Tradvolt › Use Cases › Grain Silo ESS 180 kWh — Sea-Located
Application: Grain silo aeration fans, conveyor interlocks and site services at a sea-located grain terminal. System sized at 180 kWh / ~90 kW with one 10-foot ISO containerised BESS unit, integrated with the existing diesel genset and incoming MV grid supply.
Equipment: CATL EnerC 372 kWh in scaled 180 kWh configuration (LFP, liquid-cooled, 10-ft ISO container) — see CATL EnerC product page. Hybrid PCS: Sungrow SG110CX commercial string inverter re-purposed as grid-tie PCS, paired with a Sungrow STS for grid-forming / genset hand-off. EMS: Huawei Smart PV Management System / SmartLogger 3000A per Huawei Smart PV product documentation. Limits (torque, SOC window, DC voltage) follow the OEM manuals cited above; operator must verify the exact build revision before procurement.
Location: sea-located grain terminal (coastal / C5-M exposure class).
Horizon: 10 years.
Evidence date: 2026-01-15. Reference documents are linked inline; tariff and duty figures should be re-checked against the issuing authority before procurement.
Limitation: Financial figures below are produced by Tradvolt's scenario TCO model from the inputs stated in §2. They are computed for this scenario and are not recomputed in the prose. Bounded model defaults not stated in the original brief are listed in §2 as explicit assumptions (not as sourced facts).
The modelled 10-year economics for a 180 kWh containerised LFP BESS at a sea-located grain silo are unfavourable on the financial line items alone. Discounted net position remains negative through year 10; no simple or discounted payback is achieved within the horizon.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| NPV (10 yr, r = 8%) | -208,944.12 USD |
| Simple payback | — (not achieved within 10 yr) |
| Discounted payback | — (not achieved within 10 yr) |
| LCOS | 0.6722 USD/kWh |
| PV of costs | 223,342.65 USD |
| PV of benefits | 14,398.53 USD |
| Verdict (financial only) | Reject on financial grounds; revisit with longer horizon, larger benefit stream, or non-financial mandate (resilience, tariff defensibility) |
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | USD |
| Horizon (years) | 10 |
| Discount rate | 8.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (USD) | 256,400.00 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD) | 223,342.65 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (USD) | 21,188.46 |
| Total discounted benefit (USD) | 14,398.53 |
| NPV (USD) | -208,944.12 |
| IRR | n/a |
| Simple payback (year) | — |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (USD/kWh) | 0.6722 |
| Year | Cost (USD) | Benefit (USD) | Net (USD) | Discount factor | Discounted net (USD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 158,400.00 | 0.0000 | -158,400.00 | 1.00 | -158,400.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 8,950.00 | 2,316.60 | -6,633.40 | 0.9259 | -6,142.04 | 53,460.00 |
| 2 | 9,129.00 | 2,270.27 | -6,858.73 | 0.8573 | -5,880.26 | 52,390.80 |
| 3 | 9,311.58 | 2,224.86 | -7,086.72 | 0.7938 | -5,625.66 | 51,342.98 |
| 4 | 9,497.81 | 2,180.37 | -7,317.45 | 0.7350 | -5,378.54 | 50,316.12 |
| 5 | 9,687.77 | 2,136.76 | -7,551.01 | 0.6806 | -5,139.09 | 49,309.80 |
| 6 | 9,881.52 | 2,094.02 | -7,787.50 | 0.6302 | -4,907.45 | 48,323.61 |
| 7 | 10,079.15 | 2,052.14 | -8,027.01 | 0.5835 | -4,683.68 | 47,357.13 |
| 8 | 10,280.74 | 2,011.10 | -8,269.64 | 0.5403 | -4,467.83 | 46,409.99 |
| 9 | 10,486.35 | 1,970.88 | -8,515.47 | 0.5002 | -4,259.86 | 45,481.79 |
| 10 | 10,696.08 | 1,931.46 | -8,764.62 | 0.4632 | -4,059.71 | 44,572.16 |
Cumulative discounted net cash flow at year 10 = -208,944.12 USD. No payback year exists inside the horizon.
Sea-located grain terminals operate continuously during harvest intake and through the storage season. Continuous low-power loads (aeration fans, conveyor interlocks, lighting, sampling systems, IT, HVAC for the control room) run for thousands of hours per year. A 180 kWh battery energy storage system performs three jobs at once:
The sea-located constraint is decisive. Salt-laden air accelerates corrosion of enclosures, fans, connectors and the BESS container itself. Cabling, glands, HVAC inlets and the PCS housing must be specified to a marine/coastal protection class per ISO 12944-2:2017 corrosivity category C5-M (very high, marine). Anti-corrosion paint cycles are shorter and the OPEX line for enclosure maintenance is materially higher than the same unit installed inland.
Sourced inputs cite a specific document URL. Bounded model defaults not stated in the operator brief are listed at the bottom and flagged as model assumption.
| Input | Value | Unit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Usable capacity (C) | 180 | kWh | Scaled from CATL EnerC 372 kWh product page; project sizing assumption. |
| Usable energy per day (year 1) | 162 | kWh/day | Calculated: 180 kWh × 0.90 DoD. DoD 90% is operator-supplied (model assumption). |
| Power rating (P) | 90 | kW | 0.5C of nameplate; PCS sized to Sungrow SG110CX capability. |
| Daily equivalent cycles | 1.0 | cycles/day | Operator-supplied duty cycle. |
| Operating days per year | 330 | days/yr | Operator-supplied. |
| Round-trip efficiency (η) | 0.90 | — | Operator-supplied; consistent with Sungrow SG110CX max efficiency 98.7% × battery RT ~92%. |
| Tariff peak demand charge (D) | 15 | USD/kW-month | Operator-supplied (illustrative). |
| Tariff energy charge peak | 0.11 | USD/kWh | Operator-supplied (illustrative). |
| Tariff energy charge off-peak | 0.06 | USD/kWh | Operator-supplied (illustrative). |
| Diesel fuel price (F) | 1.20 | USD/litre | Operator-supplied (illustrative). |
| Genset specific fuel consumption (SFC) | 0.30 | litre/kWh | Operator-supplied; typical for diesel gensets at 25–50% load per Diesel Duck reference. |
| Analysis horizon (N) | 10 | years | Operator-supplied. |
| Discount rate (r) | 8.00% | — | Operator-supplied WACC. |
| CAPEX (lump-sum, year 0) | 158,400.00 | USD | Computed from model (see §3); components per OEM datasheet CATL EnerC, Sungrow SG110CX, Huawei SmartLogger 3000A documentation (Huawei Smart PV). |
| Salt-corrosion maintenance multiplier (sea) | 1.30 | — | ISO 12944-2:2017 C5-M class guidance; operator to confirm with site survey. |
| CAPEX USD/kWh reference | ~400 | USD/kWh | BNEF Lithium-ion battery price survey 2024 (BloombergNEF); scaled for containerised BESS turnkey. |
| Annual OPEX (base, year 1) | 8,950.00 | USD/yr | Computed by model from operator inputs. |
| OPEX escalation | 2.00% | per year | Model assumption (bounded default; not stated in operator brief). |
| Residual value (end of year 10) | 0.00 | USD | Model assumption (bounded default; conservative). |
| Asset ESS usable fraction | 90.00% | of nameplate | Model assumption (bounded default; DoD window). |
| ESS capacity degradation | 2.00% | per year | Model assumption (bounded default; consistent with LFP cycle-life literature). |
| Line | Cost (USD) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| BESS unit (CATL EnerC 372 kWh scaled 180 kWh, LFP) | 72,000 | ~400 USD/kWh reference: BloombergNEF 2024. |
| Hybrid inverter / PCS (Sungrow SG110CX) | 18,000 | Bidirectional, grid-forming capable when paired with Sungrow STS. |
| EMS / energy management (Huawei SmartLogger 3000A) | 5,000 | Per Huawei Smart PV product page. |
| Marine-grade enclosure premium (C5-M) | 8,000 | ISO 12944-2:2017 C5-M paint, 316L fixings, sealed glands. |
| Container, HVAC, fire suppression | 12,000 | Liquid-cooled cabinet; suppression per IEC 62933-5-2:2024 BESS safety guidance (compliance target — not certified). |
| BoS, cabling, MV interface | 14,000 | Includes AC cabling, breakers, MV step-up. |
| Installation & commissioning | 10,000 | Crane, foundations, sea-site logistics surcharge. |
| Grid-connection study & permits | 5,000 | DNSP/utility study fees. |
| Contingency 10% | 14,400 | 10% of subtotal. |
| Total CAPEX | 158,400 | Sum of lines above. |
| Line | Cost (USD/yr) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Routine preventive maintenance | 2,500 | Operator-supplied baseline. |
| Salt-corrosion maintenance uplift | 750 | 2,500 × (1.30 − 1.00). ISO 12944-2:2017 C5-M. |
| Insurance | 1,200 | ~0.75% of CAPEX/yr (operator-supplied). |
| EMS SaaS / connectivity | 1,000 | Annual subscription. |
| Component replacement reserve | 3,500 | Sinking-fund over 10-year horizon. |
| Total annual OPEX (base, year 1) | 8,950 | Escalates at 2.00%/yr (model assumption). |
Year-1 benefits, computed from the operator inputs and the modelled energy/cost assumptions. Energy column (kWh) tracks the modelled annual throughput and reflects 2.00%/yr capacity degradation (model assumption). Benefits follow the model output (Year 1 = 2,316.60 USD; Year 10 = 1,931.46 USD).
| Year | Benefit (USD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 2,316.60 | 53,460.00 |
| 2 | 2,270.27 | 52,390.80 |
| 3 | 2,224.86 | 51,342.98 |
| 4 | 2,180.37 | 50,316.12 |
| 5 | 2,136.76 | 49,309.80 |
| 6 | 2,094.02 | 48,323.61 |
| 7 | 2,052.14 | 47,357.13 |
| 8 | 2,011.10 | 46,409.99 |
| 9 | 1,970.88 | 45,481.79 |
| 10 | 1,931.46 | 44,572.16 |
Each factual row carries a specific document URL. Rows the operator must supply themselves are flagged.
| # | Claim / Input | Specific Source URL |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | BESS OEM and product family (LFP containerised) | CATL EnerC product page |
| 2 | PCS model | Sungrow SG110CX datasheet |
| 3 | Grid-forming / STS | Sungrow STS product page |
| 4 | EMS / monitoring | Huawei Smart PV Management System product page |
| 5 | LFP battery cell transport test target | UN Recommendations on the Transport of Dangerous Goods, Manual of Tests and Criteria, 38.3 (UN 38.3) (compliance target — not certified) |
| 6 | Industrial secondary Li cell standard target | IEC 62619:2022 (compliance target — not certified) |
| 7 | BESS system safety target | IEC 62933-5-2:2024 and UL 9540A test methodology (compliance targets — not certified) |
| 8 | PCS safety target | IEC 62477-1 (compliance target — not certified) |
| 9 | Marine / coastal corrosion category | ISO 12944-2:2017 (C5-M classification) |
| 10 | EMC (industrial) target | EN 61000-6-2:2019 (compliance target — not certified) |
| 11 | EMC (industrial emissions) target | EN 61000-6-4:2019 (compliance target — not certified) |
| 12 | US import duty lookup — lithium-ion accumulators | USITC HTS 8507.60 |
| 13 | US import duty lookup — static converters | USITC HTS 8504.40 |
| 14 | US import duty lookup — control panels | USITC HTS 8537.10 |
| 15 | EU duty / measures lookup — lithium-ion accumulators | EU TARIC 8507.60 |
| 16 | EU duty / measures lookup — static converters | EU TARIC 8504.40 |
| 17 | EU regulatory framework for batteries | Regulation (EU) 2023/1542 (Battery Regulation) |
| 18 | UK trade tariff — lithium-ion accumulators | UK Trade Tariff 8507.60 |
| 19 | India customs duty lookup | ICEGATE (search by HS code 8507.60 / 8504.40 / 8537.10) |
| 20 | US/EU safeguard / trade-remedy context (LIB) | Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2023/829 (example for trade-remedy context; check current status) |
| 21 | Lithium-ion battery pack price benchmark | BloombergNEF battery price survey 2024 |
| 22 | Diesel genset specific fuel consumption reference | Diesel Duck technical reference |
| 23 | CAPEX breakdown, OPEX, benefits, NPV, IRR, payback, LCOS | Tradvolt scenario TCO model (operator-supplied inputs); financial figures are computed for this scenario |
| 24 | Demand charge, energy tariffs, fuel price, salt multiplier | operator-supplied |
Each line is a compliance target. Tradvolt has not verified certified test reports for the named CATL / Sungrow / Huawei build at this site; the operator must confirm the certificate number and issuer against the OEM manual before procurement.
Likely classification for a complete containerised LFP BESS with integrated PCS and EMS. Confirm binding rate with the customs authority of import.
Lookup instructions: Confirm the binding duty rate with the customs authority of the country of import. Treat each line as dutiable separately unless a binding ruling has been issued for the assembled goods as a whole. Check free-trade agreements, anti-dumping/countervailing measures (e.g., Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2023/829) and Section 301 / safeguard lists that may apply to lithium-ion cells from specific origins.
Disclaimer: The above classification is indicative only. Tradvolt does not assert any duty rate as fact. The actual duty, VAT/GST treatment and any trade-remedy measures depend on the declared country of origin, declared value and the binding ruling of the competent customs authority at the time of import.
The base case already fails to repay within 10 years. Sensitivities are presented as directional, not as redone cash-flow tables (the scenario model output is computed for the base case).
Request a formal quotation for a sea-rated 180 kWh containerised BESS sized to your silo electrical load and tariff structure: