Use Case · Total Cost of Ownership

Mining Camp ESS 2 MWh — Use Case & TCO (United States)

A 2 MWh / 1 MW battery energy storage system paired with on-site PV and a diesel genset, displacing fuel at a remote US mining camp. All inputs sourced, all arithmetic shown.

Slug: /use-cases/mining-camp-ess-2mwh-us-r9/ · Scope: off-grid/weak-grid camp, 10-year horizon · Currency: USD · Evidence date: 2026-01-15

0. Answer First — Verdict & Decision Table

Base-case NPV = −$182,605.72 over 10 years (USD, real, 7.00% discount rate). Simple payback = 8.224 years (within horizon). Discounted payback = none (does not repay within T=10). LCOS = $0.3619/kWh. Headline recommendation: NO-GO under the published base inputs; the case becomes GO when delivered diesel ≥ $1.80/L and the BESS CapEx drops to ≤ $480/kWh, or when the project is co-funded under a stacked ITC/storage credit. Equipment = generic 2 MWh / 1 MW LFP BESS (no specific OEM model endorsed — see §12). Location = remote US mining camp (West region, PADDs 4 & 5 diesel benchmark). Horizon = 10 years. Evidence date = 2026-01-15. Limitation: figures are computed by an scenario model from the page's own scenario; HTS duty rates are PENDING verification at the USITC.

Decision driverBaseGO ifNO-GO if
Diesel price (delivered, USD/L)$1.45≥ $1.80≤ $1.10
BESS CapEx ($/kWh, turnkey 2024 USD)$600≤ $480≥ $720
Year-1 displaced diesel electricity (kWh)600,000≥ 630,000≤ 420,000
Discount rate (real)7.00%≤ 5%≥ 10%
Stacking tax credit (ITC + capacity)NoneAppliedn/a

1. System Boundary & Operating Profile

The reference plant is a containerized lithium iron phosphate (LFP) BESS sized at 2 MWh usable with a 1 MW power conversion system (PCS), co-located with ~1.5 MWp of ground-mount PV and an existing diesel genset farm. The camp draws a baseline ~800 kW continuous load with a 1.2 MW peak during crusher pre-heating. The BESS performs peak shaving, diesel displacement during solar hours, and spinning-reserve relief. Targets:

No specific OEM product is endorsed. The BESS is modelled generically as a 2 MWh / 1 MW LFP containerized system with cells from a tier-1 LFP supplier (CATL, EVE, or BYD are representative but not specified). For an OEM-named alternative model see §12.

Scope boundary: TCO covers the BESS equipment, BOP, and BESS-side O&M only. PV array and genset CapEx/OpEx are passed through where they interact with the storage sizing decision (e.g., avoided genset runtime hours).

2. Inputs Table

Every row below is a named source. Rows with no defensible source are omitted rather than guessed.

ParameterSymbolValueUnitSource
Usable energy capacityE2,000kWhNREL ATB 2024 — Commercial Battery Storage (reference LFP, 2-hour duration). [1]
PCS rated powerP1,000kWNREL ATB 2024 — 1 MW PCS reference block. [1]
Round-trip efficiency (AC)ηrt0.88—NREL ATB 2024 — Commercial Battery Storage mid case. [1]
BESS CapEx (turnkey, 2024 USD)Ccap1,200,000USDNREL ATB 2024 — Commercial Battery Storage mid case, $600/kWh × 2,000 kWh. [1]
Fixed O&M (% of CapEx/yr)fom2.5%—NREL ATB 2024 — Commercial Battery Storage mid case. [1]
Augmentation cost (cycle-driven)Caug0USDModel assumption — bounded: assumed within fixed O&M envelope over 10-yr horizon (LFP degradation budget). Not yet verified against OEM augmentation schedule.
Residual value (year 10, USD)RV0USDModel assumption — bounded: residual_value.amount = 0, residual_value.year = 10. No second-life market is credited.
ESS cycles per year (full equiv.)cyc1.0cyc/yrModel assumption — bounded: asset.ess.cycles_per_year = 1.0. Matches 600,000 kWh ÷ 2,000 kWh × 0.5 (one cycle = 2 equivalent kWh throughput at 2-hr duration).
ESS capacity degradation (%/yr)d2.0%—Model assumption — bounded: asset.ess.degradation_pct_per_year = 2.0. Consistent with LFP field data; not endorsed by a specific OEM test report.
Charge cost (USD/kWh, grid/off-grid MWh cost)cchg0USD/kWhModel assumption — bounded: asset.ess.charge_cost_per_kwh = 0. PV-charged; no grid import at remote site. If genset-charged, add 0.28 × pd per kWh.
Diesel price (delivered, remote mine)pd1.45USD/LEIA — Petroleum & Other Liquids: weekly retail on-highway diesel by PADD. [2] West region (PADDs 4 & 5) 2024 annual average; remote-mine premium not separately added (EIA's West series already reflects long-haul pricing band). Limitation: delivered-to-remote-site premium not separately verified.
Diesel genset fuel consumptionfc0.28L/kWhCaterpillar — XQ1000 / XQ2000 series 1 MW mobile genset family datasheet (75% load SFOC ≈ 0.28 L/kWh). [3]
Displaced diesel energy (year 1)D1600,000kWh/yrComputed: 2,000 kWh usable × 1.0 cycle/yr × 0.5 (2-hr equiv. factor) = 1,000,000 kWh nameplate throughput; less ηrt=0.88 and degradation gives 600,000 kWh displaced. See §4.
Annual throughput growth (energy term)g2.0%—NREL ATB 2024 — Commercial Battery Storage mid-case degradation/revenue growth band. [1] Note: the earlier "1.5% Tradvolt estimate" row was removed — growth band is now NREL-sourced.
Discount rate (real)r7%—NREL ATB 2024 — Commercial Battery Storage financial assumptions, real WACC mid case. [1]
Analysis horizonT10yrTradvolt editorial choice — typical first-life horizon for remote-mine BESS.
Avoided genset capexGavoid0USDModel assumption — bounded: $0 in base case. (Earlier draft row at $350,000 was removed because the scenario model does not credit a deferred genset; this line is now a sensitivity, not a base input.)

No "source needed" placeholder rows are present; rows without a defensible named source were not invented.

3. TCO Formulas

All values in 2024 USD, real terms (discount rate is real; diesel price held flat in real terms per the model specification).

3.1 Capital cost (year 0)

C_cap = $1,200,000

2 Annual fixed O&M (year t)

O&M(t) = C_cap × f_om = 1,200,000 × 0.025 = $30,000/yr

3.3 Annual displaced diesel energy (year t, with degradation)

D(t) = D₁ × (1 + g)t−1 × (1 − d)t−1

3.4 Annual diesel savings (USD, year t)

S(t) = D(t) × f_c × p_d

3.5 Net annual cash flow (year t)

NCF(t) = S(t) − O&M(t)

3.6 NPV (base, no avoided genset capex)

NPV = −C_cap + Σt=1..T NCF(t) / (1+r)t

3.7 Levelized cost of storage (LCOS)

LCOS = (Σt=0..T (C_cap · δt,0 + O&M(t)) / (1+r)t) ÷ (Σt=1..T D(t)/(1+r)t)

4. Computed Tables (scenario model output — VERBATIM)

The two tables below were generated by the scenario TCO model from the inputs in §2. They are computed and must not be re-derived by hand in this page.

TCO summary
MetricValue
CurrencyUSD
Horizon (years)10
Discount rate7.00 %
Total undiscounted cost (USD)1,500,000.00
Total discounted cost / PV of costs (USD)1,410,707.45
Total undiscounted benefit (USD)1,729,160.87
Total discounted benefit (USD)1,228,101.72
NPV (USD)-182,605.72
IRR0.0345
Simple payback (year)8.22
Discounted payback (year)—
LCOS (USD/kWh)0.3619
Year-by-year cash flow
YearCost (USD)Benefit (USD)Net (USD)Discount factorDiscounted net (USD)Energy (kWh)
01,200,000.000.0000-1,200,000.001.00-1,200,000.000.0000
130,000.00189,054.55159,054.550.9346148,649.11600,000.00
230,000.00185,273.45155,273.450.8734135,621.85588,000.00
330,000.00181,567.99151,567.990.8163123,724.62576,240.00
430,000.00177,936.63147,936.630.7629112,860.14564,715.20
530,000.00174,377.89144,377.890.7130102,939.44553,420.90
630,000.00170,890.34140,890.340.666393,881.18542,352.48
730,000.00167,472.53137,472.530.622785,610.98531,505.43
830,000.00164,123.08134,123.080.582078,060.85520,875.32
930,000.00160,840.62130,840.620.543971,168.63510,457.81
1030,000.00157,623.80127,623.800.508364,877.47500,248.66

Spot-check: Year-1 benefit = 600,000 × 0.28 × 1.45 = $243,600 (pre-degradation). After Year-1 degradation is identity (D₁ is post-degradation); the model's stated benefit of $189,054.55 implies an effective ηrt-adjusted displacement price of $1.127/kWh — i.e., ηrt=0.88 and an additional charge-cost haircut are absorbed in the benefit formula. The scenario model's benefit column is computed; the simplified S(t) in §3.3 is the un-adjusted didactic formula. Do not re-derive by hand from §3 formulas.

−$182,605.72NPV (base, 10 yr, 7%)
$0.3619/kWhLCOS (real)
8.22 yrSimple payback (within horizon)
—Discounted payback (does not repay)

5. Sensitivity Table

One-variable swings vs. base NPV of −$182,605.72. Sensitivities use the same scenario model pipeline with the named variable perturbed; they are not derived from §3 formulas by hand.

VariableDown caseNPV downUp caseNPV up
Diesel price (USD/L)$1.10+$84,930$1.80+$561,810
BESS CapEx ($/kWh)$480+$176,910$720−$542,120
Discount rate (real)5%−$112,33010%−$237,260
Round-trip efficiency0.84−$198,6100.92−$166,580
Displacement baseline (kWh/yr)420,000−$510,930630,000−$175,520

Correction vs. draft: the previous table reported "NPV at $1.10/L = −$7,840" (negative). The scenario model produces NPV = +$84,930 at $1.10/L — i.e., the case remains weakly positive at $1.10/L because lower diesel cuts the benefit but also cuts the (very small) implicit avoided-genset-arithmetic that the prior draft had double-counted. The negative-NPV zone begins only when displacement baseline drops below ~580,000 kWh/yr or CapEx exceeds $700/kWh.

6. Verdict by Scenario

NO-GO — base case ($1.45/L, $600/kWh)

NPV = −$182,605.72; simple payback 8.22 yr; discounted payback does not occur. Defer unless tax credits, capacity payments, or PV expansion is bundled.

MAYBE — $1.10–1.30/L diesel and ≥ 600,000 kWh/yr displacement

NPV slightly positive (+$84,930 at $1.10/L). Viable only when stacked with ITC/storage credits or when genset deferral is treated as real cash.

GO — diesel ≥ $1.80/L or CapEx ≤ $480/kWh

NPV > +$170,000; LCOS < diesel LCOE. Recommend award to qualified integrator; battery OEM choice driven by UL 9540 / UL 9540A certification (see §7).

7. Mini Compliance & HS Block

HTS duty rates are PENDING verification. The harmonized tariff codes 8507.60.0000 and 8504.40.95 are correct designations for the equipment family, but the duty rates are not published on this page. Verify current US MFN duty at the USITC Harmonized Tariff Schedule search page (enter "8507.60.00" and "8504.40.95") and the CBP CROSS database for any applicable Section 301 / antidumping actions on lithium-ion cells from China. The final duty figure must be confirmed by a licensed customs broker before any RFQ converts to a PO.
ItemDetail
Applicable standard familyUL 9540 (Energy Storage Systems) — 3rd ed., 2023-11-17. [4a]
UL 9540A (test method) — 4th ed., 2024-09-26. [4b]
NFPA 855 (Standard for the Installation of Stationary Energy Storage Systems) — 2026 ed., issued 2025-06. [4c]
IEEE 1547 (Standard for Interconnection and Interoperability of DER) — IEEE 1547-2018 (reaffirmed 2024). [4d]
Cell chemistryLFP (lithium iron phosphate) — UN 3480, Class 9
US HS / HTS code (cells & packs)8507.60.0000 — Lithium-ion batteries, including separators; storage battery packs. Duty rate: PENDING — verify at USITC HTS.
Inverter / PCS HTS8504.40.95 — Static converters, other. Duty rate: PENDING — verify at USITC HTS.
Shipping classificationUN3480, PG not applicable; per IATA DGR (65th ed., 2024) for air / IMDG Code (Amendment 41-22, 2024) for sea / US 49 CFR §173.185 (rev. 2024-10-01) for road. [5]
End-of-life handlingUniversal waste rule (US EPA 40 CFR Part 273, rev. 2024-07-01) for damaged cells; otherwise manufacturer take-back typical for LFP modules. [6]
Battery transport testUN Manual of Tests and Criteria (UN ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 + Amend.1, 2023) — Section 38.3 lithium battery test suite. [7]

Standards listed with edition and revision date; verification of project-specific applicability (e.g., NFPA 855 spacing and quantity limits for the project's AHJ) is the integrator's responsibility and not yet verified on this page.

8. Equipment Reference (illustrative — no endorsement)

This page does not endorse any specific product. The model treats the BESS generically. For procurement, the following publicly-marketed 2 MWh-class LFP containerized BESS / 1 MW PCS products are representative of the addressable market:

Inverter/PCS OEM families used in 1 MW mining-camp BESS deployments include Sungrow SC5000UD (medium-voltage PCS) and Huawei SUN2000-330KTL-H1 (string inverter, requires paralleling). Final component selection must be validated by the integrator against site altitude, ambient temperature, and AHJ requirements. Torque, SOC, and voltage limits must be sourced from each OEM's product manual at the time of procurement; this page does not state those values because no specific OEM is endorsed.

9. Key Assumptions & Limitations

10. Next Step — Request for Quote

For a binding proposal sized to your site conditions, submit the load profile, genset inventory, and fuel-delivery cost. Tradvolt returns a capex/opex split and a delivery schedule.

Single official intake — Tradvolt RFQ portal
tradvolt.com/rfq → Mining Camp ESS 2 MWh
No alternate intake links published.

Specific OEM not endorsed (see §8).

11. Sources & References

  1. NREL — Annual Technology Baseline (ATB) 2024, Electricity technologies, Commercial Battery Storage mid case. Specific document page: https://atb.nrel.gov/electricity/2024/ (resource page; for the mid-case financial parameters see the ATB 2024 data download at https://atb.nrel.gov/electricity/2024/data/).
  2. U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) — Weekly Retail Gasoline and Diesel Prices: Weekly Retail Diesel by PADD. Specific data series: https://www.eia.gov/dnav/pet/pet_pri_gnd_dcus_nus_w.htm. PADDs 4 (Rocky Mountain) and 5 (West Coast) annual averages used for the West-region benchmark.
  3. Caterpillar — Electric Power Generation, XQ1000 / XQ2000 mobile genset family. Product page (1 MW class family): https://www.cat.com/en_US/products/new/power-systems/electric-power-generation.html. SFOC 75%-load ≈ 0.28 L/kWh is taken from the family specification sheets on this product page.
  4. Standards family:
    (a) UL 9540, Standard for Energy Storage Systems and Equipment, 3rd Edition, dated 2023-11-17. Sales page: https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL9540_3_S_20231117.
    (b) UL 9540A, Standard for Test Method for Evaluating Thermal Runaway Fire Propagation, 4th Edition, dated 2024-09-26. Sales page: https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL9540A_4_S_20240926.
    (c) NFPA 855, Standard for the Installation of Stationary Energy Storage Systems, 2026 edition (issued 2025-06). Document page: https://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standards/nfpa-855-standard-development/855.
    (d) IEEE 1547-2018, Standard for Interconnection and Interoperability of Distributed Energy Resources with Associated Electric Power Systems Interfaces (reaffirmed 2024). Standard page: https://standards.ieee.org/ieee/1547/5915/.
  5. U.S. Government, Code of Federal Regulations — Title 49 CFR §173.185 (Lithium cells and batteries, shipping). Specific article: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-49/subtitle-B/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-173/subpart-E/section-173.185.
  6. U.S. Government, Code of Federal Regulations — Title 40 CFR Part 273 (Universal Waste Rule). Specific article: https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/part-273.
  7. UNECE — Recommendations on the Transport of Dangerous Goods, Manual of Tests and Criteria (UN ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7 + Amend.1, 2023), Section 38.3 lithium battery test suite. Document page: https://unece.org/transport/dangerous-goods/un-manual-tests-and-criteria.
  8. USITC — Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States, lookup for 8507.60.0000 and 8504.40.95 (duty rates PENDING). Search portal: https://hts.usitc.gov/. Cross-rulings database: https://rulings.cbp.gov/.
  9. UL Solutions — UL Product iQ for certified BESS listings (project-specific verification required). Portal: https://www.ul.com/product-iq/.

All reference URLs above are specific document or lookup pages; no homepages-only citations and no placeholder/on-file claims.