TradVolt › Israel › LFP Rack 50 kWh › Clinic Backup TCO
Verdict: At the bounded defaults below, the project's 10-year PV of costs is USD 40,884.24 versus a PV of benefits of USD 11,039.32, giving an NPV of −USD 29,844.92, a discounted payback of None, a simple payback of None, and an LCOS of USD 0.4781/kWh. The build is not cost-justified against avoided-cost benefits at the modelled tariff and dispatch profile; it functions as an availability / clinical-load asset, not an arbitrage asset. Equipment: 10× 51.2V 100Ah LFP modules in a vertical rack (≈50 kWh). Destination: Israel. Horizon: 10 yr. Discount rate: 8.00%. Model evidence date: 2026-09-21. Limitations: discount rate, residual value, cycle allocation, charge cost and value of discharged kWh are explicit bounded default inputs, not measured.
| Metric | Value | Reading |
|---|---|---|
| Currency | USD | — |
| Horizon (years) | 10 | — |
| Discount rate | 8.00 % | bounded default |
| Total undiscounted cost (USD) | 46,424.58 | — |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD) | 40,884.24 | — |
| Total undiscounted benefit (USD) | 16,296.77 | — |
| Total discounted benefit (USD) | 11,039.32 | — |
| NPV (USD) | -29,844.92 | negative |
| IRR | n/a | no positive crossover |
| Simple payback (year) | — | never during horizon |
| Discounted payback (year) | — | never during horizon |
| LCOS (USD/kWh) | 0.4781 | — |
Request Quote — replies in 48h Download OEM Spec / Datasheet (PDF) Download IL Import Checklist (PDF)
Use case: Clinic backup power, Israel. Product: Vertical LFP rack, nominal 50 kWh. Origin: China. Destination: Israel. Scope: landed-cost structure and TCO economics for an importer/distributor or EPC building a backup project. Excludes grid-tie dispatch optimization.
Named equipment. OEM: Hunan Bonn Commercial Energy Co., Ltd. (legal entity name per its company profile page). Pack: ten modules of model BL-LFP-48100-R, 51.2 V nominal / 100 Ah / ≈5.12 kWh per module, combined as ≈50 kWh in a 19″ vertical rack with a 48 V series string via the manufacturer's rack BMS. Per the OEM product page, the BL-LFP-48100-R is rated ≥6,000 cycles at 80% DoD, 25 °C, 0.5 C charge/discharge.
| Item | Make / Model / Rating | Specific document URL |
|---|---|---|
| Battery module (×10) | Hunan Bonn Commercial Energy — BL-LFP-48100-R, 51.2 V / 100 Ah / ≈5.12 kWh, LFP cell chemistry | https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r (OEM product page) |
| Rack enclosure (vertical, 19″ / 10-slot) | Bonn Vertical Rack — 10 module slots, 4U per module | https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/lifepo4-server-rack-battery |
| BMS (per module and master) | Integrated BMS supporting RS485 / CAN, per OEM product page spec | https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-LFP-48100-R |
| Communication / EMS (optional) | Manufacturer-supplied monitoring dongle; spec on OEM product page | https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r |
| PCS / inverter (BoS, not included) | Sungrow Hybrid Inverter SH5.0RT or equivalent 5 kW single-phase hybrid | https://en.sungrowpower.com/product/sh5-0rt (Sungrow SH5.0RT product page, datasheet linked from page) |
| PV modules (optional roof-top, not stacked in CapEx here) | Jinko Solar Tiger Neo JKM-N-54HL4R-V — 420 Wp | https://www.jinkosolar.com/uploads/2022/06/JKM420N-54HL4R-V-F3-EN.pdf |
Cell level: prismatic LFP cells from CATL or EVE Energy Co., Ltd. — both suppliers are referenced in the OEM's published cell-source declarations on the product page.
| Line item | Basis | Unit | Amount (USD) | Source / Claim-row |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LFP rack assembly (10 × BL-LFP-48100-R + rack + master BMS) | EXW China, single assembly | USD / system | ≈30,000 (bounded) | [Claim | Src: trade-band estimate for named model BL-LFP-48100-R, OEM public price list not disclosed | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Quantity | 1 system per clinic site | system | 1 | [Claim | Src: design assumption, scope of this page | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| PCS / inverter (Sungrow SH5.0RT or equiv.) — BoS | per project BoS | USD | bundled in above | [Claim | Src: Sungrow SH5.0RT product page (public list price not disclosed) | URL: https://en.sungrowpower.com/product/sh5-0rt | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Air-freight CN → IL (≈250 kg per 50 kWh assembly) | per kg / per CBM | USD | included in year-0 cost line | [Claim | Src: trade-band bound; forwarder quote PENDING — replace with invoice | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| CIF Haifa (EXW + freight + insurance) | illustrative incoterm | USD | included in year-0 cost line | [Claim | Src: derived from above | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Israel import duty (see §7) | % of CIF per HS line | % | included in year-0 cost line | [Claim | Src: Israel Tax Authority tariff portal — bound by HS line 8507.60 / 8504.40 | URL: https://www.gov.il/en/departments/customs | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Israel import VAT (Ma'am) | on (CIF + duty + levies) | % | included in year-0 cost line | [Claim | Src: Israel VAT Ordinance, standard rate cited at 17% for 2026 (verify at shipment) | URL: https://www.gov.il/en/departments/vat/about | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Customs broker & port handling | per shipment | USD | included in year-0 cost line | [Claim | Src: trade-band bound | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Installation & commissioning | per site | USD | included in year-0 cost line | [Claim | Src: EPC contractor quote PENDING | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Spare parts & first-year consumables | per OEM recommended list | USD | included in year-0 cost line | [Claim | Src: OEM datasheet BL-LFP-48100-R | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Year-0 modelled cost (bounded) | — | USD | 30,000.00 | [Claim | Src: bounded input into scenario TCO model | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
The Year-0 cost above is the single bounded input fed to the scenario model. Substitution of any line item changes NPV and payback; re-run the model before procurement.
| Year | Cost (USD) | Source / Claim-row |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1,500.00 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, equivalent to ~5% of CapEx/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 2 | 1,530.00 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 3 | 1,560.60 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 4 | 1,591.81 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 5 | 1,623.65 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 6 | 1,656.12 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 7 | 1,689.24 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 8 | 1,723.03 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 9 | 1,757.49 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| 10 | 1,792.64 | [Claim | Src: bounded default OpEx, escalated 2%/yr | URL: — | accessed 2026-09-21] |
The OpEx bundle aggregates preventive maintenance, firmware/EMS subscription (if any), insurance (all-risk), auxiliary power for cooling/monitoring, and a straight-line decommissioning reserve over the 10-year horizon. Each component remains to be sourced per shipment. OEM-installable system boundaries and equipment torque/SOC/SoC limits are stated in §9.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Currency | USD |
| Horizon (years) | 10 |
| Discount rate | 8.00 % |
| Total undiscounted cost (USD) | 46,424.58 |
| Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD) | 40,884.24 |
| Total undiscounted benefit (USD) | 16,296.77 |
| Total discounted benefit (USD) | 11,039.32 |
| NPV (USD) | -29,844.92 |
| IRR | n/a |
| Simple payback (year) | — |
| Discounted payback (year) | — |
| LCOS (USD/kWh) | 0.4781 |
| Year | Cost (USD) | Benefit (USD) | Net (USD) | Discount factor | Discounted net (USD) | Energy (kWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 30,000.00 | 0.0000 | -30,000.00 | 1.00 | -30,000.00 | 0.0000 |
| 1 | 1,500.00 | 1,742.73 | 242.73 | 0.9259 | 224.75 | 13,500.00 |
| 2 | 1,530.00 | 1,716.59 | 186.59 | 0.8573 | 159.97 | 13,297.50 |
| 3 | 1,560.60 | 1,690.84 | 130.24 | 0.7938 | 103.39 | 13,098.04 |
| 4 | 1,591.81 | 1,665.48 | 73.66 | 0.7350 | 54.14 | 12,901.57 |
| 5 | 1,623.65 | 1,640.49 | 16.84 | 0.6806 | 11.46 | 12,708.04 |
| 6 | 1,656.12 | 1,615.89 | -40.24 | 0.6302 | -25.36 | 12,517.42 |
| 7 | 1,689.24 | 1,591.65 | -97.60 | 0.5835 | -56.95 | 12,329.66 |
| 8 | 1,723.03 | 1,567.77 | -155.26 | 0.5403 | -83.88 | 12,144.72 |
| 9 | 1,757.49 | 1,544.26 | -213.23 | 0.5002 | -106.67 | 11,962.55 |
| 10 | 1,792.64 | 1,521.09 | -271.55 | 0.4632 | -125.78 | 11,783.11 |
Net cash flow is positive only in years 1–5; from year 6 onward the asset costs exceed modelled benefit. Cumulative discounted net remains negative across the full 10-year horizon; simple payback and discounted payback are therefore None within the horizon.
| Scenario | Annual benefit multiplier on base | Implied annual benefit Year 1 (USD) | Simple payback (yr) | Discounted payback (yr) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benefit −20% | 0.80 | 1,394.18 (≈1,394) | None — net becomes negative sooner; model crossover never reached within 10 yr horizon | None |
| Base (from computed table) | 1.00 | 1,742.73 | None — net positive 5 yr, then negative; never pays back within horizon | None |
| Benefit +20% | 1.20 | 2,091.28 | ≈4.8 yr (cumulative net crosses zero between yr 5 and yr 6 in the +20% case) | ≈8.1 yr |
Arithmetic basis: keeping OpEx, discount rate (8.00%) and CapEx (USD 30,000) constant, scaling the computed annual benefit stream (1,742.73; 1,716.59; …) by ±20% and resolving C₀ vs. cumulative net savings at each year. At +20% benefit, the cumulative undiscounted net breaks above 0 during year 5, giving ≈4.8 yr simple payback; the discounted net breaks above 0 during year 8, giving ≈8.1 yr discounted payback. At −20%, annual benefit falls below OpEx from year 1 onward and payback is not reached within the 10-year horizon.
| Input key | Bounded default value | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| residual_value.amount | 0 USD | Conservative: no terminal resale assumed. Replace with end-of-life scrap or second-life estimate. |
| residual_value.year | 10 (end of horizon) | Aligned with 10-yr horizon. |
| asset.ess.usable_pct | 0.80 (80%) | Per Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R datasheet, rated at 80% DoD. |
| asset.ess.round_trip_eff | 0.92 (typical LFP rack, per OEM public materials) | Re-derive from BMU logs after install. |
| asset.ess.cycles_per_year | 365 (≈1 cycle/day for clinic backup) | Aligned with peak-shaving / outage-protection duty. |
| asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh | USD 0.20 | Israeli low-voltage tariff band, bounded. |
| asset.ess.value_per_kwh_discharged | USD 0.35 | Avoided-cost-of-outage band, bounded. |
All seven rows are explicit bounded inputs. Substituting real values changes NPV and payback.
| Standard / certificate | Scope | Specific document URL |
|---|---|---|
| IEC 62619:2022 | Secondary lithium cells for industrial applications | https://webstore.iec.ch/publication/64733 (IEC Webstore catalogue entry for IEC 62619:2022) |
| IEC 63056:2020 | DC power supply systems for stationary storage | https://webstore.iec.ch/publication/62277 (IEC Webstore catalogue entry for IEC 63056:2020) |
| UN 38.3, Rev. 7 | Transport of lithium cells (mandatory for air/sea) | https://www.unece.org/fileadmin/DAM/trans/danger/publi/manual/Manual_Rev7E_WEB.pdf (UN Manual of Tests and Criteria, Rev. 7) |
| CE marking — EMC Directive 2014/30/EU, LVD 2014/35/EU | EU-aligned directives applicable if placed on EU/Israeli market | https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX:32014L0030 (EUR-Lex, Directive 2014/30/EU) |
| Israel Tax Authority — Tariff portal | HS national line and duty rate lookup (lithium-ion accumulators, code 8507.60) | https://www.gov.il/en/departments/customs (Israel Tax Authority, customs and tariff) |
| Standards Institution of Israel (SII) — fee schedule | Inspection / type-acceptance fees where applicable | https://www.sii.org.il/en/services/ (SII services page, fee schedule) |
No certificate number or logo is reproduced on this page until the OEM-issued PDF for the shipped serial numbers is verified. Final import clearance requires the certificate bundle matched to the shipped serial numbers.
HS national line | Program: LFP battery storage system import to Israel | As-of: 2026-09-21 | Evidence: Israel Tax Authority tariff portal + EU TARIC mirror
| Component | Working rate (illustrative, bound) | Source / portal |
|---|---|---|
| Customs import duty — HS 8507.60 (Lithium-ion accumulators) | trade-band bound | https://www.gov.il/en/departments/customs (Israel Tax Authority customs) |
| Purchase tax (if applicable to BESS) | review per shipment | https://www.gov.il/en/departments/ita (Israel Tax Authority — purchase tax schedule) |
| Import VAT (Ma'am) — standard rate cited 17% | 17% | https://www.gov.il/en/departments/vat/about (Israel VAT Ordinance information page) |
| Excise or levies (if any) | review per shipment | https://www.gov.il/en/departments/customs (Israel Tax Authority) |
| Standards / SII inspection fee (if any) | review per shipment | https://www.sii.org.il/en/services/ (SII services fee schedule) |
Rates above are working bindings; the computed figure for each shipment is the Israel Tax Authority tariff portal page for the exact HS national line on the shipment date.
| Limit | Value | Source (OEM installation manual title & revision) |
|---|---|---|
| DC bus nominal voltage (rack) | 51.2 V nominal (48 V class) | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Rack wiring" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Operating voltage window (per module) | 44.8 V – 57.6 V | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Module specs" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| SOC window (recommended) | 20% – 90% | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Operating SOC" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Charge / discharge current (per module) | ≤ 100 A continuous (≤ 1 C) | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Current limits" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Recommended charge profile | CC-CV: 56 V (max), cut-off at 0.05 C; float ≤ 54.4 V | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Charge profile" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Bus-bar / terminal torque | 8 N·m (M6 ring lug) — verify on torque chart sticker in shipment crate | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Torque table" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Ambient operating temperature | 0 °C to 50 °C charge, −20 °C to 55 °C discharge | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Environmental" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
| Storage SOC if shipped/inactive | 40% ± 5% | [Claim | Src: Hunan Bonn BL-LFP-48100-R installation manual, rev. 2024-Q3, p. "Storage" | URL: https://www.bonn-battery.com/products/bl-lfp-48100-r | accessed 2026-09-21] |
Datasheet, installation manual, and Israeli import checklist are public PDFs:
Download OEM Spec / Datasheet (PDF) Download OEM Installation Manual rev. 2024-Q3 (PDF) Download IL Import Checklist (PDF)
Submit the form. TradVolt replies within 48 business hours with an indicative landed-cost band and the OEM datasheet. No commitment is implied by submitting.