Tradvolt

Import On-Grid Inverter 350 kW from China to Costa Rica — Logistics Rooftop TCO & Landed-Cost

Answer-first: on the scenario TCO model, the indicative NPV for a 350 kW on-grid photovoltaic inverter on a logistics rooftop in the Central Valley of Costa Rica, sourced from China, is USD -28,998.42 (negative), with simple payback ≈ 12.90 years, discounted payback = not reached within the 25-year horizon, LCOE = USD 0.1674/kWh, and IRR = 6.09% over a 25-year horizon at an 8.00% discount rate. Reference inverter class: 1500 V three-phase string on-grid, 350 kW AC (representative models: Sungrow SG350HX and Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1). Evidence-date 2026-09-22. Limitation: replace with an SICEX-confirmed duty stack and a confirmed OEM quotation before procurement; NPV is sensitive to the bounded default PV size and self-consumption share listed in the assumptions table.

Decision summary — 350 kW logistics rooftop, CN → CR (Central Valley)
Decision metricValueHorizonDiscount rateEvidence-date
NPVUSD -28,998.4225 yr8.00%2026-09-22
Simple payback12.90 yr25 yr8.00%2026-09-22
Discounted paybacknot reached25 yr8.00%2026-09-22
LCOEUSD 0.1674 / kWh25 yr8.00%2026-09-22
IRR6.09%25 yrn/a2026-09-22
Indicative CapEx (Year 0)USD 179,340——2026-09-22
Use case
Logistics rooftop · 350 kW AC
Origin → Destination
CN → CR (Puerto Caldera / Limón)
Inverter reference class
1500 V 3P string, 350 kW AC
Computed simple payback
12.90 yr (undiscounted)
Request Quote — replies in 48h

1. CapEx — Capital expenditure breakdown

CapEx combines the inverter unit cost, the solar BoS, and one-off engineering, installation, and customs landed costs. The reference class is a 1500 V three-phase string on-grid inverter, 350 kW AC; representative publicly marketed models in this class include the Sungrow SG350HX (see Sungrow string inverter range at https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter) and the Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1 (see Huawei FusionSolar landing at https://solar.huawei.com/en; product SKU confirmed at RFQ). Specific model SKU and OEM manual revision are confirmed at RFQ. The Year-0 CapEx figure used in the TCO is USD 179,340.00, taken directly from the computed cash-flow table.

Line itemUnitQtyIndicative unit cost (USD)Sub-total (USD)Source / claim row
350 kW three-phase on-grid inverter (1500 V DC) — reference class, e.g. Sungrow SG350HX or Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1pcs115,750 – 24,50015,750 – 24,500[Claim: 1500 V string inverter indicative FOB range ≈ USD 0.045–0.07 / W AC (model assumption) | Src: Sungrow string inverter range — https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter ; Huawei FusionSolar landing — https://solar.huawei.com/en | accessed 2026-09-22]
DC-side BoS (PV modules, racking, DC cabling, combiner, fuses)system1model assumptionmodel assumption[Claim: DC BoS indicative range (model assumption) | Src: LONGi Hi-MO X6 — https://www.longi.com/en/products/modules-series/hi-mo-x6/ ; JinkoSolar — https://www.jinkosolar.com/en/site/aboutus ; Trina Solar — https://www.trinasolar.com/us-en ; K2 Systems CrossRail — https://k2-systems.com/en-us/product-solutions/crossrail-system/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
AC-side BoS (MV transformer, switchgear, AC cabling, meter)system1model assumptionmodel assumption[Claim: AC BoS indicative range (model assumption) | Src: IEC 62548-1:2023 PV array design requirements — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/64171 | accessed 2026-09-22]
Engineering, installation & commissioning (EPC)system1model assumptionmodel assumption[Claim: EPC services indicative range for 350 kW rooftop (model assumption) | Src: IEC 62548-1:2023 — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/64171 | accessed 2026-09-22]
Ocean freight CN → Puerto Caldera (40′ HC, ~14 t payload)shipment1model assumptionmodel assumption[Claim: Indicative 40′ HC ocean freight CN→CR (model assumption) | Src: Maersk Spot — https://www.maersk.com/schedules/spot ; CMA CGM eBusiness booking — https://www.cma-cgm.com/ebusiness/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
Insurance (0.3–0.5% of CIF)shipment1model assumptionmodel assumption[Claim: Cargo insurance 0.3–0.5% CIF (model assumption) | Src: Lloyd's Market Association cargo clauses — https://www.lmalloyds.com/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
Costa Rica customs landed costs (DAI + IVA + agente de aduanas)lot1SICEX lookup at RFQSICEX lookup at RFQ[Claim: CR duty + tax stack, rates confirmed at RFQ | Src: SICEX — Sistema de Información de Comercio Exterior | URL: https://www.sicex.go.cr | accessed 2026-09-22]
Model assumption CapEx range≈ 145,000 – 215,000
Year-0 CapEx used in TCO model179,340.00Computed table — Year 0
Model assumption. The model assumption range (≈ USD 145,000–215,000) describes a screening band; the USD 179,340 Year-0 figure is the value actually used in the computed cash-flow table and is therefore computed for the headline NPV / payback / LCOE shown above.

2. OpEx — Annual operating expenditure

The Year-1 OpEx used in the computed table is USD 4,800 (escalating at 2% per year). Year-25 OpEx in the table is USD 7,720.50. Indicative categories below are model assumptions, not sourced line items.

Line itemFrequencyIndicative annual cost (USD)Source / claim row
Preventive maintenance (visual + thermal + string I-V)2×/yr1,200 – 2,000[Claim: 2×/yr PM scope (model assumption) | Src: IEC 62446-1:2016 PV systems commissioning — https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/24057 | accessed 2026-09-22]
Inverter overhaul / spare-parts reserveannual reserve~600 – 1,000[Claim: ≈0.3–0.5% inverter CapEx/yr (model assumption) | Src: Sungrow service terms — https://www.sungrowpower.com/en ; Huawei service terms — https://solar.huawei.com/en | accessed 2026-09-22]
Monitoring SaaS + data SIMannual~250 – 500[Claim: Cloud monitoring subscription (model assumption) | Src: Sungrow iSolarCloud — https://www.sungrowpower.com/en ; Huawei FusionSolar — https://solar.huawei.com/en | accessed 2026-09-22]
Asset insurance (all-risk)annual~600 – 1,200[Claim: ≈0.4–0.7% of CapEx/yr (model assumption) | Src: INS (Instituto Nacional de Seguros, Costa Rica) — https://www.ins-cr.com/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
Cleaning (logistics rooftop, 2–4×/yr)annual~800 – 1,500[Claim: Robotic / manual cleaning (model assumption) | Src: IEC TS 63092 PV cleaning guidance — IEC Webstore catalogue https://webstore.iec.ch/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
Model assumption OpEx range~3,450 – 6,200 / yr
Year-1 OpEx used in TCO model4,800.00Computed table — Year 1

3. Computed TCO and payback

The tables below are reproduced verbatim from the scenario model. All financial figures on this page come from these tables; no other figures are computed here.

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)25
Discount rate8.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)333,085.44
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)240,175.37
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)513,548.74
Total discounted benefit (USD)211,176.95
NPV (USD)-28,998.42
IRR0.0609
Simple payback (year)12.90
Discounted payback (year)—
LCOE (USD/kWh)0.1674
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
0179,340.000.0000-179,340.001.00-179,340.000.0000
14,800.0018,200.0013,400.000.925912,407.41140,000.00
24,896.0018,380.6313,484.630.857311,560.90139,300.00
34,993.9218,563.0613,569.140.793810,771.62138,603.50
45,093.8018,747.3013,653.500.735010,035.73137,910.48
55,195.6718,933.3713,737.690.68069,349.64137,220.93
65,299.5919,121.2813,821.690.63028,710.01136,534.83
75,405.5819,311.0613,905.480.58358,113.71135,852.15
85,513.6919,502.7213,989.030.54037,557.84135,172.89
95,623.9719,696.2914,072.320.50027,039.66134,497.03
105,736.4419,891.7714,155.330.46326,556.66133,824.54
115,851.1720,089.2014,238.030.42896,106.45133,155.42
125,968.2020,288.5814,320.390.39715,686.82132,489.64
136,087.5620,489.9514,402.390.36775,295.73131,827.19
146,209.3120,693.3114,484.000.34054,931.24131,168.06
156,333.5020,898.6914,565.190.31524,591.56130,512.22
166,460.1721,106.1114,645.940.29194,275.01129,859.66
176,589.3721,315.5914,726.220.27033,980.04129,210.36
186,721.1621,527.1514,805.990.25023,705.18128,564.31
196,855.5821,740.8014,885.220.23173,449.09127,921.48
206,992.6921,956.5814,963.890.21453,210.48127,281.88
217,132.5522,174.5015,041.950.19872,988.17126,645.47
227,275.2022,394.5815,119.380.18392,781.07126,012.24
237,420.7022,616.8515,196.150.17032,588.14125,382.18
247,569.1222,841.3215,272.200.15772,408.42124,755.27
257,720.5023,068.0215,347.520.14602,241.01124,131.49
Model assumption (explicit bounded defaults for inputs the draft did not state). The cash-flow table above is reproduced verbatim from the scenario model. The following inputs were not stated in the source brief and are presented as bounded default assumptions; replace with an SICEX-confirmed duty stack and an OEM-confirmed quotation before procurement.
InputValue used in computed tableBounded default rangeSource / claim row
PV installed capacity (kWp)Implied by year-1 energy 140,000 kWh ÷ specific yield ≈ 350 kWp (model assumption)300 – 420 kWp (model assumption; bounded to logistics rooftop reference class)[Claim: PV DC capacity matched to 350 kW AC reference inverter (model assumption) | Src: K2 Systems CrossRail pitched-roof rail family — https://k2-systems.com/en-us/product-solutions/crossrail-system/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
Specific yield (kWh / kWp / yr)Implied ≈ 400 (140,000 / 350) for year 1, with 0.5%/yr degradation (model assumption)350 – 480 kWh/kWp/yr (model assumption; bounded to Central Valley CR irradiance)[Claim: Specific yield for Central Valley CR logistics rooftop (model assumption) | Src: IEA PVPS — https://www.iea.org/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
Self-consumption share (energy used on-site, %)≈ 100% (model assumption: all benefit recognised; export tariff ≈ retail-equivalent)30% – 100% (model assumption; bounded by logistics-rooftop load factor)[Claim: Self-consumption share for logistics rooftop (model assumption) | Src: n/a — model assumption | accessed 2026-09-22]
Implied self-consumed tariff (USD/kWh)USD 0.13 / kWh (18,200 / 140,000) (model assumption)USD 0.12 – 0.18 / kWh (model assumption; CR industrial tariff)[Claim: Industrial self-consumption tariff (model assumption) | Src: ICE landing — https://www.grupoice.com/wps/portal/pgr/ice/en/ ; ARESEP landing — https://aresep.go.cr/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
Benefit escalationImplied ≈ 1.0% / yr (18,200 → 23,068 over 25 yr) (model assumption)1% – 2% / yr (model assumption)[Claim: Tariff escalation (model assumption) | Src: ARESEP landing — https://aresep.go.cr/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
OpEx escalation2.0% / yr (Year-1 4,800 → Year-25 7,720.50)1.5% – 3.0% / yr (model assumption)[Claim: OpEx escalation (model assumption) | Src: n/a — model assumption | accessed 2026-09-22]
Residual value at Year 25Not credited (0)0 – USD 20,000 (model assumption)[Claim: Residual value of inverter at Year 25 (model assumption) | Src: Tradvolt internal — dropped item, no figure added | accessed 2026-09-22]
Inverter mid-life replacement reserveNot includedUSD 8,000 – 15,000 at Year 12 (model assumption)[Claim: Mid-life inverter replacement reserve (model assumption) | Src: Sungrow landing — https://www.sungrowpower.com/en ; Huawei FusionSolar — https://solar.huawei.com/en | accessed 2026-09-22]
Limitation. The computed figures are the only financial numbers on this page. The scenario model produces a negative NPV at 8.00% discount over 25 years and a simple payback of 12.90 years; discounted payback is not reached within the 25-year horizon. The result is sensitive to the bounded defaults above (PV kWp, specific yield, self-consumption share, residual value, mid-life replacement reserve). Replace with an SICEX-confirmed duty stack and a confirmed OEM quotation before procurement.

4. Compliance & certifications

Reference class: 1500 V three-phase string on-grid inverter, 350 kW AC (representative models: Sungrow SG350HX — see https://www.sungrowpower.com/en/products/string-inverter; Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1 — see https://solar.huawei.com/en). Specific certification numbers and the OEM manual revision are confirmed at RFQ against the OEM test certificate.

Standard / schemeScopeHow it is verifiedSource / claim row
IEC 62109-1:2010 (ed. 1.0)Power converter safety — general requirementsConfirm on OEM test certificate (TÜV Rheinland / TÜV SÜD / DEKRA)[Claim: Inverter safety certification per IEC 62109-1:2010 | Src: IEC Webstore publication page | URL: https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/6470 | accessed 2026-09-22]
IEC 62109-2:2011 (ed. 1.0)Power converter safety — particular requirements for invertersConfirm on OEM test certificate (TÜV Rheinland / TÜV SÜD / DEKRA)[Claim: Inverter safety certification per IEC 62109-2:2011 | Src: IEC Webstore publication page | URL: https://webstore.iec.ch/en/publication/6471 | accessed 2026-09-22]
IEC 61727 / IEC 62116Grid interface & anti-islandingConfirm on OEM test certificate[Claim: Grid compliance per IEC 61727 and IEC 62116 | Src: IEC Webstore catalogue | URL: https://webstore.iec.ch/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
IEEE 1547-2018DER interconnection (where required)Confirm on OEM test certificate (NRTL)[Claim: DR interconnection compliance per IEEE 1547-2018 | Src: IEEE Standards site | URL: https://standards.ieee.org/ieee/1547/5915/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
UL 1741 (ed. 3, 2021 supplement SB)North-American grid support functionsConfirm on UL Solutions Product iQ listing[Claim: UL 1741 inverter listing | Src: UL landing — https://www.ul.com/ | accessed 2026-09-22]
CE marking (LVD 2014/35/EU + EMC 2014/30/EU)EU market access; not mandatory for CR but commonly requestedConfirm on OEM EU Declaration of Conformity[Claim: CE declaration of conformity per LVD 2014/35/EU and EMC 2014/30/EU | Src: EUR-Lex — https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/dir/2014/35/oj and https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/dir/2014/30/oj | accessed 2026-09-22]
ICE grid code approval (Costa Rica)Local utility approvalBuyer to confirm with ICE[Claim: ICE interconnection requirements | Src: ICE landing — https://www.grupoice.com/wps/portal/pgr/ice/en/ | accessed 2026-09-22]

Disclaimer: Tradvolt does not represent any specific inverter brand, model, or certificate number on this page. All certifications and approval numbers must be sourced from the OEM datasheet and the relevant accredited test certificate at the time of quotation.

5. Duty & HS stack — Costa Rica

HS heading for static converters / inverters: 8504.40. The exact national line, applicable Costa Rica import duty (DAI), selective consumption tax (ISC), IVA, and Law 6946 / 6683 / 7293 exoneration eligibility must be confirmed directly on the SICEX tariff portal at the time of quotation; this page does not hardcode any duty rate.

ComponentHow to verifySource portal
HS national line — 8504.40 (static converters)SICEX national line lookupSICEX — Sistema de Información de Comercio Exterior — https://www.sicex.go.cr
DAI — Derecho Arancelario de ImportaciónSICEX tariff page at RFQSICEX — https://www.sicex.go.cr
IVA — Impuesto sobre el Valor AgregadoMinisterio de Hacienda de Costa RicaMinisterio de Hacienda — https://www.hacienda.go.cr
ISC — Impuesto Selectivo de Consumo (if applicable)SICEX tariff page at RFQSICEX — https://www.sicex.go.cr
Law 6946 / 6683 / 7293 exoneration for renewable-energy equipmentSICEX exoneration regime & Ministerio de Hacienda rulingsSICEX — https://www.sicex.go.cr
Agente de aduanas feeCustoms broker quote at RFQCámara de Agentes de Aduanas de Costa Rica — https://www.aduanas.go.cr/

6. Request a Quote

Submit the form below. Tradvolt replies within 48 hours with a non-binding indicative offer including FOB/CIF line items and an SICEX duty-stack snapshot.

7. FAQ

Why does the model show a negative NPV at 8.00% over 25 years?

The scenario TCO on this page uses the bounded default inputs listed in the assumptions table (≈ 350 kWp PV, ≈ 400 kWh/kWp/yr specific yield, ≈ 100% self-consumption, USD 0.13/kWh implied tariff, no residual value, no mid-life replacement reserve). At 8.00% discount, the present value of 25 years of net benefit is below the discounted cost (PV of costs = USD 240,175.37; PV of benefits = USD 211,176.95). Increasing self-consumption share, specific yield, or the export tariff — and crediting residual value or a mid-life replacement reserve — would shift NPV upward.

What is the LCOE and how was it reproduced?

LCOE = USD 0.1674/kWh, reproduced from the computed table as total discounted cost (USD 240,175.37) divided by the present-value-weighted lifetime energy the scenario model attributes to the system.

Why is the discounted payback not reached?

The cumulative discounted net cash flow does not turn positive within the 25-year horizon on the bounded defaults above (last row, Year 25: discounted net = USD 2,241.01, cumulative discounted net still negative when summed against the Year-0 outflow of USD 179,340.00).

Are the HS code and CR duty rates fixed on this page?

No. HS heading 8504.40 is the common line for static converters / inverters; the exact national line, DAI, ISC, IVA, and Law 6946 / 6683 / 7293 exoneration eligibility must be confirmed on SICEX at the time of quotation.

Do you endorse Sungrow SG350HX or Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1?

No. They are named as representative models publicly marketed in the 1500 V three-phase string on-grid inverter, 350 kW AC class. SKU and OEM manual revision are confirmed at RFQ.

8. Sources cited on this page