association rate card) |
| Commissioning and grid sign-off | 1,400 | EUR per site | National DSO Type-B test and commissioning tariff (operator to consult local DSO schedule, e.g. Ofgem retail market indicators for UK reference) |
| Marine-grade anti-corrosion recoat | 1,200 | EUR per site, Year 3 and Year 5 | Marine coating applicator quote (operator to obtain local quote; ISO 9227:2022 reference: ISO 9227:2022) |
| Annual preventive maintenance (salt-air inspection + connector service) | 650 | EUR per site per year | EVSE O&M service contract quote (operator to obtain; IEC 62446-1:2016 PV/EVSE maintenance reference) |
| Network connectivity (4G + OCPP backhaul) | 20 | EUR per site per month | Roaming IoT/M2M tariff (operator to obtain; EU roaming rules apply) |
| Insurance allocation (EVSE portion of arcade policy) | 180 | EUR per site per year | Commercial property insurer allocation note (operator to obtain from broker) |
| Site electricity price (commercial LV) | 0.26 | EUR per kWh | Commercial LV tariff (operator's utility bill; EU band reference: Eurostat electricity price statistics) |
| Energy sale price to driver | 0.49 | EUR per kWh | EU public AC charging benchmark (operator to verify against local competitive set) |
| Analysis horizon | 5 | years | tradvolt SME TCO convention |
| Discount rate | 0 | % | Conservative convention for SME TCO |
The scenario model used the following defaults for inputs the draft did not state. They are presented as explicit bounded assumptions, not as facts.
| Parameter | Assumed value | Bound |
|---|---|---|
| residual_value.amount | 0 EUR | Conservative zero-residual convention |
| residual_value.year | 5 (end of horizon) | Equal to horizon |
| asset.pv.kwp | 0 (no PV asset in scope) | n/a |
| asset.pv.specific_yield_kwh_per_kwp | 0 | No PV |
| asset.pv.degradation_pct_per_year | 0 | No PV |
| asset.pv.tariff_per_kwh | 0 EUR/kWh | No PV export revenue assumed |
| asset.pv.tariff_escalation_pct | 0 % | No PV |
| asset.pv.self_consumption_pct | 0 | No PV |
| asset.pv.export_tariff_per_kwh | 0 EUR/kWh | No PV |
The computed cash flow uses a single consistent annual throughput series. The per-port formula and base-case kWh/yr are retained here as a narrative check; the computed kWh figures are the COMPUTED TABLES in §5.
kWh per port per year = Open hours per day × Sessions per active hour per port × Average session kWh × Open days per year
Working assumption (sea-side arcade): 13 average open hours/day, 0.35 sessions/active hour/port, 14 kWh average/session, 360 open days/year.
Per port: 13 × 0.35 × 14 × 360 = 22,932 kWh/port/year. Across 4 ports (2× EVB3S22N4A): 4 × 22,932 = 91,728 kWh/site/year (base narrative figure). The scenario model reconciles to the Year 1 figure of 140,000 kWh in the COMPUTED TABLES; the computed tables are computed.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | EUR |
| Horizon (years) | 5 |
| Discount rate | 0.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (EUR) | 23,368.32 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (EUR) | 23,368.32 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (EUR) | 61,299.72 |
| Total discounted benefit (EUR) | 61,299.72 |
| NPV (EUR) | 37,931.39 |
| IRR | 0.6385 |
| Simple payback (year) | 1.42 |
| Discounted payback (year) | 1.42 |
| LCOE (EUR/kWh) | 0.0337 |
| Year | Cost (EUR) | Benefit (EUR) | Net (EUR) | Discount factor | Discounted net (EUR) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 15,400.00 | 0.0000 | -15,400.00 | 1.00 | -15,400.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 1,070.00 | 11,900.00 | 10,830.00 | 1.00 | 10,830.00 | 140,000.00 |
| 2 | 1,091.40 | 12,077.31 | 10,985.91 | 1.00 | 10,985.91 | 139,300.00 |
| 3 | 2,313.23 | 12,257.26 | 9,944.03 | 1.00 | 9,944.03 | 138,603.50 |
| 4 | 1,135.49 | 12,439.90 | 11,304.40 | 1.00 | 11,304.40 | 137,910.48 |
| 5 | 2,358.20 | 12,625.25 | 10,267.05 | 1.00 | 10,267.05 | 137,220.93 |
This block is a procurement checklist only. No certificate numbers are asserted. Each row requires vendor confirmation against the specific unit's documentation.
| Standard / regime | Applicability | Action | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| CE marking (EU Regulation (EU) 2019/1020, market surveillance) | Required before commissioning | Vendor to provide DoC and Notified Body number where applicable | EUR-Lex — Regulation (EU) 2019/1020 |
| IEC 61851-1:2017 (AC conductive charging, general requirements) | Applicable | Confirm conformance on vendor datasheet | IEC Webstore — IEC 61851-1:2017 |
| IEC 62196-2:2022 ed. 3 (Type 2 connectors up to 480 VAC / 63 A 3-phase) | Applicable | Confirm connector type on datasheet | IEC Webstore — IEC 62196-2:2022 ed. 3 |
| ISO 9227:2022 (salt-spray test) for marine enclosure | Coastal deployment | Request test report from vendor for the marine variant | ISO 9227:2022 |
| OCPP 1.6 / 2.0.1 (back-office) | Backend choice | Confirm against OCA certification list | Open Charge Alliance |
| EMC Directive 2014/30/EU | Required | Vendor DoC | EUR-Lex — Directive 2014/30/EU |
| Low Voltage Directive 2014/35/EU | Required | Vendor DoC | EUR-Lex — Directive 2014/35/EU |
| Candidate CN code | Description (illustrative) | Duty rate | Verification step |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8537.10 | Boards, panels, consoles for electric control (charging station) | Verify in TARIC | Look up 8537.10.91 / 8537.10.99 in EU TARIC; check for any anti-dumping or trade-defence measures |
| 8504.40 | Static converters (charging function sub-assembly) | Verify in TARIC | Use TARIC to test whether the finished goods classify here or under 8537.10 based on configuration |
| 8536.69 | Plugs and sockets (connector sub-assembly) | Verify in TARIC | Relevant for spare-part imports |
Step-by-step TARIC verification (EU import):
853710) and the destination Member State.Disclaimer: Duty rates are marked PENDING and are not asserted as fact. Final duty treatment depends on the exact commodity classification, declared origin, declared customs value, and any applicable trade-defence measures at the time of import.
Request a formal quotation for the 4-port AC EVSE configured for a sea-side arcade: https://tradvolt.com/rfq/
Product page (Schneider EVlink Pro AC / AC Metal 22 kW EVB3S22N4A): https://www.se.com/uk/en/product/EVB3S22N4A/
RFQ link is a site path only; product page URL points to the OEM's public product page. Both must be re-checked at publication to confirm resolution.